The Corsair User Forums

The Corsair User Forums (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/index.php)
-   Memory (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=198)
-   -   MSI K8T Neo-FIS2R and Twinx1024-3200LLpt (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=21946)

jeff9760 02-02-2004 02:21 AM

MSI K8T Neo-FIS2R and Twinx1024-3200LLpt
 
im having troubles with my computer spurraticaly locking up (the usbs turn off and screen goes blank) ive been told that its poaaibly a memory problem. i read another thread and it said to use mem slots 1 and 3 and something else i didnt understand that would fix the problem. ramguy please help

RAM GUY 02-02-2004 10:33 AM

Can you tell me the Speed of the CPU you have installed and the bios settings you have set for both CPU and memory?

jeff9760 02-03-2004 05:02 AM

i have an amd athlon 64 3200+ V1.1.0.0 which bios settings for the cpu are you interested in. currently have all my ram seings on auto with 8 bursts

si_lumb 02-04-2004 06:16 AM

Stability Tests Fail For Me Too!
 
OK, I am having issues with this RAM too... here's what system I have, and what I have done to try and get the RAM to work:

I am running the AMD K8 3000+ on an MSI K8T Neo with BIOS 1.1. I have the TwinX 1024 3200LLPT kit. I have tried on Auto in banks 1 & 2, and then manually setting 2-3-2-6 and voltage 2.7. i have set also to 2-4-2-6 at this voltage. I have tried all possible combinations of auto and manual SPD. I have tried the RAM singlularly in slot 1, slot 3, I have tried both in 1 and 3. I have followed all the advice on the MSI forums. Memtest86+ passes, so the RAM is Ok, but it just seems unstable - 3D games crash etc, and Prime95 crahses as soon as you run the Blend test, even after trying all these cobinations...

what do we do? :confused:

pNell 02-04-2004 11:41 AM

As a test: does it run any more stable when you decrease the Memclock Value?

si_lumb 02-04-2004 12:05 PM

Nothing worked! I spent about 5 hours trying every combination. I RMA'd it today. These Corsair chips wouldn't play with the Athlon. I seriously tried every timing and voltage combination, plus lowering the speeds to 266, 333 etc and all stick configs (slot positions etc), it just wouldn't play ball. Don't get me wrong, the machine booted, i mean i even have a perfect vanilla install of XP running great. But random reboots and a Prime95 crash out after less than 1 second on a Blend test isn't really what I paid 200 for. :[pouts:

RAM GUY 02-04-2004 12:16 PM

Well I do wish you the best of luck but, I think no matter what memory you use you may have problems, also you will need new bios for that CPU with this MB. You can search our site here, as I have posted it several times or contact MSI. And you should use slots 1-3 for the memory!

ChaosAD 02-04-2004 04:37 PM

I just got a new motherboard/cpu/memory combo together hoping to avoid the whole memory and other problems ppl have seem to run into. And amazingly enuff here I am with apparent memory problems. Here is my system:

MSI K8T Neo w/ 1.20 BIOS
AMD 64 3200+ CPU
2 512 pairs Corsair TwinX1024-3200LLPT DDR
MSI Nvidia TI400 video
Thermaltake 420 Power Supply
Maxtor 80GB 8MB HD
Windows 2000 Prof.

Right now the memory is in slots 1 and 2 and I get constant freezes. I upped the memory voltage some and it seems to make it a little more stable but still constant freezes. What are the settings as in voltage and other stuff for the memory I need to set in order to get this to run stable and possiably even up the FSB some. Please elaborate if you can as I see things such as 2-3-2-6 but I'm not sure what exactly to change in my bios to correspond to those numbers. I would like to consider myself a pretty knowledgable computer guy and I feel sad that this seems to be defeating me....Please help...Thx!

RAM GUY 02-04-2004 06:23 PM

Please look up the settings for the module you have by following the link in my signature! And you should use slots 1-3 for the memory! If you still have errors please test the modules one at a time with www.memtest.org

ChaosAD 02-04-2004 07:02 PM

Thanks for the info. Sadly, I ran the memtest while I waited on reply and got 17 errors after 11 passes. So I will send it back and get 2 replacement 512 sticks sent back. I'm using my old PC2100 RAM for now so I can still have a system for work. I'm jsut worried using that Corsair twinX cause all I have heard is horror stories with it (with 2 sticks of 512) and the MSI K8T Neo board I have.

So when I get the new memory back I'll put in slots 1 and 3. I'm still a little unsure about what exactly to change for the 2-3-2-6 timing I keep getting told is optimal for this memory, but I shall cross that bridge when the memory gets back. Thx again!

RAM GUY 02-05-2004 12:24 PM

Again, you will need to use the latest bios which is attached 1.24B and you can use this as a reference:
DRAM Clock: 200 MHz
SDRAM CAS Latency: 2T
SDRAM RAS to CAS Delay (tRCD): 3T
SDRAM Row Precharge (tRP): 2T
SDRAM Active to Precharge Delay (tRAS): 6T
And please set the Dim Voltage to 2.7 Volts and stagger the modules in slots 1-3 and you should be fine!

si_lumb 02-05-2004 01:21 PM

The MSI website has a 1.2 BIOS listed (no mention of the 1.24B) and the date is newer... should we still use the 1.24B you supply?

ChaosAD 02-05-2004 02:08 PM

Thanks very much. Is that bios a beta and what all does it fix/add? Thanks again and I will try that out when the repalcement RAM gets here :)

RAM GUY 02-05-2004 04:05 PM

I am not sure you would need to ask MSI, but I think it address memory compatibality with some new CPU's

si_lumb 02-06-2004 07:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RAM GUY
I am not sure you would need to ask MSI, but I think it address memory compatibality with some new CPU's

MSI say that 1.2B4 is a beta. The "official" 1.20 release is here: http://www.msi.com.tw/program/suppor...il.php?UID=496

I RMA'd my Corsairs, after trying the flash and having no luck, but apparently this BIOS update would have fixed the problems I was having. :roll:

Problems stem from the AMD64 chips having the memory controller on board. Because the 3000+ is different in architecture to the 3200+ there have been instances of incompatibility even with idential memory.

Being at the cutting edge, err.. well... *cuts*.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:38 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.