The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Voyager Air and USB Flash Drives

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 12 votes, 4.67 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-14-2006, 07:29 PM
stev's Avatar
stev stev is offline
Registered User
stev's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 544
POST ID # = 273002
stev Reputation: 10
Excited microSD-1Gb - Data Error (cyclic redundancy check)

Hi RamGuy!

Last week I had purchased a 1Gb MicroSD device (CMFSDMICRO-1GB) from NewEgg for my son's Virgin Mobile Kyocera Kx5b, Sonic Slider cell phone.

The shipment arrived well packed and safe. He used the phone to format the card. Everything looked very well. The phone stated the card had 1017Mb of space. Next, the tiny microSD fit well into the microSD adapter and was recognized in the eMachines computer card reader. So, he went to copy about 346Mb of data to it. The process took a little time to complete.

Once the microSD was placed back into the phone, things were listed there but were not accessible. Our next quest was to search the web and found out that most everyone first formats these types of microSD/transflash cards in the computer. So, we went back to the eMachines card reader and tried to format the microSD. WindowsXP could not format the microSD card. It mentioned that the card was "read-only." I thought, OK, he forgot to move the white tab from LOCK to UNLOCK. Well, the adaptor was in the UNLOCK state with the white switch. Now that was so strange. I then moved the white switch back and forth to see if that would resolve any mechanical issues. Nope.

So, the data wasn't readable by the phone, but the computer displayed it. We tried to access the data via the computer, but it now gave this error and then that file disappeared! "Data Error (cyclic redundancy check)." Every time we accessed a file on the card, it would disappear and give that error. This was getting really strange.

Are there any solutions for this?

Peace!

Stev
The HydroCool Guy! :)
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #2  
Old 12-15-2006, 12:28 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,290
POST ID # = 273078
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Hey Stev!
I would try and format the card from a command prompt in your desktop system using this syntax:
Format (X:) /FS:FAT32 /U (X=the drive letter assigned to the Flash Voyager)
If that does not work then please contact our Customer Service and we will be happy to replace it!
Please use the RMA request found in TSXpress or follow the link in my signature “I think I have a bad part!” and we will be happy to replace them or it! And please note that you are from the forum!
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #3  
Old 12-15-2006, 08:31 PM
stev's Avatar
stev stev is offline
Registered User
stev's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 544
POST ID # = 273195
stev Reputation: 10
Wink

Ram Guy,

Now that's an idea, format via the command prompt.

When my son gets home from babysitting we'll give it a try.

Thanks!

Stev
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #4  
Old 12-18-2006, 02:04 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,290
POST ID # = 273516
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Please let me know how you make out!
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #5  
Old 12-26-2006, 01:16 PM
stev's Avatar
stev stev is offline
Registered User
stev's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 544
POST ID # = 274701
stev Reputation: 10
Excited

Ram Guy,

Well, I tried your advise using the Format (X:) /FS:FAT32 /U (X=the drive letter assigned to the memory card.)

This is the results:

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
<C> Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\USER-01> format f: /fs:fat32 /u
Insert new disk for drive F:
and press ENTER when ready...
The type of the file system is FAT.
The new file system is FAT32.
Verifying 970M
--- NOTE: it reads 1 percent complete to 100 percent complete while formatting, then at the end is the following message:
Invalid media or Track 0 bad - disk unusable.

I'll try the TSXpress.

On a separate note, the format trick worked on a fussy Seagate drive I couldn't get to work in XP before.

Stev
The Hydrocool Guy :)
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #6  
Old 12-26-2006, 03:44 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,290
POST ID # = 274733
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Let's get it replaced. Please use the RMA request found in TSXpress or follow the link in my signature “I think I have a bad part!” and we will be happy to replace them or it! And please note that you are from the forum!
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #7  
Old 12-29-2006, 06:42 AM
Need More RWHP Need More RWHP is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 275166
Need More RWHP Reputation: 10
Default

You might consider using a different card reader. I didn't think it mattered at all, but it made a HUGE difference in speed in my case.

I was using generic card reader, then I got a SanDisk MobileMate SD+ for my laptop and I compared the speed using different cards and it gave me like 1/3 gain in speed for all cards of all brands.

So, I wouldn't be surprised if a junk card reader causes data trouble especially when you have adapter business going on. The MobileMate SD+ is like $15 at Best Buy and it can directly accept MicroSD. It looks like a USB flashdrive with slots on the side for inserting the card.

The white switch on the side has no electrical function and it simply pushes in a tab inside the reader, so if it is not detecting properly, it is your reader. For formatting, I recommend using Panasonic SD Formatter, which you can download for free. Google it.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #8  
Old 01-04-2007, 07:14 AM
stev's Avatar
stev stev is offline
Registered User
stev's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 544
POST ID # = 276115
stev Reputation: 10
Default

Need More RWHP,

I think that you hit the wrong thread to reply to. The question was just above thread here in the forums.

Stev
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #9  
Old 02-03-2007, 12:46 AM
stev's Avatar
stev stev is offline
Registered User
stev's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 544
POST ID # = 281508
stev Reputation: 10
Excited

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
Let's get it replaced. Please use the RMA request found in TSXpress or follow the link in my signature “I think I have a bad part!” and we will be happy to replace them or it! And please note that you are from the forum!
He-he. I just received the replacement today. Not bad for nearly a 30 day turn around. There was a mix-up at the Corsair office, once I called x-279, they got it resolved instantly.

I made sure the Virgin Mobile phone "Sonic Slider" did NOT format the microSD. Rather, I used your advice of Format (X:) /FS:FAT32 /U (X=the drive letter assigned) to the microSD card in the SD jacket via the Windows "MS-DOS Command prompt."

Everything thus far is working. We'll see how it holds up in the next few days.

Good work guys!

Peace!

Stev
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #10  
Old 02-05-2007, 01:02 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,290
POST ID # = 281685
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

NP please let me know if you have any more questions!
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #11  
Old 06-05-2007, 08:13 PM
stev's Avatar
stev stev is offline
Registered User
stev's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 544
POST ID # = 298175
stev Reputation: 10
Sly

Ram Guy,

This is just a follow up to the replacement microSD. It's still working well over these last few months without any issues.

Peace!

Stev
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #12  
Old 06-06-2007, 11:16 AM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,290
POST ID # = 298222
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Great and thank you for letting me know!
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.