The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Enthusiasts Section > Overclocking and Benchmarking

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 12 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-22-2007, 05:32 PM
bachus_anonym's Avatar
bachus_anonym bachus_anonym is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 306518
bachus_anonym Reputation: 10
Default Corsair TWIN3X2048-1800C7DF --> Setup & OCing on P5K3-D, P35T-DQ6 and Blitz Extreme!!

Hi all,

Corsair is proud to introduce a full line of high performance and low-latency (as for 3rd generation DRAM, that is) of DDR3 memory products:

- TWIN3X2048-1600C7DHX G --> 2x1GB kit, DDR3-1600 7-7-7-20 @ 1.80v
- TWIN3X2048-1800C7DF G "Dominator" --> 2x1GB kit, DDR3-1800 7-7-7-20 @ 2.00v
- TWIN3X4096-1600C7DHX G --> 2x2GB kit, DDR3-1600, 7-7-7-20 @ 1.90v

This post attempts to introduce the enthusiast community here to currently most prominent representative of the line - TWIN3X2048-1800C7DF G. Similarly to previous generation of Dominator memory, DDR3 Dominator is built using Corsair’s high performance black heat sink with Dual-path Heat Xchange (DHX) technology.


Firstly, I would like to provide those of you interested in the subject with some information as to what's up with all that "new Z9" buzz that reviewers of Micron DDR3 based memory and readers have been creating lately.
"Micron Z9" is not really some magic new DDR3 chip that Micron cooked up in their fabs. Those 2 letters have been around since 1st generation of Micron DDR DRAM in FGBA package and only indicate that chip is in ES stage. In other words, Z9xxx prefix tells us that we're dealing with Engineering Sample of FBGA DDR memory, be it DDR or DDR2 or DDR3. Those are usually sent to motherboard makers, OEMs and memory module manufacturers in the early stages of evaluation and validation process. Then comes Commercial Sample (CS), which FBGA code starts with D9xxx prefix. This is what would mostly end up on modules shipped to end-users.

To make things a bit clearer, below is the list of Micron 1GBit DDR3 speed grades with corresponding FBGA codes for ES and CS chips:

Code:
Micron 1Gbit DRAM, 128Mx8, 78nm, MT41J128M8BY
FBGA codes for Engineering (ES) and Commercial samples (CS)

Speed grade        | ES DRAM   | CS DRAM
----------------------------------------
-25E 800 5-5-5     | Z9HWW     | D9GTP
-25 800 6-6-6      | Z9HWV     | D9GTN
-187E 1066 7-7-7   | Z9HWQ     | D9GTR
-187 1066 8-8-8    | Z9HWT     | D9GTQ 
-15F 1333 8-8-8    | Z9HWS     | D9GTT
-15E 1333 9-9-9    | Z9HWR     | D9GTS
-15 1333 10-10-10  | Z9HZM     | D9HZL

... and a picture for your hungry eyes. Currently, all shipping 1600C7DHX G and 1800C7DF G are built with Micron D9GTR chips.



So, what's this tread is about. Well, good question! I wanted to share some of the "how-to" regarding configuring and overclocking this awesome set of memory on most popular DDR3 motherboards that are now available to enthusiasts. Currently, my list includes:

- Asus P5K3 Deluxe (Intel P35)
- Gigabyte P35T-DQ6 (Intel P35)
- Asus Blitz Extreme (Intel P35)


In quick summary, I took 3 motherboards and set them up in order to ensure proper and stable operation at 1800C7. Then our lab memory diagnostic tests were performed, with subsequent boot to Windows. There, setups were taken for a ride on 24hrs ORTHOS tour and several most popular among overclocking community :buddies: benchmarks.

