The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD)

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 70 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-19-2009, 05:54 AM
IanJackson IanJackson is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 417244
IanJackson Reputation: 10
Default How to Restore Corsair SSD performance WITHOUT using HDDErase

Although SSDs are superb compared to hard disks, the inevitable performance degradation does become annoying. Unfortunately a lot of SSDs - including my Corsair P256 - are not supported by HDDErase. I've tried versions 3.1, 3.3, and 4.0 on a number of motherboards with varying chipsets in IDE compatibility modes but none of them work - they just report that the drive is in a "frozen state".

After a morning of fiddling about, I've worked out a way of performing the required secure erase function another way.

The reason the SSDs are not compatible with HDDErase is due to a BIOS lockout. Whilst many claim that putting the controller into compatibility mode fixes this, it certainly doesn’t on my Asus X58. You therefore need to use a different utility that can read disks from another sort of controller- namely USB.

First of all you're going to need a number of items;

1. A GParted Live.iso http://sourceforge.net/projects/gpar...d-live-stable/
2. A blank CD
3. A USB-to-SATA adaptor or enclosure, any should do.
4. A USB cable

First use your favourite disk imaging tool to burn the .iso of GParted to disk.
Next, shut down and disconnect all of your hard disks from your computer. Remove your SSD and install it into your USB enclosure. Start the machine back up and boot from your GParted Live disk.

A number of prompts will pop up during the boot sequence, in each case just hit enter until you reach the main interface screen. A window should pop up displaying your SSD’s partitions. Right click on any partitions and delete them. In the top right hand corner of this window is the name of your SSD. Remember this name!

Next, double click on terminal and type the following;

hdparm --security-erase NULL /dev/hda

Where /dev/hda is the name of the disk you remembered earlier. The drive will now be secure erased and all data will be deleted. The disk will also be restored to factory performance. My SSD had degraded to below 120MB/s in HDTune Pro. After performing this is was back to its 200MB/s+ best.

Hope others find this useful!

Last edited by IanJackson; 09-19-2009 at 09:32 AM.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #2  
Old 09-20-2009, 01:49 AM
maxito maxito is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 417319
maxito Reputation: 10
Default

Interesting.
Does it work on Apple Hardware?
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #3  
Old 09-20-2009, 04:05 AM
JUGGY JUGGY is offline
Registered User
JUGGY's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 417325
JUGGY Reputation: 10
Default

Tried this but I get an Input Output error.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #4  
Old 09-20-2009, 07:31 AM
IanJackson IanJackson is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 417338
IanJackson Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JUGGY View Post
Tried this but I get an Input Output error.
Hmm, maybe it only works using the P256 - what model do you have?
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #5  
Old 09-20-2009, 01:28 PM
JUGGY JUGGY is offline
Registered User
JUGGY's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 417353
JUGGY Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IanJackson View Post
Hmm, maybe it only works using the P256 - what model do you have?
I have the CMFSSD-64N1, I realise it's the bottom of the range completely.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #6  
Old 09-21-2009, 12:42 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,290
POST ID # = 417480
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

What are the performance marks you are getting from Atto?
And I would just try to image the drive to another drive then quick format the drive and image it back on and test it.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #7  
Old 10-05-2009, 06:36 PM
blurayx blurayx is offline
Registered User
blurayx's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 419599
blurayx Reputation: 10
Default not working great

Hi RAM GUY

My p128 is now working great!

I did not use the USB option, but kept my p128 connected to the Sata cables

Read: B 180 - A 203

Write: B 147 - A 172



Thanks for the tip

Last edited by blurayx; 10-05-2009 at 06:46 PM.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #8  
Old 10-06-2009, 01:11 AM
Chatanga Chatanga is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 419644
Chatanga Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IanJackson View Post
Although SSDs are superb compared to hard disks, the inevitable performance degradation does become annoying. Unfortunately a lot of SSDs - including my Corsair P256 - are not supported by HDDErase. I've tried versions 3.1, 3.3, and 4.0 on a number of motherboards with varying chipsets in IDE compatibility modes but none of them work - they just report that the drive is in a "frozen state".

After a morning of fiddling about, I've worked out a way of performing the required secure erase function another way.

The reason the SSDs are not compatible with HDDErase is due to a BIOS lockout. Whilst many claim that putting the controller into compatibility mode fixes this, it certainly doesn’t on my Asus X58. You therefore need to use a different utility that can read disks from another sort of controller- namely USB.

First of all you're going to need a number of items;

1. A GParted Live.iso http://sourceforge.net/projects/gpar...d-live-stable/
2. A blank CD
3. A USB-to-SATA adaptor or enclosure, any should do.
4. A USB cable

First use your favourite disk imaging tool to burn the .iso of GParted to disk.
Next, shut down and disconnect all of your hard disks from your computer. Remove your SSD and install it into your USB enclosure. Start the machine back up and boot from your GParted Live disk.

