The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 9 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-10-2011, 10:11 AM
Axl_0 Axl_0 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 497561
Axl_0 Reputation: 10
Default heat spreaders on Corsair Vengeance

Do the heat spreaders on the Corsair Vengeance modules just snap off? Is there any adhesive or anything else I should know about before removing the heat spreaders?
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #2  
Old 04-10-2011, 11:26 AM
Synthohol's Avatar
Synthohol Synthohol is offline
LiquidNinja
Synthohol's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: looking through your window
Posts: 5,105
POST ID # = 497567
Synthohol Synthohol Reputation: 102
Send a message via AIM to Synthohol Send a message via Yahoo to Synthohol
Default

yup, upon removal you will void any warranty and very likely destroy the ram itself since the spreaders are glued right to the chips. they pull right off the card when force is applied. (the IC chips)
any attempt to remove the spreaders will most likely be the least smart thing you have done in life so far.

but... its your money.
__________________
Thinking about combining 2 or more sets of ram?? even the same part# is not suggested, recommended or supported.

System Specs as of 6/17/10
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #3  
Old 04-10-2011, 11:59 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 31,998
POST ID # = 497574
Wired Reputation: 16
Default

Why do you want to remove the heat spreaders?

To reiterate, they're not meant to be removed, will most likely pull the memory off of the PCB, and yes, will void the warranty.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #4  
Old 04-10-2011, 12:45 PM
Axl_0 Axl_0 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 497579
Axl_0 Reputation: 10
Default

I want to remove them so that they would fit under my Noctua DH-14 CPU heatsink. The only options are to either remove the RAM heat spreader or to bend the stuff at the top so that they don't touch the heatsink.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #5  
Old 04-10-2011, 01:52 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 31,998
POST ID # = 497591
Wired Reputation: 16
Default

Does that heatsink only overlap the first RAM slot?
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #6  
Old 04-11-2011, 02:33 AM
Axl_0 Axl_0 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 497623
Axl_0 Reputation: 10
Default

The Noctua arrives next week, but from pictures online it looks like the heat sink part alone will hover over the first two slots and of course with the rear fan it will hover over everything. If the heatsink part hovers only over the first slot I will test everything out and make sure the RAM works at it's rated settings for an extended period of time before bending the fins at top and installing the rear fan.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #7  
Old 04-11-2011, 05:29 AM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,744
POST ID # = 497636
peanutz94 Reputation: 82
Default

Just keep in mind that if you bend those spreaders you will void the warranty on the ram instantly. Not to mention takinga chance on destroying the module in the process.
Finding a different cooler or different RAM that fits under the cooler might be something to consider.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #8  
Old 04-15-2011, 04:04 AM
Kid Chameleon Kid Chameleon is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 498304
Kid Chameleon Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Axl_0 View Post
I want to remove them so that they would fit under my Noctua DH-14 CPU heatsink. The only options are to either remove the RAM heat spreader or to bend the stuff at the top so that they don't touch the heatsink.
I've been considering doing that myself because the height and to some degree the width of the Vengeance heat spreaders are stopping me from using a number of CPU coolers.

There are videos on U-Tube and guides out there on how to remove memory heat spreaders and I've done it myself years ago, I just don't want to void the warranty on a new memory kit..yet

Looking at the memory it seems not all the chips are attached to the tape anyway so removing them might not be to difficult.

There are a few local modders where I live that have been considering the same thing.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #9  
Old 04-15-2011, 03:07 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,297
POST ID # = 498390
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I would try the Noctua NH-C14 that will not be a problem.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #10  
Old 04-15-2011, 11:24 PM
citabria citabria is offline
Registered User
citabria's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 17
POST ID # = 498463
citabria Reputation: 10
Default

Just cut the top fins off with a bandsaw. For the most part, they maybe mainly for looks.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #11  
Old 05-06-2011, 09:45 PM
Axl_0 Axl_0 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 501386
Axl_0 Reputation: 10
Default

Where can I find all the memory settings for the CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9? The BIOS displays SPD settings, but there are a LOT of different memory settings in my BIOS and many of the fields are just left blank for the SPD value.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #12  
Old 05-07-2011, 12:49 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 31,998
POST ID # = 501394
Wired Reputation: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Axl_0 View Post
Where can I find all the memory settings for the CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9? The BIOS displays SPD settings, but there are a LOT of different memory settings in my BIOS and many of the fields are just left blank for the SPD value.
They're on the label of the memory.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #13  
Old 05-07-2011, 04:00 AM
A2look4Parts A2look4Parts is offline
Registered User
A2look4Parts's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vienna, AT
Posts: 17
POST ID # = 501410
A2look4Parts Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
I would try the Noctua NH-C14 that will not be a problem.
Only in single fan high clearance mode, if I understand correctly. Turning the 2xfans configuration 180 degrees would still obstruct first RAM slot. And Noctua package includes 2 fans for "maximum performance"...

Finding CPU cooler that fits 4x4GB Vengeance on LGA 1155 MB "comfortably" and isn't the like of Corsair Hydro series can quickly become dragged out and disheartening for beginners. If one wants less moving parts (air cooler) or doesn't really like limited radiator mounting options (length of tubes) then there just don't seem to be many options.

A relatively narrow 51mm wide tower cooler with 25mm wide fan - it fits just barely and the fan touches RAM heat spreader. Anything over 51mm is a no unless the block and fan sit higher up.

Prolimatech Genesis - another "over the memory slots" design - would be better but still a close fit (here with Dominators installed on LGA 1366 MB).
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #14  
Old 05-07-2011, 04:11 AM
Axl_0 Axl_0 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 501411
Axl_0 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wired View Post
They're on the label of the memory.
I doubt it. Looks like there are 15-30 different memory settings in the BIOS of my ASUS P8P67-M Pro.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #15  
Old 05-07-2011, 07:23 AM
Synthohol's Avatar
Synthohol Synthohol is offline
LiquidNinja
Synthohol's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: looking through your window
Posts: 5,105
POST ID # = 501428
Synthohol Synthohol Reputation: 102
Send a message via AIM to Synthohol Send a message via Yahoo to Synthohol
Default

run CPU-Z to see what 5 timings need to be set as per the ram's SPD settings, the rest can be left on auto.

look at the timings table in the pic, those are the ones to set manually if the SPD or XMP will not set them automatically

__________________
Thinking about combining 2 or more sets of ram?? even the same part# is not suggested, recommended or supported.

System Specs as of 6/17/10
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.