The fun side of this thread is that at the same time you will get to see how all those different motherboards stack up against each other in therms of performance at stock 1800C7. For the lazy-mouse-clickers below is the comparison chart breaking down benchmarks results achieved on all three motherboards:


... and for the patient types, here the whole nine yards, with clickable semi-thumbnails taking you to full-size screenshots :)


Asus P5K3 Deluxe


Asus P5K3 Deluxe (Intel P35), BIOS 0603
Core 2 Duo E6850, 3.0GHz, 4MB L2
Corsair TWIN3X2048-1800C7DF G, 7-7-7-20, 2.0v
eVGA 8800GTS, ForceWare 158.22
Corsair HX520 PSU
Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD2500KS






JumperFree Configuration 1 - DDR3-1800 7-7-7 -------- JumperFree Configuration 2 - DDR3-1800 7-7-7


24hrs SP2004 - DDR3-1800 7-7-7 @ 2.00v -------------- Dual SPi32M - DDR3-1800 7-7-7 @ 2.00v


SPi32M - DDR3-1800 7-7-7 @ 2.00v -------------------- Everest Ultimate - DDR3-1800 7-7-7 @ 2.00v


Sandra XI - DDR3-1800 7-7-7 @ 2.00v ------------------ WinRAR - DDR3-1800 7-7-7 @ 2.00v


3DMark01 - DDR3-1800 7-7-7 @ 2.00v ----------------- 3DMark03 - DDR3-1800 7-7-7 @ 2.00v


3DMark05 - DDR3-1800 7-7-7 @ 2.00v ----------------- 3DMark06 - DDR3-1800 7-7-7 @ 2.00v


Gigabyte P35T-DQ6


Gigabyte GA-P35T-DQ6 (Intel P35), BIOS F3i
Core 2 Duo E6850, 3.0GHz, 4MB L2
Corsair TWIN3X2048-1800C7DF G, 7-7-7-20, 2.0v
eVGA 8800GTS, ForceWare 158.22
Corsair HX520 PSU
Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD2500KS






MB Intelligent Tweaker 1 - DDR3-1800 7-7-7 ----------- MB Intelligent Tweaker 2 - DDR3-1800 7-7-7


24hrs SP2004 - DDR3-1800 7-7-7 @ 2.00v ------------- Dual SPi32M - DDR3-1800 7-7-7 @ 2.00v


SPi32M - DDR3-1800 7-7-7 @ 2.00v -------------------- Everest Ultimate - DDR3-1800 7-7-7 @ 2.00v


Sandra XI - DDR3-1800 7-7-7 @ 2.00v ------------------ WinRAR - DDR3-1800 7-7-7 @ 2.00v


3DMark01 - DDR3-1800 7-7-7 @ 2.00v ----------------- 3DMark03 - DDR3-1800 7-7-7 @ 2.00v


3DMark05 - DDR3-1800 7-7-7 @ 2.00v ----------------- 3DMark06 - DDR3-1800 7-7-7 @ 2.00v


Asus Blitz Extreme


Asus Blitz Extreme (Intel P35), BIOS 0802
Core 2 Duo E6850, 3.0GHz, 4MB L2
Corsair TWIN3X2048-1800C7DF G, 7-7-7-20, 2.0v
eVGA 8800GTS, ForceWare 158.22
Corsair HX520 PSU
Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD2500KS






Extreme Tweaker 1 - DDR3-1800 7-7-7 ----------------- Extreme Tweaker 2 - DDR3-1800 7-7-7


Extreme Tweaker 3 - DDR3-1800 7-7-7 ---------------- 24hrs SP2004 - DDR3-1800 7-7-7 @ 2.00v


DualSPi32M & Everest - DDR3-1800 7-7-7 @ 2.00v ----- SPi32M - DDR3-1800 7-7-7 @ 2.00v


Sandra XI - DDR3-1800 7-7-7 @ 2.00v ------------------ WinRAR - DDR3-1800 7-7-7 @ 2.00v


3DMark01 - DDR3-1800 7-7-7 @ 2.00v ----------------- 3DMark03 - DDR3-1800 7-7-7 @ 2.00v


3DMark05 - DDR3-1800 7-7-7 @ 2.00v ----------------- 3DMark06 - DDR3-1800 7-7-7 @ 2.00v


Ufff, aren't you dizzy from clicking and looking at the screenshots yet? :lol:

I hope, that this will be helpful to those of you looking into adopting a DDR3 system along with a set of Corsair's fine high performance memory based on Micron 1GBit DDR3 chips.

