The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Customer Service > Warranty Questions

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-09-2013, 10:00 PM
Donel Donel is offline
Registered User
Donel's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 673777
Donel Reputation: 10
Default HX850 (CMPSU-850HX) Warranty Questions

Hi everybody.

I have an HX850 (the 80 Plus Silver version), which was bought at Amazon US in February 2010. A few days ago, it simply stopped working. All the motherboard LEDs are on, but the PC won't start at all. No boot, no POST, no fans spinning, nothing, not even for a short period of time.

Debug steps I have done:

- Checked all the cables (ATX 24 pin, CPU 4/8 pin, etc)
- Tried to power on the computer through the motherboard button instead of the case's front panel
- Tried to power on the computer with as few components as possible.
- Used a paper clip to bridge the green wire to a black wire on the ATX 24 pin cable, so the power supply could turn itself on without the motherboard.

None of the above seemed to help.

Does this sound like a PSU problem? I think it is curious that the motherboard LEDs are on, even if the PSU doesn't start. Maybe only the 12V and 5V rails stopped working, but the 5V standby rail is still ok, since I can also recharge USB devices.


Now about the warranty:

- I live in Brazil, do I really have to send the defective PSU to Corsair USA or can I send it to Corsair Brasil? The shipping from Brazil to USA for the PSU is really expensive, 33$ by the cheapest method and 59$ by EMS. Is there anything you can do to help me in this regard?

- Would it be possible to get an AX860 as a replacement for the HX850, even if I have to pay a little more for it?

- How does Express Replacement work? Will the credit card be charged at any moment or is it just a warranty?



My PC specs are in my signature. The peripherals are:

- Razer Deathadder 2013 + Razer eXactMat
- CM Storm Trigger with Cherry MX Brown switches
- Audio Technica ATH-AD700
- Xbox 360 Controller Special Edition (with the improved D-Pad) + Microsoft Wireless Receiver


Thanks.

Last edited by Donel; 09-10-2013 at 06:27 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-11-2013, 08:02 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,289
POST ID # = 674078
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Does this sound like a PSU problem? I think it is curious that the motherboard LEDs are on, even if the PSU doesn't start. Maybe only the 12V and 5V rails stopped working, but the 5V standby rail is still ok, since I can also recharge USB devices.
A: It may be I would suggest unplugging everything except a HDD and case fan that connects to the PSU and try the Paper Clip test.

Quote:
-Does this sound like a PSU problem? I think it is curious that the motherboard LEDs are on, even if the PSU doesn't start. Maybe only the 12V and 5V rails stopped working, but the 5V standby rail is still ok, since I can also recharge USB devices.
I live in Brazil, do I really have to send the defective PSU to Corsair USA or can I send it to Corsair Brasil? The shipping from Brazil to USA for the PSU is really expensive, 33$ by the cheapest method and 59$ by EMS. Is there anything you can do to help me in this regard?
A: I am sorry about that but there is nothing we can do from Tech support, but you are welcome to try your reseller and see if they will help you or call our customer service by phone and see what they might be able to do. You can call the toll free number listed under Contact on www.corsair.com for free using SKYPE.
Quote:
- Would it be possible to get an AX860 as a replacement for the HX850, even if I have to pay a little more for it?
A: I am sorry but we can only replace with the same model that is sent in for an RMA.

Quote:
- How does Express Replacement work? Will the credit card be charged at any moment or is it just a warranty?
A: They will put a hold on your credit card for the PSU and release the hold when the defective unit is returned.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-12-2013, 09:36 AM
Donel Donel is offline
Registered User
Donel's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 674143
Donel Reputation: 10
Default

Well, I guess the problem is not on the PSU.

I did the paper clip test with a lot of fans, HDDs, SSDs, all of tem worked fine.

But when I connect the PSU to the motherboard, nothing works.

Do you have any idea of what can be the problem?

I tested with 2 different VGAs and 6 different memory modules, no luck in any try.

Sounds more like a CPU or motherboard problem? Would a Clear CMOS help in this case?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-12-2013, 11:12 AM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,289
POST ID # = 674157
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

If you can I would try another PSU on your system and see if it will post and did you try and bypass the power switch on your case?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-12-2013, 11:11 PM
Donel Donel is offline
Registered User
Donel's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 674238
Donel Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
If you can I would try another PSU on your system and see if it will post
Ok, I'll try that.


Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
and did you try and bypass the power switch on your case?
Yes, I did. I tried to turn the computer on by the motherboard's power button.




What happens if all of the PC components are ok but the CPU? The PC should at least turn on and give some beeps, no?
Because if it should, then I can discard the CPU as the problematic component.

Looking at my mothearboard's manual, it shoud give me some beeps if the problem was RAM or VGA.

So either I have a faulty Motherboard, PSU or CPU (depending on the answer for the first question).

Last edited by Donel; 09-13-2013 at 12:59 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-13-2013, 12:41 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,289
POST ID # = 674305
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
What happens if all of the PC components are ok but the CPU? The PC should at least turn on and give some beeps, no?
Because if it should, then I can discard the CPU as the problematic component.

Looking at my mothearboard's manual, it shoud give me some beeps if the problem was RAM or VGA.

So either I have a faulty Motherboard, PSU or CPU (depending on the answer for the first question).
Yes but that is assuming the MB and CPU are working properly, if the MB or CPU are the issue then the Post beeps may not function properly. I would try another PSU and see where you go from there. If you do need to RMA the PSU please use the link on the left to request an RMA and we can get it replaced. You can even request an Express RMA with a credit card to get the replacement sent our before sending the old PSU in if you like.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-16-2013, 09:49 AM
Donel Donel is offline
Registered User
Donel's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 674663
Donel Reputation: 10
Default

You won't believe in where the problem is.

The ATX cable was not fitting well on the motherboard connector. A little earlier today I managed to make it fit well, turned the PC on and everything worked fine, but when I turned the PC off and did some cable management, I wasn't able to make it fit correctly anymore.

Seriously, I have tried everything, but the cable doesn't fit well anymore. It fits, but there is no "click" sound. Very strange.

Have you ever seen a problem like that before?

Any tip?

The cable and the motherboard's connector look fine, so I don't know what's happening.


EDIT: I must force the ATX connector to the outside of the motherboard for it to make good contact (as the image bellow ilustrates), but it won't stay there if I release it.



Do you think the problem is in the motherboard's connector or in the ATX cable connector?

Last edited by Donel; 09-18-2013 at 10:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-18-2013, 10:28 AM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 674950
peanutz94 Reputation: 82
Default

Quote:
Have you ever seen a problem like that before?

Any tip?

The cable and the motherboard connector look fine, so I don't know what's happening.
Thats not an uncommon problem. It may take quite a bit of force to get it to click. You might have to undo your cables if you have a sharp bend close to the connector.
__________________
NO, I do not work for Corsair! But I am an official forum helper.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-18-2013, 10:56 AM
Donel Donel is offline
Registered User
Donel's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 674958
Donel Reputation: 10
Default

It's simply impossible.

I have diassembled my PC tons of times, and it was never very difficult to make it fit. I don't think it is simply a lack of force.


I think some wires are not inserted well enough in the right side of the connector. I will buy an NZXT ATX extensor to see if it helps, if it doesn't, then the problem is probably in the motherboard's connector.

Last edited by Donel; 09-19-2013 at 09:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.