A number of prompts will pop up during the boot sequence, in each case just hit enter until you reach the main interface screen. A window should pop up displaying your SSD’s partitions. Right click on any partitions and delete them. In the top right hand corner of this window is the name of your SSD. Remember this name!

Next, double click on terminal and type the following;

hdparm --security-erase NULL /dev/hda

Where /dev/hda is the name of the disk you remembered earlier. The drive will now be secure erased and all data will be deleted. The disk will also be restored to factory performance. My SSD had degraded to below 120MB/s in HDTune Pro. After performing this is was back to its 200MB/s+ best.

Hope others find this useful!
Whitch Version of Gparted was that?
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #9  
Old 10-06-2009, 12:49 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,290
POST ID # = 419710
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

He Posted a link to the ISO Image.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #10  
Old 10-31-2009, 04:46 PM
ea66 ea66 is offline
Registered User
ea66's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 424221
ea66 Reputation: 10
Sad

I have a Corsair X64 drive, running in Acer TM8371 laptop.

I've tried the method above to restore my drive, but it gives an I/O error (the attempt was made while the drive was in the laptop, set to IDE mode, as I have no external enclosure) (I haven't deleted the partition on the drive prior to running hdprarm, is that important?)
Second attmept was with HDDerase 3.3, but it didn't work also (program froze after accepting the licence)
Is there a third way how to restore my drive to it's peak performance? I'm getting desperate :(

P.S
Could somebody take a look at my Atto benchmark result and tell me, in what condition is my drive? It's 3 weeks old, and was forced to do windows reinstall 3 times, so I'm a bit worried

Last edited by ea66; 10-31-2009 at 05:43 PM.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #11  
Old 11-02-2009, 06:25 PM
Shimodax Shimodax is offline
Registered User
Shimodax's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 25
POST ID # = 424439
Shimodax Reputation: 10
Default

I just downloaded GPARTED 0.4.6-1 and the CD does boot on an Intel iMac (24" Alu model).

It came up with the right screen and although I did not actually do the erase (my SSD is new anyway) chances are very high that this will work on Macs too.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #12  
Old 11-02-2009, 06:29 PM
Shimodax Shimodax is offline
Registered User
Shimodax's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 25
POST ID # = 424440
Shimodax Reputation: 10
Default

Btw, if you have doubts about the drive name, before using the erase command, type

hdparm -i /dev/xxx (where xxx is of course the name you remembered, e.g. sda, sdb, hda, hdb, etc.)

This will output the drive info (manufacturer, size etc.) and might save you from user errors when you have multiple drives connected.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #13  
Old 11-02-2009, 08:27 PM
kurly007 kurly007 is offline
Registered User
kurly007's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 424458
kurly007 Reputation: 10
Default

I think partedmagic does the same thing using internal secure erase command which the extreme series support, try it if you want as it's much more user friendly and you can't go wrong.

pmagic:http://partedmagic.com/download.html
Attached Images
File Type: jpg erase.jpg (144.4 KB, 1890 views)

Last edited by kurly007; 11-03-2009 at 03:06 PM. Reason: Added pic
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #14  
Old 11-04-2009, 05:23 PM
lickity split lickity split is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 424856
lickity split Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ea66 View Post
I have a Corsair X64 drive, running in Acer TM8371 laptop.

I've tried the method above to restore my drive, but it gives an I/O error (the attempt was made while the drive was in the laptop, set to IDE mode, as I have no external enclosure) (I haven't deleted the partition on the drive prior to running hdprarm, is that important?)
Second attmept was with HDDerase 3.3, but it didn't work also (program froze after accepting the licence)
Is there a third way how to restore my drive to it's peak performance? I'm getting desperate :(

P.S
Could somebody take a look at my Atto benchmark result and tell me, in what condition is my drive? It's 3 weeks old, and was forced to do windows reinstall 3 times, so I'm a bit worried
Here's a great wiki with more detailed instructions. Should have everything you need:
http://ata.wiki.kernel.org/index.php/ATA_Secure_Erase
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #15  
Old 11-05-2009, 03:01 AM
Davyc Davyc is offline
Mad Scientist
Davyc's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: In A Dirty Little Town
Posts: 308
POST ID # = 424911
Davyc Reputation: 10
Default

@ lickety split:

Excellent find, I'm sure this will help a lot of people :-)
__________________
All advice is given "as is" use it at your own risk - advice is drawn from personal experience and from other resources that are freely available
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.