The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD)

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 201 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-09-2010, 05:45 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,296
POST ID # = 447140
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

There is an awesome Blog about SSD's in general on MSDN that is good reading to help understand the basics.

Quote:
Quote:
How to enable TRIM Command in Windows 7 with a Solid State Drive

To enable or disable TRIM Command, you will need to open an Elevated Command Prompt window.

How To Open an Elevated Command Prompt window: Click on Start Orb > Type "CMD.exe" in Search box > Right click on "CMD" and select "Run as Administrator" (If you receive a prompt confirmation, click YES)

How to Enable TRIM Command

In the Elevated command Prompt windows, type the following:

fsutil behavior set disabledeletenotify 0

How to Disable TRIM Command

In the Elevated command Prompt windows, type the following:

fsutil behavior set disabledeletenotify 1

How do I know if TRIM is working in Windows 7?

In the Elevated command Prompt windows, type the following:

fsutil behavior query disabledeletenotify
Results explained below:
DisableDeleteNotify = 1 (Windows TRIM commands are disabled)
DisableDeleteNotify = 0 (Windows TRIM commands are enabled)


How to enable AHCI in Windows 7 after Instalation:

There is one way to fix this, although you need to have knowledge of registry editing. The detailed steps from Microsoft are as follows:

1.Exit all Windows-based programs.
2.Click Start, type regedit in the Start Search box, and then press ENTER.
3.If you receive the User Account Control dialog box, click Continue.
4.Locate and then click the following registry subkey:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESystemCurrentControlSetServicesMsahci
5.In the right pane, right-click Start in the Name column, and then click Modify.
6.In the Value data box, type 0, and then click OK.
7.On the File menu, click Exit to close Registry Editor.

After this you’ll have to restart your computer, go to BIOS and enable AHCI. When you log in to Windows again, you’ll notice the installation of drivers for AHCI. Another restart will be required to finish the driver installation.

These steps are provided at your own risk and not suggested unless you know and understand the risks. You will want to make sure the controller driver and MB BIOS support this option before you enable it
Some information taken from www.msdn.com, www.microsoft.com, and www.ithinkdiff.com, and www.ssdtechnologyforum.com.

Last edited by RAM GUY; 04-09-2010 at 06:06 PM.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #2  
Old 05-22-2010, 09:04 AM
snowstar snowstar is offline
Registered User
snowstar's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 451968
snowstar Reputation: 10
Default

Ramguy,

Checking if trim is enabled worked flawlessly! Thanks, I was worried when I saw a scheduled defragmentation that trim was not enabled.

Does the scheduled defrag seem correct for a recognized ssd?
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #3  
Old 05-22-2010, 01:21 PM
Poisonsnak Poisonsnak is offline
Registered User
Poisonsnak's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 30
POST ID # = 451978
Poisonsnak Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snowstar View Post
Ramguy,

Checking if trim is enabled worked flawlessly! Thanks, I was worried when I saw a scheduled defragmentation that trim was not enabled.

Does the scheduled defrag seem correct for a recognized ssd?
In my experience on Windows 7 scheduled defrag is more of a system-wide setting, so if it says "next scheduled defrag is 05/26/2010" then that means the next system defrag is that day.

I have one system with 1 ssd and 3 regular hdds, and under the "last run" column it shows the date for the 3 hdds, but for the ssd it says "never run" even though the system has been up and running for some months now. I believe it uses the windows experience index score for each hard drive to determine whether or not it is an ssd and doesn't rely on things like trim (my case is a perfect example - I have an X64 in this system running the old non-trim firmware and Windows still knows not to defrag it).
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #4  
Old 07-04-2010, 12:14 PM
gunrunnerjohn gunrunnerjohn is offline
Registered User
gunrunnerjohn's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 48
POST ID # = 456429
gunrunnerjohn Reputation: 10
Default

I did the test for TRIM and it appears to be working.

C:\Users\Owner>fsutil behavior query disabledeletenotify
DisableDeleteNotify = 0


When I open Regedit and look at the value you mention to enable it, I find.

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\msahci]
"Start"=dword:00000003


If zero is really the proper value, how do I explain the difference in the results? Is there any way I can actually verify TRIM is truly working?
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #5  
Old 07-17-2010, 08:44 AM
fab_hofmann fab_hofmann is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 457765
fab_hofmann Reputation: 10
Default

I don't have a command named FSUTIL ?! it isn't working...
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #6  
Old 07-17-2010, 09:27 AM
Synthohol's Avatar
Synthohol Synthohol is offline
LiquidNinja
Synthohol's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: looking through your window
Posts: 5,106
POST ID # = 457768
Synthohol Synthohol Reputation: 102
Send a message via AIM to Synthohol Send a message via Yahoo to Synthohol
Default

ya gotta have it somewhere, i even have it in XP!! it's in your \windows\system32 folder
http://commandwindows.com/fsutil.htm
__________________
Thinking about combining 2 or more sets of ram?? even the same part# is not suggested, recommended or supported.

