The Corsair User Forums

The Corsair User Forums (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/index.php)
-   Memory (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=198)
-   -   3200 c16 vs 3600 c18 with 3900x on x570 (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=188678)

NosGH 07-08-2019 01:47 PM

3200 c16 vs 3600 c18 with 3900x on x570
 
What difference it makes in performance?

tjgodin 07-08-2019 03:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by NosGH (Post 1010598)
What difference it makes in performance?

We're early days here with the 3900x just released, but I think it will be negligible. If you already own 3200Mhz ram I'd likely stick with it and put the savings towards other components, however, if you are purchasing all new components 3600Mhz is supposed to be the sweet spot for the newly released 3000 series of CPUs according to AMD. And for around $50 more than 3200Mhz, it may be worth it considering if you're all in on purchasing the 3900x.

Tony

DFM 07-11-2019 06:08 PM

I(along with others) may be running into teething problems on the new x570 and Ryzen platform, but Memory ain't one of them.

My Vengeance LPX CMK32GX4M2b3200C16 kit was the least of my OC problems.

It's currently running at the BIOS stock speed of 2133 after Flashing bios while chasing voltage issue but it held 3600@CL16 if you ignored the DOCP profile and did it manually.

Seriously, Ignore the DOCP 3200 setting, came back with CL,tRCD,tRP in the 20's.

Exitstrategy 07-26-2019 04:39 AM

9 Attachment(s)
i did some benchmarking with The Division 2, Assassins Creed Odyssey and 3DMark between 3200C16 and 3600C18 Corsair Kits.

Difference is virtually non-existent.

i used CMW32GX4M4C3600C18 ver 4.31 and CMW32GX4M2C3200C16 ver 3.31 for my benches.
XMP profile was loaded. When i used the CMW32GX4M4C3600C18 kit in 3200Mhz i left the timings from 3600mhz.
i am sure those can be tweaked a lot better, but it gives you a overview about what you can expect.
Price gap between the kits is 100 USD around. I am not sure which of the 2 kits to keep, as performance is almost same...

4 modules look better in my PC but 2 modules are supposedly working better / more stable with X570 chipset due to daisy chain topology...

A Computer Guy 07-27-2019 01:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by NosGH (Post 1010598)
What difference it makes in performance?

I had an interesting surprise with my 3200CL16 kit and was able to OC it to 3600CL18 after upgrading to 3800x and BIOS with AGESA 1.0.0.3AB.

Real world improvement probably not much but UserBenchmark seems to think I got at least 8% improvement so far after I started trimming the timings.

Getting DDR4-3600 likely not worth the price over DDR4-3200 but prices are changing quite quickly it seems. If you're buying new maybe it makes sense to go for 3600 but if your upgrading your ram maybe not. I'd try OC-ing it first to see what your kit can do before forking out the cash for such a small bump in speed.

http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthre...=187175&page=2

falez 08-07-2019 04:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DFM (Post 1010868)
I(along with others) may be running into teething problems on the new x570 and Ryzen platform, but Memory ain't one of them.

My Vengeance LPX CMK32GX4M2b3200C16 kit was the least of my OC problems.

It's currently running at the BIOS stock speed of 2133 after Flashing bios while chasing voltage issue but it held 3600@CL16 if you ignored the DOCP profile and did it manually.

Seriously, Ignore the DOCP 3200 setting, came back with CL,tRCD,tRP in the 20's.

So the CMK32GX4M2B3200C16 was running at advertised speeds on an X570-E before you started messing with it?

I'm considering buying this RAM, but there is no official support anywhere from any party, so I'm concerned it may not run at advertised speeds. Notably, I've never overclocked, and don't plan on it anytime in the near future.

NosGH 08-07-2019 10:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by falez (Post 1014021)
So the CMK32GX4M2B3200C16 was running at advertised speeds on an X570-E before you started messing with it?

I'm considering buying this RAM, but there is no official support anywhere from any party, so I'm concerned it may not run at advertised speeds. Notably, I've never overclocked, and don't plan on it anytime in the near future.

I have CMW16GX4M2C3200C16 the Vengeance RGB PRO 3200MHz C16 with the ROG strix x570-E gaming. In stock it ran at 2133 with C22 not the advertised 3200. I had to enable the XMP in the bios with one click and now it runs as advertised:)
I heard, don't quote me on this one, that the advertised speed/timing is the one that the manufacturer deemed stable after testing. It doesn't mean it can not go any higher but that is the speed that they guarantee to be stable.

zizi8862 08-08-2019 12:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by NosGH (Post 1014043)
I have CMW16GX4M2C3200C16 the Vengeance RGB PRO 3200MHz C16 with the ROG strix x570-E gaming. In stock it ran at 2133 with C22 not the advertised 3200. I had to enable the XMP in the bios with one click and now it runs as advertised:)
I heard, don't quote me on this one, that the advertised speed/timing is the one that the manufacturer deemed stable after testing. It doesn't mean it can not go any higher but that is the speed that they guarantee to be stable.

I'm using the same RAM on a rog strix x470i board, my motherboard wouldn't post with XMP or DOCP loaded, I had to change voltage to 1.4. Did you have the same problem ?

NosGH 08-08-2019 09:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by zizi8862 (Post 1014047)
I'm using the same RAM on a rog strix x470i board, my motherboard wouldn't post with XMP or DOCP loaded, I had to change voltage to 1.4. Did you have the same problem ?

I moved from Intel to AMD this gen so I have no experience with the prev gen AMD motherboards. Sorry. On the x570 I didn't have any problem with XMP


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:14 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.