Last edited by bachus_anonym; 08-22-2007 at 05:39 PM.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #2  
Old 08-22-2007, 05:33 PM
bachus_anonym's Avatar
bachus_anonym bachus_anonym is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 306519
bachus_anonym Reputation: 10
Default

One thing I'd like to mention to those of you interested in playing with tRCD and tRP is that a vast majority of 1800C7DF and 1600C7DHX should allow to tighthen those timings to tRCD=6 and tRP=6 without a voltage bump. However we decided not to make it an official spec and leave up to you to mess around with it :)


Asus P5K3 Deluxe ------------------------------ Gigabyte P35T-DQ6
24hrs SP2004 - DDR3-1800 7-6-6 @ 2.00v ------------- 24hrs SP2004 - DDR3-1800 7-6-6 @ 2.00v

At those lower latencies there is a few seconds to gain in e.g. SuperPi 32M, which we all like to bench here. Below, side-by-side on P5K3 Deluxe. Just as above, no memory settings has been altered in Windows and Memset window is opened just to provide additional info.

SuperPi 32M - DDR3-1800 7-7-7 @ 2.00v ------------- SuperPi 32M - DDR3-1800 7-6-6 @ 2.00v

Last edited by bachus_anonym; 08-22-2007 at 05:39 PM.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #3  
Old 08-22-2007, 05:34 PM
bachus_anonym's Avatar
bachus_anonym bachus_anonym is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
POST ID # = 306520
bachus_anonym Reputation: 10
Default

Below is pretty much as far as I could go at spec'ed 7-7-7 timings and at the same time maintaining enough stability for at least Dual SPi32M to pass. For OCing results below I also went ahead with tCMD=1T. Just heads-up, CPU-Z 1.40.8 and 1.40.9 incorrectly reports 1T when actually 2T is used; then it shows blank space when in fact 1T was set in BIOS. Therefore MemSet and Everest are opened to show correct tCMD timing. Also, our E6850 here is not yet a bottleneck here as with this cooling it's capable of passing DualSPi32M at well into 39xxMhz and around 520MHz FSB.

Asus P5K3 Deluxe


Dual SPi32M - DDR3-1916 7-7-7 @ 2.25v


SPi32M - DDR3-1916 7-7-7 @ 2.25v -------------------- Everest Ultimate - DDR3-1916 7-7-7 @ 2.25v


Sandra XI - DDR3-1916 7-7-7 @ 2.25v ------------------ WinRAR - DDR3-1916 7-7-7 @ 2.25v


3DMark01 - DDR3-1916 7-7-7 @ 2.25v ----------------- 3DMark03 - DDR3-1916 7-7-7 @ 2.25v


3DMark05 - DDR3-1916 7-7-7 @ 2.25v ----------------- 3DMark06 - DDR3-1916 7-7-7 @ 2.25v


For those that don't mind the level of stability, I have also run some SPi1M and bandwidth benchmarks at frequencies/timings that approach about the max for this particular kit:

SPi1M and Sandra XI - DDR3-1972 7-6-6 @ 2.25v ------ Everest Ultimate - DDR3-1980 7-6-6 @ 2.25v


I would also like to point out that this 2x1GB kit I've been using is I think neither the best nor the worst. It seems to be a fair representation of what our batch of 1800C7DF that's shipping could do.

Thanks for dropping by guys! Watch out for more of the memory previews straight from the Corsair's Lab in the near future!

Last edited by bachus_anonym; 08-22-2007 at 05:40 PM.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #4  
Old 09-07-2007, 01:33 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,290
POST ID # = 308167
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

bachus_anonym
Has taken his time to post this at our request and they are provided as a reference for a user who might have a similar system. Its not a promise or gaurenteee that the module's listed will run at these settings bachus_anonym is a world class over clocker with several speed record's under his belt. So please if you have little experience with over clocking take your time and you are doing this at your own risk and in most cases in order to get these settings you would have to over volt your system and or memory. And I am sorry but this is not a part of our Tech support function. This is just a reference not a Guide line or Rule.

