The Corsair User Forums

The Corsair User Forums (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/index.php)
-   Cooling (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=155)
-   -   H100 no LED light and fans not working (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=157923)

Kingp0dd 04-11-2016 10:12 AM

H100 no LED light and fans not working
 
I've had my H100 for 4 years now and had no problems with it.

I replaced my thermal paste so I:
- cleaned old thermal paste off the H100 backplate using paper towel and 70% alcohol
- did the same to processor
- put back the H100
- plugged the 3pin fan connector to H100 power slot in the wrong position

Reference image of H100 controller, not actual: http://i.imgur.com/mwhKtjL.jpg

Correct positioning of 3pin fan connector:
o x x x
What I did was:
x x x o

x: used pin
o: unused pin

I noticed that my temps were higher than before I replaced the thermal paste so I went to check what's wrong.

It is only by this time that I noticed the LED lights on the H100 controller are off the fans not working. After that, I tried the following:

1. Correctly replugged the 3pin connectors to the right slots
2. Removed all fans from H100 controller

Both attempts didn't make the controller light up again.
Do you think that this killed the H100?

Genghis_Tron187 04-11-2016 10:36 AM

If you accidentally supplied power to the Y connector port on the H100, then it is likely fried.

Kingp0dd 04-11-2016 10:44 AM

This is where I plugged the 3pin connector incorrectly:
http://i.imgur.com/mwhKtjL.jpg

This outputs power, right? Not the other way around?

red-ray 04-11-2016 10:55 AM

All four of those are for fans. There should be a Molex connector that the H100 gets power from.


Kingp0dd 04-11-2016 10:59 AM

Yes, you're correct.
I plugged my 3pin fan connector to the H100 incorrectly.

Correct way:
o x x x

What I did was:
x x x o

After this the LED lights on the H100 controller which indicates fan speed profile stopped working even after correcting the 3pin position. Very stupid mistake

red-ray 04-11-2016 11:20 AM

So basically you connected the tachometer input to +12. I would half think you might be lucky and not have caused any issue, but maybe not.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:35 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.