Corsair Community

new to SSD's

cvrtsniper

Well the title says it all. I am just getting into SSD's and i thought corsair would be a good choice. My first question is, do the extreme series SSD's ship with trim compatibility. my second is, how fast will the speed degrade if i only install windows 7 x64 onto a ssd and leave all my other stuff on normal hdds? Third question is, how hard is it to set a ssd up IE formatting, installing windows 7 and on.

Get the biggest SSD you can afford. It is (among other things) the free space availability than is one of the biggest factors in the slowdown. But, don't worry about it. I am running Win7 x64 on an X256, firmware 1.1 which does not yet support trim. It has slowed down a wee bit according to the benchmarks, which I run every week or so out of interest. But, degraded or not, it is still MUCH more responsive and speedy than my previous setup, which was WD velociraptors in RAID-0. I mean really a lot better, not just imaginary wishful thinking. I'm lurking on this forum, waiting for the firmware update utility to be announced, but really, I'm delighted with the performance.