The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD)

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-11-2011, 07:28 PM
feddie207 feddie207 is offline
Registered User
feddie207's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 526849
feddie207 Reputation: 10
Default Force 3 Sata II problem Macbook Pro

Hi

Just bought and installed a Force 3 120gb in my late 2008 unibody Macbook Pro. I have the latest firmware (1.3) and am running Lion 10.7.1. The problem is that the drive is runnning at Sata I speed when the system is capable of Sata II.

System profiler states:

NVidia MCP79 AHCI:

Vendor: NVidia
Product: MCP79 AHCI
Link Speed: 3 Gigabit
Negotiated Link Speed: 1.5 Gigabit
Description: AHCI Version 1.20 Supported

This limits performance to 130mb read/100mb write.

Is there any way to get it working at 3gb/s?

Thanks
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #2  
Old 09-14-2011, 09:23 AM
feddie207 feddie207 is offline
Registered User
feddie207's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 527533
feddie207 Reputation: 10
Default

Hi this seems to be the exact same problem on a sand force competitor's drive...

Last edited by Wired; 09-14-2011 at 03:20 PM. Reason: removed dead link
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #3  
Old 09-22-2011, 12:27 PM
aer0x aer0x is offline
Registered user
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 529484
aer0x Reputation: 10
Default

Hi

same here with the MCP79 AHCI on a Macbook Unibody Late 2008 (MacBook5.1)
competitors have solved the same issue with an Firmware Update for it :-/
Will there be an firmware update available in the near future?
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #4  
Old 09-23-2011, 02:16 PM
aer0x aer0x is offline
Registered user
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 529770
aer0x Reputation: 10
Default

Update: After a whole night without power i have cold started my macbook an now it shows me 3gbit... but how long? ....
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #5  
Old 10-31-2011, 10:33 AM
twistedpeer twistedpeer is offline
Registered User
twistedpeer's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 538351
twistedpeer Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aer0x View Post
Update: After a whole night without power i have cold started my macbook an now it shows me 3gbit... but how long? ....
Wow - I didn't even get that far. My Macbook (Late 2008) always communicates with the Force 3 F240GB3 at SATA I speed. Time for Corsair to adapt the fix provided by the "other manufacturers" firmware!?
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #6  
Old 11-01-2011, 09:48 AM
fredpoll fredpoll is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 538541
fredpoll Reputation: 10
Default macbook EFI updated?

There are a significant amount of macbook pro 5,1 EFI issues with SATA2 devices. 1.7/1.8 EFI corrected the negotiation, but freezes occur. 1.6 set the speed for devices to 1.5Gb/s but created other issues. It's kind of a mess. I have my momentus XT jumpered to 1.5Gb/s to get it to work consistently (no freezes, no boot issues, etc), and would like to get my Force3 to work consistently as well. The issue is that although running the 1.8 EFI I can get it to boot and install OSX correctly, but there are freezes (pauses of about 10-20 seconds) that occur from time to time. Those seem to be across the board with many SSD vendors. I have no issue with it negotiating 3Gb/s, but it's not stable enough for me. Would be nice if there was a software tool to force the drive to a specific sata mode...
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #7  
Old 12-08-2011, 08:04 AM
hinrek hinrek is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 546288
hinrek Reputation: 10
Default

I have the same problem with 2009 mbp, cant get it to work on sata II :( i just bought the Force 3 120 Gb ssd... and i have the latest updates on osx lion (efi is 1.7). i tried formating and installing snow leopard and still no luck (snow leopard comes with efi 1.7 pre installed also)... My force 3 drive has the lates 1.3.3 firmware. "Link Speed: 3Gigabit" so it should run on sata II but "Negotiated Link Speed: 1.5 Gigabit" only.
Bootcamp is running win xp and also only sata I speeds (around 100mbs).

I would like to hear something from admins (developers) if there is a possibility to get the ssd to run on sata II speeds what is supported by my macbook.

Sorry for my bad english its not my first language
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #8  
Old 12-11-2011, 07:14 AM
Axel7 Axel7 is offline
Registered User
Axel7's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
POST ID # = 547025
Axel7 Reputation: 10
Default

I just bought a Corsair SSD Force 3, 120 GB on 9-dec-2011.
Firmware is 1.3.2

I replaced my internal HDD with the Corsair SSD in my MacBook Pro 13" (mid 2009) running on OS X 10.7.2 (Lion) latest firmware release (1.7) capable handling SATA II

I'am experiencing the same problems as lot of other Mac Users are reporting all around the Internet who are using Corsair SSDs:

1) Slow performance (101 MB/s write and 127 MB/s read using AJA Testing Tool)
2) Negotiated Link Speed: 1.5 GB

I still was not able to find a solution how to fix the existing issues.

Should I return the SSD? Is firmware 1.3.3 a solution for these issues (using Lion not Snow Leopard)?

Last edited by Axel7; 12-11-2011 at 07:20 AM.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #9  
Old 12-11-2011, 07:24 AM
hinrek hinrek is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 547027
hinrek Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Axel7 View Post
I just bought a Corsair SSD Force 3, 120 GB on 9-dec-2011.
Firmware is 1.3.2

I replaced my internal HDD with the Corsair SSD in my MacBook Pro 13" (mid 2009) running on OS X 10.7.2 (Lion) latest firmware release (1.7) capable handling SATA II

I'am experiencing the same problems as lot of other Mac Users are reporting all around the Internet who are using Corsair SSDs:

1) Slow performance (101 MB/s write and 127 MB/s read using AJA Testing Tool)
2) Negotiated Link Speed: 1.5 GB

I still was not able to find a solution how to fix the existing issues.

