The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cooling

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 56 votes, 4.93 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-09-2011, 06:03 PM
KittyFungus KittyFungus is offline
Registered User
KittyFungus's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 37
POST ID # = 519072
KittyFungus Reputation: 10
Default H100 Thermal paste

So I just read that H100 already have thermal paste applied to the block. Is it better to go with it or remove it and apply different kind ?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 08-09-2011, 06:19 PM
cravinmild cravinmild is offline
Registered User
cravinmild's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 172
POST ID # = 519079
cravinmild Reputation: 10
Default

i replaced mine but from what has been said it is very good TIM, your choice
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 08-09-2011, 06:56 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,272
POST ID # = 519094
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
We use Shin-Etsu Thermal compound on our coolers and I am not sure there is anything out there that is any better.
Actually I need to make a correction here we use Shin-Etsu on our H50 and H70 coolers but for the H60, H80 and H100 we are using thermal paste from Dow Corning Thermal Interface Material

.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.

Last edited by RAM GUY; 08-31-2011 at 12:28 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 08-09-2011, 07:00 PM
mistermister's Avatar
mistermister mistermister is offline
Uberuser
mistermister's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 285
POST ID # = 519096
mistermister Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
We use Shin-Etsu Thermal compound on our coolers and I am not sure there is anything out there that is any better.
I'll just leave this right here...



Although, as far as traditional TIMs go, SE is some of the best.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 08-09-2011, 07:21 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,272
POST ID # = 519105
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

While it looks impressive they have only done comparisons with a few compounds and what is the environment and the system configuration and coolers used.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 08-09-2011, 07:49 PM
mistermister's Avatar
mistermister mistermister is offline
Uberuser
mistermister's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 285
POST ID # = 519111
mistermister Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
While it looks impressive they have only done comparisons with a few compounds and what is the environment and the system configuration and coolers used.

http://skinneelabs.com/2011-tim-results/

http://skinneelabs.com/2011-mx2-ix-ssg/


Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 08-09-2011, 07:55 PM
mistermister's Avatar
mistermister mistermister is offline
Uberuser
mistermister's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 285
POST ID # = 519114
mistermister Reputation: 10
Default

I should also note that according to the IX website, the H100's block is not compatible due to the exposed screws. I will have to check with the mounting points. Does anyone know if the screws are outside of the CPU contact area?
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 08-10-2011, 03:19 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,272
POST ID # = 519298
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

They are but it depends on how they do their testing and the CPU they use for reference.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 08-10-2011, 05:10 PM
mistermister's Avatar
mistermister mistermister is offline
Uberuser
mistermister's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 285
POST ID # = 519329
mistermister Reputation: 10
Default

Well all I am saying is that from the available benchmarking tests and the theory behind the product, IX is something to at least consider as a top shelf product.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 08-10-2011, 06:08 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,272
POST ID # = 519349
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I would agree to some extent with your conscious but from my own testing there is just not anything better than what we bundle with our coolers.
Don't get me wrong there is a lot of other compounds that will work as good as but nothing I have seen works better. But good find and they have some good data to back it up. We normally do not allow promotion of other products but I think the data and test results speak for them selves I will leave this up.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 08-10-2011, 06:26 PM
mistermister's Avatar
mistermister mistermister is offline
Uberuser
mistermister's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 285
POST ID # = 519357
mistermister Reputation: 10
Default

I should also note I am in no way related to IX or its producer. In fact I havent even used the product myself. I was just linking to the information I had come across since I was recently researching TIM alternatives (versus the AS5 I've been using since forever). Thank you for being cool about it though. Besides, its not like you can pre-apply IX so it really isn't an alternative for what comes on the H series units. I'd agree that SE is one of the best choices for this specific use.

I'd love to try it with my H100, but again I am concerned with the compatibility issue. I will be sure to post up if I do manage to try it though. I believe someone on my home forum (EVGA) has used this with various H series coolers (as well as those "other" AIO units made by Asetek, but not the H80/H100 yet) without issue. I'll have to look info that further.

On a side note, as someone who ALWAYS second guesses his TIM application, the theory behind how the IX works (and tests relating to contact pressure) gives me a little piece of mind.

Last edited by mistermister; 08-10-2011 at 06:32 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 08-15-2011, 01:49 PM
yeenoghu yeenoghu is offline
Registered User
yeenoghu's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 520419
yeenoghu Reputation: 10
Default

According to the IX site, it's compatible with the H60. Since the H100 seems to use the same retention mechanism, I would think that IX would work for the H100.

Unfortunately I had to remount my H100, and was forced to use AS5 since my SE TIM hadn't arrived yet. I may remount to apply the SE tim though...
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 08-15-2011, 04:05 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,272
POST ID # = 520498
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

When you do that we would like to know the results if you do not mind posting them.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.

Last edited by RAM GUY; 09-12-2011 at 07:19 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 08-15-2011, 08:46 PM
SixXxShooTeR SixXxShooTeR is offline
Registered User
SixXxShooTeR's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 53
POST ID # = 520592
SixXxShooTeR Reputation: 10
Default

Yeah, I too would like to see the results.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 08-15-2011, 08:52 PM
SixXxShooTeR SixXxShooTeR is offline
Registered User
SixXxShooTeR's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 53
POST ID # = 520594
SixXxShooTeR Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yeenoghu View Post
According to the IX site, it's compatible with the H60. Since the H100 seems to use the same retention mechanism, I would think that IX would work for the H100.

Unfortunately I had to remount my H100, and was forced to use AS5 since my SE TIM hadn't arrived yet. I may remount to apply the SE tim though...
Where on the website does it says it's compatible with the H60?
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.