In addition, Corsair tech support team is not allowed to teach or instruct any user on how to over clock your system, we can and will answer direct questions but please do not expect that we will teach you how to do this. It is just not possible.

Last edited by RAM GUY; 09-07-2007 at 02:47 PM.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #5  
Old 10-04-2007, 06:11 AM
DerekT's Avatar
DerekT DerekT is offline
Registered User
DerekT's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: White Rock, British Columbia
Posts: 10,167
POST ID # = 310763
DerekT Reputation: 10
Default

Very good work bacchus_anonym. I will await the Nehalem second iteration and by then I would hazard a guess that Corsair will have some very fine low latencies coupled with high speed.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #6  
Old 11-16-2007, 10:57 AM
madFive madFive is offline
Registered User
madFive's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 317552
madFive Reputation: 10
Default

Wow - tons of great info here! It's going to take me a while to go through all of this. I was about to post a question thread with similar info, but I'll just post it here instead.

I just bought the Gigabyte GA-X38T-DQ6 mb in a newegg combo with the TWIN3X2048-1600C7DHXIN set.

The Gigabyte bios has TONS of settings for latency beyond what I've seen so far anywhere else, so if anyone wants to fill in the blanks on these, I'd be very grateful. I just want to get the memory running at the advertised 1600mhz at 7-7-7-20 - currently it's at 1333 / 9-9-9-24.

Right now the cpu/fsb are at 8x333 - working with Gigabyte to try and get my fsb unlocked and up to 400 (beta bios bugs).
Does the fsb have to be at 400 to run the ram at 1600?

Anyhow - here are the mem settings that are available in the bios - I think I know what the first 4 or 5 should be, but after that I’m kind of at a loss.

System Memory Multiplier: (dependent on cpu fsb?)
Memory Frequency: (need to check what's displayed now - will update)
High Speed DRAM DLL Settings: (option 1(default) / option 2) - no idea what this is
DRAM Timing Selectable (SPD): (manual / auto) – currently on auto ‘cause I only know what the first 4 of these are
CAS Latency Time: (auto / 4~10)
DRAM RAS# to CAS# Delay: (auto / 1~15)
DRAM RAS# Precharge: (auto / 1~15)
Precharge delay (tRAS): (auto / 1~31)
ACT to ACT Delay (tRRD): (auto / 1~15)
Rank Write To READ Delay: (auto / 1~31)
Write To Precharge Delay: (auto / 1~31)
Refresh to ACT Delay: (0~255 (default 0))
Read To Precharge Delay: (auto / 1~15)
tRD: (auto / 1~31)
tRD Phase Adjustment: (auto / 1~31)
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #7  
Old 11-16-2007, 11:18 AM
mactabilis mactabilis is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 317557
mactabilis Reputation: 10
Default

Is that my kitchen side unit you took the photos on looks just like it

Great pics and info bachus_anonym
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #8  
Old 11-16-2007, 03:00 PM
madFive madFive is offline
Registered User
madFive's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 317613
madFive Reputation: 10
Default

K - after looking over the gigabyte bios settings above, it's making alot more sense - looks like once i get my fsb set to 400, i should be able to use the same settings the rest of the way. The main problem i'm having with the mb/bios is that it won't let me set the fsb to anything other than 333 even with host frequency set to manual. I'm using the F4a bios version, which is just a little newer than the one above - looks the same tho.

I think i have both CIA2 and PerformanceEnhance set to medium-type settings, but i noticed that in the above settings CIA2 is off and PE is set to extreme. Should using those settings allow adjustable fsb, or do i have a different problem?
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #9  
Old 01-07-2008, 01:44 PM
madFive madFive is offline
Registered User
madFive's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 325299
madFive Reputation: 10
Default

Wow - suprised this topic hasn't gotten allot more traffic since i was here last.