System Specs as of 6/17/10

Last edited by Synthohol; 07-17-2010 at 09:31 AM.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #7  
Old 07-17-2010, 09:39 AM
gunrunnerjohn gunrunnerjohn is offline
Registered User
gunrunnerjohn's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 48
POST ID # = 457770
gunrunnerjohn Reputation: 10
Default

If not, your installation is probably corrupt. In that case, try running: SFC /SCANNOW
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #8  
Old 07-17-2010, 10:22 AM
fab_hofmann fab_hofmann is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 457775
fab_hofmann Reputation: 10
Default

ok I think i missed something. it works now
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #9  
Old 08-27-2010, 02:11 AM
PrObE's Avatar
PrObE PrObE is offline
SpeedRacer
PrObE's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 61
POST ID # = 463532
PrObE Reputation: 10
Default

i would like to add a point to this that i have found to be easiest and most reliable way to have/confirm TRIM is working;

Simply log off windows, also make sure all other users are logged off if multiple, and leave the computer idling for a couple of hours or overnight.

i can physically see the difference in ATTO when i log-on again so for my system this is a confirmed way of having TRIM working the most effectively.

I have seen this posted randomly, but i feel this method is a little "underestimated" :)

Cheers,
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #10  
Old 08-27-2010, 02:31 AM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Corsair Tech Mktg
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,078
POST ID # = 463533
Yellowbeard Reputation: 42
Send a message via AIM to Yellowbeard
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrObE View Post
i would like to add a point to this that i have found to be easiest and most reliable way to have/confirm TRIM is working;

Simply log off windows, also make sure all other users are logged off if multiple, and leave the computer idling for a couple of hours or overnight.

i can physically see the difference in ATTO when i log-on again so for my system this is a confirmed way of having TRIM working the most effectively.

I have seen this posted randomly, but i feel this method is a little "underestimated" :)

Cheers,
This is a good distinction. The methods outlined in this thread merely show that TRIM is ENABLED. Your suggestion is good because you can actually verify and show proof of TRIM WORKING. Good post IMO.
__________________
Follow me on Twitter: XMSYELLOWBEARD

Make friends on Facebook: XMSYELLOWBEARD
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #11  
Old 10-07-2010, 02:08 AM
TTune TTune is offline
Registered User
TTune's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 470177
TTune Reputation: 10
Default If there's no AHCI in the BIOS... then?

Hello, all.

I've got a P256 which is certainly faster than my original hard drive.

My problem is that I'm using a Sony VAIO laptop - and there's no obvious way to flip AHCI on within the BIOS. (It's a Sony thing - this disabling of features like VT and AHCI).

So - Even though I've set the registry and 'enabled' TRIM - without AHCI I'm toast, right? Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #12  
Old 10-07-2010, 11:55 AM
gunrunnerjohn gunrunnerjohn is offline
Registered User
gunrunnerjohn's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 48
POST ID # = 470243
gunrunnerjohn Reputation: 10
Default

Get a different laptop?
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #13  
Old 10-07-2010, 01:25 PM
TTune TTune is offline
Registered User
TTune's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 470265
TTune Reputation: 10
Default Clearly not married. :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gunrunnerjohn View Post
Get a different laptop?
Occams Razor: popularly interpreted as "the simplest explanation is usually the correct(Best) one". Yes - a new laptop would be the answer.

Clearly, however, you are not aware of she-who-must-be-obeyed. I can get away with hours of putzing about but not a simple trip down to the Best Buy.

Plan B: Get AHCI working "somehow". Anyone know how to flip that bit on a VAIO BIOS? (Assumes I NEED it to get TRIM working.)

So the real question is; Will TRIM work ONLY if MSAHCI.sys is loaded?
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #14  
Old 10-07-2010, 01:42 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Corsair Tech Mktg
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,078
POST ID # = 470269
Yellowbeard Reputation: 42
Send a message via AIM to Yellowbeard
Default

You have to have a driver that can pass the TRIM command AND have the controller AHCI mode. The newest Intel driver will pass the TRIM command (on Intel controllers of course) and the Microsoft driver will of course pass it. But, if you can't do AHCI mode on your controller, it's a moot point.
__________________
Follow me on Twitter: XMSYELLOWBEARD

Make friends on Facebook: XMSYELLOWBEARD
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #15  
Old 10-07-2010, 01:45 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Corsair Tech Mktg
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,078
POST ID # = 470271
Yellowbeard Reputation: 42
Send a message via AIM to Yellowbeard
Default

FYI, the P series has its own garbage collection function which works at the controller level and is completely independent of the OS. So, not having TRIM is not the end of the world in this case.
__________________
Follow me on Twitter: XMSYELLOWBEARD

Make friends on Facebook: XMSYELLOWBEARD
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.