The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Keyboards and Mice

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 51 votes, 4.98 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-18-2014, 07:59 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,535
POST ID # = 728612
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default Corsair RGB Keyboard USB Connection Requirements

Connecting via USB 3.0

Use one connector (the one with the keyboard icon) when connecting via USB 3.0



Connecting via USB 2.0

Use both connectors when using USB 2.0. Important Note: Plug in the connector with the two arrows icon first, and the connector with the keyboard icon second.

Last edited by Corsair James; 09-19-2014 at 08:49 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 09-18-2014, 10:42 PM
Daftendirekt2 Daftendirekt2 is offline
Registered User
Daftendirekt2's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Earth
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 728646
Daftendirekt2 Reputation: 10
Default

I...... I think this fixed the lock keys freezing. I can now press my caps lock key in peace.



Thank you almighty Yellowbeard

Last edited by Daftendirekt2; 09-18-2014 at 10:45 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 09-18-2014, 10:55 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,535
POST ID # = 728647
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daftendirekt2 View Post
I...... I think this fixed the lock keys freezing. I can now press my caps lock key in peace.



Thank you almighty Yellowbeard
If you verify this, please let us know for sure.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 09-18-2014, 11:03 PM
Daftendirekt2 Daftendirekt2 is offline
Registered User
Daftendirekt2's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Earth
Posts: 16
POST ID # = 728648
Daftendirekt2 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yellowbeard View Post
If you verify this, please let us know for sure.
Yep. I can now verify that plugging it in via USB 3.0 will not make the keyboard freeze after pressing any of the lock keys.

When plugged in through USB 3.0, I was able to spam all of the lock keys for a minute straight and none of them caused the keyboard to freeze. I also noticed that the software detects the keyboard much quicker through USB 3.0 and starts up the lighting profile almost instantly when the keyboard powers on.

However, when I plugged it in to USB 2.0 while following the correct procedures, spamming the caps lock key caused the keyboard to freeze in a matter of seconds.

Looks like I'll keep it plugged into the USB 3.0 port until a fix comes along.

I'm not sure about this fixing the other issues though since the lock keys causing the keyboard to freeze was the main issue I had.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 09-18-2014, 11:10 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,535
POST ID # = 728650
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daftendirekt2 View Post
Looks like I'll keep it plugged into the USB 3.0 port until a fix comes along.
Unless I am mistaken, this not something that will be resolved with a "fix". This is simply the current difference between the USB 2.0 spec (500ma) va the USB 3.0 spec (900ma).

You simply have to use your USB ports as described above.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 09-19-2014, 06:10 PM
nitz nitz is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 728770
nitz Reputation: 10
Default

I've got mine with just the Keyboard Connector in USB 3.0, and I'm still having the issues.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 09-20-2014, 01:19 AM
Stoggy26 Stoggy26 is offline
Registered User
Stoggy26's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 143
POST ID # = 728811
Stoggy26 Reputation: 20
Default

Tried the keyboard connector in usb 3.0 said malfunction
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 09-20-2014, 06:45 PM
Dredge Dredge is offline
Registered User
Dredge's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 38
POST ID # = 728923
Dredge Reputation: 20
Default

Still screwed up.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 09-23-2014, 04:13 PM
MagicalPoop MagicalPoop is offline
Registered User
MagicalPoop's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 729640
MagicalPoop Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yellowbeard View Post
Unless I am mistaken, this not something that will be resolved with a "fix". This is simply the current difference between the USB 2.0 spec (500ma) va the USB 3.0 spec (900ma).

You simply have to use your USB ports as described above.
I have my keyboard plugged into the USB 3.0 port as you described and the lights still freeze when spamming the caps lock button.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 09-23-2014, 04:47 PM
Protocol48's Avatar
Protocol48 Protocol48 is offline
Registered User
Protocol48's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Pomona, NY
Posts: 148
POST ID # = 729644
Protocol48 Reputation: 14
Default Help on a flawlessly working K70 RGB Keyboard changing to USB 3.0 and a compliment

I complain a lot, but I give credit where it is due.
My Corsair K70 RGB keyboard has worked flawlessly since the moment I connected it! It is a Home Run, Corsair!
Now, if I disconnect my already working K70 RGB keyboard from my last two USB 2.0 ports, and only re-connect the one "keyboard" plug into a USB 3.0 port:
I know that USB 3.0 provides more power and speeds communication, but does it in any way slow or speed the keyboard communication, as opposed to two USB 2.0 plugs?
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 09-23-2014, 04:49 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,535
POST ID # = 729645
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

There is no performance difference when using USB 2.0 vs 3.0. The second USB 2.0 connector is solely for power requirements.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 09-24-2014, 11:13 AM
Protocol48's Avatar
Protocol48 Protocol48 is offline
Registered User
Protocol48's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Pomona, NY
Posts: 148
POST ID # = 729850
Protocol48 Reputation: 14
Default

Thanks Yellowbeard!.
I need those 2 USB 2.0 ports for other devices.
Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #13  
Old 09-26-2014, 12:20 AM
n0x1ous n0x1ous is offline
Registered User
n0x1ous's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 18
POST ID # = 730485
n0x1ous Reputation: 10
Default

Yellowbeard,

I have the K65 RGB and I have two PC's that I like to switch between. I have a USB 3.0 hot swap switch to achieve this. it is fully USB 3.0 compliant so should be able to deliver the 900ma. I am currently using it and its working fine, but just wanted to check in and see if you think there would be any long term issues using something like this?

Here is the product that I use.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 09-26-2014, 12:48 AM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,535
POST ID # = 730488
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by n0x1ous View Post
Yellowbeard,

I have the K65 RGB and I have two PC's that I like to switch between. I have a USB 3.0 hot swap switch to achieve this. it is fully USB 3.0 compliant so should be able to deliver the 900ma. I am currently using it and its working fine, but just wanted to check in and see if you think there would be any long term issues using something like this?

Here is the product that I use.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
I can't see why you'd have any issues. But, I do know we have not tested under that usage.
Reply With Quote


  #15  
Old 09-26-2014, 07:44 PM
ChrisGoesPewPew ChrisGoesPewPew is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 730751
ChrisGoesPewPew Reputation: 10
Default

Is there any advantage to having the 3.0 and 2.0 plugged in?
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.