Should I return the SSD? Is firmware 1.3.3 a solution for these issues (using Lion not Snow Leopard)?
1.3.3 did not fix it and i tried lion, snow leopard and bootcamp- no luck :(

Edit:

i found a thread :
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthre...=1#post8414998
i will try to downgrade from 1.7 to 1.6. some say it fixes the speed and stability problems.

Last edited by hinrek; 12-14-2011 at 05:13 AM.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #10  
Old 01-18-2012, 06:32 AM
aer0x aer0x is offline
Registered user
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 555584
aer0x Reputation: 10
Default

is there no fix for that out there?
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #11  
Old 01-19-2012, 06:23 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 10,077
POST ID # = 555843
Toasted Reputation: 36
Default

Shutdown the Macbook Pro, Then turn it back on from by pressing the power button.

It should negotiate at 3GB/S
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #12  
Old 01-27-2012, 05:00 PM
ckunkle ckunkle is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 557975
ckunkle Reputation: 10
Default

Just got the same drive today running firmware version 1.3.3, and it negotiates at 1.5. WTF?

Vendor: NVidia
Product: MCP79 AHCI
Link Speed: 3 Gigabit
Negotiated Link Speed: 1.5 Gigabit
Description: AHCI Version 1.20 Supported
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #13  
Old 02-22-2012, 05:32 PM
Sylargray Sylargray is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 563338
Sylargray Reputation: 10
Default

Still no update?
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #14  
Old 02-23-2012, 07:43 AM
MountainMark MountainMark is offline
Registered User
MountainMark's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 563453
MountainMark Reputation: 10
Default

Same thing!! Hangs are killing me! Sometimes the sound keeps playing (from iTunes or internet) and the screen freezes other times everything locks up and the rainbow spinner just keeps on spinnin. Pretty annoying.

I have a Macbook Pro 5,1 and updated firmware on everything (ForceGT 1.3.3, AHCI 1.20 <Product: MCP79>, EFI 1.8, TRIM enabled, Systems Prefs set NOT to go to sleep ever and I get freezes/hangs every once (about 4-5 per hour and sometimes more which mean I shut down and then start back up) as well as only SATA1 1.5 Link Speed. The old Segate HD drive I replaced ran at SATA2 3.0...

Zapped PRAM, took battery out of laptop and held down the power key to drain all electricity, used Bootcamp (which resulted in a lot of freezes and a subsequent clean install) and now just using Lion 10.7.3.

When it does work, the Force GT is faster at SATA1 than my old Seagate HD connecting at SATA2... but the hangs and freezes are debilitating during everyday use, especially anything at work and my computer suddenly freezes and hangs for 30 seconds at what appears to be random intervals.

Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro5,1
Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
Processor Speed: 2.66 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 2
L2 Cache: 6 MB
Memory: 8 GB
Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz
Boot ROM Version: MBP51.007E.B05
SMC Version (system): 1.41f2

NVidia MCP79 AHCI:

Vendor: NVidia
Product: MCP79 AHCI
Link Speed: 3 Gigabit
Negotiated Link Speed: 1.5 Gigabit
Description: AHCI Version 1.20 Supported

Corsair Force GT:

Capacity: 120.03 GB (120,034,123,776 bytes)
Model: Corsair Force GT
Revision: 1.3.3
Serial Number: 1144820800000702032C
Native Command Queuing: Yes
Queue Depth: 32
Removable Media: No
Detachable Drive: No
BSD Name: disk0
Medium Type: Solid State
TRIM Support: Yes
Partition Map Type: GPT (GUID Partition Table)
S.M.A.R.T. status: Verified

Last edited by MountainMark; 02-23-2012 at 07:56 AM. Reason: Typos/ System Specs Added
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #15  
Old 03-06-2012, 08:53 AM
Rmunz Rmunz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 565728
Rmunz Reputation: 10
Default

Same problem here:

NVidia MCP89 AHCI:

Vendor: NVidia
Product: MCP89 AHCI
Link Speed: 3 Gigabit
Negotiated Link Speed: 1.5 Gigabit
Description: AHCI Version 1.30 Supported

Corsair Force GT:

Capacity: 90.03 GB (90,028,302,336 bytes)
Model: Corsair Force GT
Revision: 1.3.3
Serial Number: 114882010000070101B8
Native Command Queuing: Yes
Queue Depth: 32
Removable Media: No
Detachable Drive: No
BSD Name: disk0
Medium Type: Solid State
TRIM Support: No
Partition Map Type: GPT (GUID Partition Table)
S.M.A.R.T. status: Verified

Running on 13-inch, Mid 2010 MBP 10.7.3 OSX

CORSAIR, WHEN WILL YOU TAKE ACTION IN THIS RESPECT???

There is an infinite list of frustrated customers asking for it here, it is just ridiculous that no position is taken from your side.

Still waiting for a decent firmware update.....
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.