The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-21-2010, 01:24 PM
Caatalyst Caatalyst is offline
Registered User
Caatalyst's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 32
POST ID # = 448529
Caatalyst Reputation: 10
Default Corsair CM3X2G1333C9, require help with a potential fault

Hey hey!

I'm experiencing some critical errors with my system which I believe is related to the two memory modules installed.

Initially the problem occurred during a reboot of windows 7. I'll go through what I did step by step incase it helps.

Before I decided to format I purchased a external hard drive (SEAGATE AGENT 750GB) to backup any important data.

I then Put the Windows 7 Boot up disc and wiped both internal hard drives (400GB Samsung Spin point and a 1TB Seagate) using windows setup format tool.

I followed the instructions to install the operating system untill it reached the "Expanding files" stage. At this point it crashed with a windows error message. I tryed again and again but each time it would crash at different stages of the expanding files part. Sometimes it would blue screen with different error messages each time.

Initially i was convinced that the boot disc i made was corrupt so i continued to keep trying untill i finally did manage to install it.

However once installed the blue screens continued.

So I next tried to install using a pen drive, the results were the same.

I tried swapping the hard drives around, installing onto the other one, disabling one but nothing worked, updating the bios but nothing worked.

So next I tried taking one memory module out and trying to install again. I was still getting windows error messages during the expansion but no blue screen messages. So I continued for about 20 times till i got a fresh install.

The operating system now works with the one stick but its blue screened a couple of times still. I've also noticed strange things like downloading nvidia drivers and when unzipping them it crashses. Stability seems to be an issue.

So at the stage I'm at now, the faulty module is removed from the computer and I decided to test the other module that seems to work abit better with Memtest86.

Unfortunately it was unstabled, failed to function at all in multi core mode and crashed the first time in single core mode. Then I ran again in single core and it ran for ages and found some errors. It was still going but I stopped it after taking pictures as I presumed that was enough evidence. Heres the pictures of mem test -

http://picasaweb.google.com/10419891...57141979075762

http://picasaweb.google.com/10419891...57134858048626

http://picasaweb.google.com/10419891...57156004774290


I haven't tested the stick that was causing regular blue screens during the installation. I guess that one speaks for itself. But If anyone can offer any advice I would be extremely grateful. I only built the pc back in november and the ram is under warrenty so hopefully it will qualify because i don't think reinstalling windows is a potentially dangerous activity.

Heres my system spec -

Asus Crosshair III Motherboard
AMD Phenom II Quad core 3.2ghz
4GB DDR 3 (2x2GB) Corsair CM3x2G1333C9 Memory
Geforce 260 GTX 896MB
Corsair 850watt PSU
Windows 7 Premium 64bit
Coolermaster 690 case
Soundblaster X-FI Sound card


Many thanks!
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #2  
Old 04-21-2010, 06:59 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,289
POST ID # = 448571
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Let's get them replaced, please use the On Line RMA Request Form and we will be happy to replace them. Be sure to check the box that says “I've already spoken to Technical Support and/or RAM Guy.”
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #3  
Old 04-22-2010, 01:35 AM
Caatalyst Caatalyst is offline
Registered User
Caatalyst's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 32
POST ID # = 448605
Caatalyst Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks Ramguy,

I actually set up an RMA case (1449673) and just got a response this morning. Got to send it them to the netherlands!

Thanks again

James
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #4  
Old 04-22-2010, 05:44 AM
Caatalyst Caatalyst is offline
Registered User
Caatalyst's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 32
POST ID # = 448613
Caatalyst Reputation: 10
Default

Hey Ramguy,

just one more question. Do you have any idea what may have happened? Just the fact that both sticks has gone at the same time but showing different signs seems weird. I just want to make sure nothing else is dead. Its all brand new gear and cost quite abit in my pc so I don't want it to explode :)
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.