The Corsair User Forums

The Corsair User Forums (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/index.php)
-   Memory (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=198)
-   -   dfi nforce3 250gb and twinx cmx512-3200pt (https://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=45687)

Torval 11-28-2005 02:46 PM

dfi nforce3 250gb and twinx cmx512-3200pt
 
i have a dfi nf3 250gb. i have a matched set of 2 cmx512-3200pt set of ram (i bought it as a twinx set, it says twinx on it, i assume the twinx is just a matched set of the regular cmx). is this compatable? which 2 slots should i be using? i see the CMX1024-3200PT and the TWINX2048-3200PT listed but not the twinx1024-3200pt which i assume is what i have. it reads correctly in bios and windows as 1024mb installed .the reason i ask is it runs fine until i do something demanding. then it crashes. especially video. the second stick of ram gets very hot. the first stick stays relatively cool.

i have tried every configuration of ram and even a different matched set of ram. same problem. all 4 sticks memtest fine. if i run just 1 stick of ram i'm fine. i tried 2 different video cards, same issue with both cards. both sets of ram run great in my other pc. i think it may be the mb. my apologies if this is the wrong place to ask this kind of thing but i'm at the end of my rope.

Wired 11-28-2005 08:17 PM

Is the hotter stick closer to your CPU than the other stick?

RAM GUY 11-29-2005 03:31 PM

So how many modules do you have installed and what are the part#'s?

Torval 12-01-2005 05:41 PM

re
 
the hotter stick of ram is the farthest away from the cpu. slot 2 or slot 3, depending which configuration i use. it is very much hotter (like 2-3x as hot) than the stick near cpu , slot 1, which is quite cool.

the ram is a twinx matched set. 2 part no cmx512-3200pt. they say twinx, xms3200 512mb 400mhz 3338, on the heat spreader. i read about the asus a8n having problems running 2 512 at 400 mhz. my dfi runs it, but the lag / crashing is the problem. would very much like to know if this config should work or not.

to clarify, i have 2 modules. as stated above, but at the moment i am only running 1, because if i run 2 it messes up if i do anything demanding. the ram runs fine in my other pc. memtests fine, runs fine if i run only 1 stick, any stick, doesn't matter. run 2 sticks in any slots bang it runs slow and / or crashes. i think i'm just going to rma the mb. it can't be the ram is bad, unless this ram isn't compatable with my mb. which i do not know for certain it is. i am however supposing it should be, as the larger twinx set of the exact same model is listed as compatable (see original post). i really just want confirmation if this should work or not.

RAM GUY 12-01-2005 08:13 PM

Let's get them both replaced. Please follow the link in my signature I think I have a bad part! and we will be happy to replace them or it!


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:45 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.