Quick update: I was finally able to get my fsb up to 400 - the gigabyte bios is a little confusing and inconsistant - you have to type the speed into the main screen instead of hitting the forward button to open the extra window...

Once i had the fsb at the correct speed the rest of the numbers pretty-much fell into place - no voltage adjustments required! The TWIN3X2048-1600C7DHXIN has been working at the full 1600x7-7-7-20 for over a month now and is completely stable!

thx again for the info here.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #10  
Old 02-26-2008, 01:19 PM
OBR OBR is offline
Registered User
OBR's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 333134
OBR Reputation: 10
Default hi i have problem with 1800C7 Dominators ...

Hi i have set of these RAM, but i cant to reach stable frequency 1800MHz at any settings ...

I tried 20-7-7-7 at any voltages (2.0, 2.1,2.2V), 24-8-8-8, 24-9-9-9 CPC 2, and system is not stable ... i lower cpu multi, and everything because i am not noob at Ocing ...

Board is Maximus Extreme ...
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #11  
Old 03-08-2008, 09:43 AM
IzeB IzeB is offline
Registered User
IzeB's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 31
POST ID # = 335293
IzeB Reputation: 10
Default

I have Asus Maximus Extreme, Corsair TWIN3X2048-1800C7DFIN G(4gb), and
Intel Core 2 quad qx9650 extreme.
Given up on the motherboard, it's simply to hard for to get it work, even at lower memory frequenzies it freezes, reboots, refuses to and a much more funny stuff.

Bachus_anonym, seems you know you way around in this Jungle, considering memoris and CPU that I have, is there stable Motherboard for these, that don't require me be an over clocking God

I even phoned Giga-Byte but they couldn't give me any answers.
All hope now stands with compentent guys like youself that really have clue to finding out what works or not.
The manufacterers just do so much testing, the rest is up to endusers, and you should get paid for your efforts.
I thank you for your efforts so, I wished I'd asked you before byeing $5000 hardware that don't work together. Allthough both MB, CPU and Memory are listed at each Manufaturer as compatible, it's not a walk in a park getting it start at all!
So if you could recommend a Mboard for my stuff I'd be delighted, I don't have to run the memories at 1800Mhz, would be nice, but I would be happy just getting it work at all now.
Cya
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #12  
Old 03-08-2008, 04:55 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 31,999
POST ID # = 335352
Wired Reputation: 16
Default

Corsair can't recommend motherboards, but if you read the first post, he does mention what motherboards he tested with personally as of the date / time of his post.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #13  
Old 10-13-2008, 07:42 PM
JOCKTHEGLIDE JOCKTHEGLIDE is offline
Registered User
JOCKTHEGLIDE's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 38
POST ID # = 371082
JOCKTHEGLIDE Reputation: 10
Default

I could be wrong, but I believe you and I have almost the same specs minus the chip spec as motherboard and ram? I was able to get 1800mhz. Stable runs running prime and memtest........
Quote:
Originally Posted by IzeB View Post
I have Asus Maximus Extreme, Corsair TWIN3X2048-1800C7DFIN G(4gb), and
Intel Core 2 quad qx9650 extreme.
Given up on the motherboard, it's simply to hard for to get it work, even at lower memory frequenzies it freezes, reboots, refuses to and a much more funny stuff.

Bachus_anonym, seems you know you way around in this Jungle, considering memoris and CPU that I have, is there stable Motherboard for these, that don't require me be an over clocking God

I even phoned Giga-Byte but they couldn't give me any answers.
All hope now stands with compentent guys like youself that really have clue to finding out what works or not.
The manufacterers just do so much testing, the rest is up to endusers, and you should get paid for your efforts.
I thank you for your efforts so, I wished I'd asked you before byeing $5000 hardware that don't work together. Allthough both MB, CPU and Memory are listed at each Manufaturer as compatible, it's not a walk in a park getting it start at all!
So if you could recommend a Mboard for my stuff I'd be delighted, I don't have to run the memories at 1800Mhz, would be nice, but I would be happy just getting it work at all now.
Cya
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.