The Corsair User Forums

The Corsair User Forums (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/index.php)
-   Overclocking and Benchmarking (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=131)
-   -   Overclock problem c4 6400 xms2 (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=69851)

brenbren 05-26-2008 11:17 AM

Overclock problem c4 6400 xms2
 
so i've got it running at stock speeds; 400mhz freq, 4-4-4-12 and 2T at +0.3v (which is 2.1v according to everest) on a GA P35C DS3R. also at a 1:1 ratio with my q6600 at 3.2ghz.

i'm having some problems with windows start up, it's saying memory dump and black screens of death.

my reasoning for the RAM problem is the tRFC setting. all the other settings (not counting timings) are at auto. apart from the tRFC setting, which is at the mobo's recommended setting of 42.

i just want to find out the recommended setting for tRFC, when it's at stock speeds. thanks.

DerekT 05-26-2008 02:33 PM

Can you please document the exact model and revision of the DRAM.

ie.
TWIN2X2048-6400C4 v2.2
TWIN2X4096-6400C4 v1.1
I would set the tRFC to Auto as well. There should be no motherboard recommended setting for any of these values. There should be Auto which reads from the SPD or manual which you personally insert.

Wired 05-26-2008 06:46 PM

How To Read the Memory Label

brenbren 05-27-2008 06:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DerekT (Post 350186)
Can you please document the exact model and revision of the DRAM.

ie.
TWIN2X2048-6400C4 v2.2
TWIN2X4096-6400C4 v1.1
I would set the tRFC to Auto as well. There should be no motherboard recommended setting for any of these values. There should be Auto which reads from the SPD or manual which you personally insert.

it's the 1024 6400c4 v2.1

i'm going to try the BIOS optimized defaults. see what setting the mobo places on it.

i can't actually set one of the settings to auto :/

brenbren 05-27-2008 06:39 AM

set the mobo to optimized defaults. and saw that it had changed the setting to 0.

i wrote it down this time, it was called the refresh to ACT delay. if that means anything.

DerekT 05-27-2008 10:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by brenbren (Post 350287)
set the mobo to optimized defaults. and saw that it had changed the setting to 0.

i wrote it down this time, it was called the refresh to ACT delay. if that means anything.

0 is correct. I would perform a fresh install of the OS to clear up any file corruption.
Download memtest from---> Here
and extract the ISO image. Burn the ISO image to an CD-ROM disk.

Enter your BIOS. On the main BIOS screen press Ctrl + F1. You will see the screen flicker. Next select the MB Intelligent Tweaker option. On that screen you will see many additional settings that were not there before.

Quote:

MIB Intelligent Tweaker (M.I.T.)
CPU Clock Ratio = 9
CPU Host Clock Control = Enabled
CPU Host Frequency (Mhz) = 357Mhz
PCI Express Frequency = 100Mhz
C.I.A.2 = Disabled
System Memory Multiplier = 2.3
DRAM Timing Selectable = Manual
CAS Latency Time = 4
DRAM RAS# to CAS# Delay = 4
RAS# Precharge = 4
Precharge Delay (tRAS) = 12
ACT to ACT delay = Auto
Bank Write To READ Delay = Auto
Refresh to ACT Delay = 0
Read to Precharge Delay = Auto
Memory Performance Enhance = Normal
Dimm OverVoltage Control = +.3V
PCI-e OverVoltage Control = Normal
(G)MCH OverVoltage Control = +.02
CPU Voltage Control = Auto
Robust Graphics Booster = Auto

Run Memtest for two full passes, then (If Stable), enter Windows and post screenshots of CPU-z's CPU, Memory and SPD tabs.

brenbren 05-27-2008 01:15 PM

thanks, those are the settings i put on a few hours back. surprised it was 0..

i'll get memtest when i can fine some CD's..

well, thanks. :biggrin:

DerekT 05-27-2008 06:22 PM

Sure thing


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:23 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.