The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD)

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-04-2013, 05:33 AM
JPP JPP is offline
Registered User
JPP's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 650973
JPP Reputation: 10
Default The new Corsair SSD toolbox

It's nifty!

You should announce it more loudly, it will no doubt make life easier for both users and supporters. ;)

I found the link hidden in this post: http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showpost...6&postcount=20

Last edited by JPP; 05-04-2013 at 05:36 AM.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #2  
Old 05-04-2013, 03:25 PM
geost geost is offline
Registered User
geost's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 651058
geost Reputation: 10
Default

Eh, utility is ok but you can tell it's new. You can tell it's v1.0 like it says. But regardless it's a step in the right direction..

Also, clicking the Optimize "Start" button to run the TRIM command doesn't work. Just tells me it's not supported. Is this normal?

Last edited by geost; 05-04-2013 at 03:31 PM.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #3  
Old 05-04-2013, 07:32 PM
Technobeard's Avatar
Technobeard Technobeard is offline
Bearded Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,271
POST ID # = 651090
Technobeard Reputation: 47
Default

JPP: I'd wager a sticky will go up sometime next week about it.

geost:
1 - What type of suggestions do you have?
2 - Works for me. Is your SSD on a SATA port that is in IDE or RAID mode? Is the SSD on an AMD or a marvell SATA port?
__________________
“Humor is reason gone mad.” - Groucho Marx
"I suggest a full frontal assault with automated laser monkeys, scalpel mines and acid." - Psychotic potato dwarf
"Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, especially simian ones. They are not all that subtle." - Terry Pratchett
"Don't mind if I do!" [Goes crazy] - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #4  
Old 05-06-2013, 12:23 PM
Technobeard's Avatar
Technobeard Technobeard is offline
Bearded Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,271
POST ID # = 651419
Technobeard Reputation: 47
Default

Threads split guys.
Four_X - http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=118299
Incriminated - http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=118298
antonyfrn - http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=118301
dejan - http://forum.corsair.com/forums/showthread.php?t=118300
__________________
“Humor is reason gone mad.” - Groucho Marx
"I suggest a full frontal assault with automated laser monkeys, scalpel mines and acid." - Psychotic potato dwarf
"Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, especially simian ones. They are not all that subtle." - Terry Pratchett
"Don't mind if I do!" [Goes crazy] - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #5  
Old 05-06-2013, 10:14 PM
geost geost is offline
Registered User
geost's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 651562
geost Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technobeard View Post
JPP: I'd wager a sticky will go up sometime next week about it.

geost:
1 - What type of suggestions do you have?
2 - Works for me. Is your SSD on a SATA port that is in IDE or RAID mode? Is the SSD on an AMD or a marvell SATA port?
To tell you the truth I'm not sure but I have the motherboard listed in my specs using AHCI mode and I'm assuming just the AMD SATA port. I just put together this build (coming from a Core i5-750) a few days ago so I'm too familiar with the exact specs yet.

I read other posts and it looks like Windows 8 doesn't support TRIM, hence why I'm getting that "unsupported" error. I wonder why..? The Windows 8 "optimize" works fine though.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #6  
Old 05-06-2013, 11:05 PM
Technobeard's Avatar
Technobeard Technobeard is offline
Bearded Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,271
POST ID # = 651577
Technobeard Reputation: 47
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geost View Post
I read other posts and it looks like Windows 8 doesn't support TRIM, hence why I'm getting that "unsupported" error. I wonder why..? The Windows 8 "optimize" works fine though.
Windows 7 (and therefore 8) supports TRIM.

On Windows 8 (32/64 bit), all SSD Toolbox functions EXCEPT for TRIM are currently supported.
__________________
“Humor is reason gone mad.” - Groucho Marx
"I suggest a full frontal assault with automated laser monkeys, scalpel mines and acid." - Psychotic potato dwarf
"Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, especially simian ones. They are not all that subtle." - Terry Pratchett
"Don't mind if I do!" [Goes crazy] - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.