The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-27-2013, 05:23 AM
BigRamSeeker BigRamSeeker is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 629572
BigRamSeeker Reputation: 10
Default cmsx16gx3m2a1600c10 work with Mac Mini i5?

I ordered a 2-stick set (which I'm guessing these sticks are 8gb / piece). I installed 3 times but still get beeping when starting my mac. When I replace with original 2g-per-stick ram, the mac mini starts right up. What's the problem?

I bought the Mac Mini new last week (Jan 18, 2013).
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 01-27-2013, 09:33 AM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 629588
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

I'm sorry , but those modules are not Apple certified and may not work correctly with that system. It would be best to return them or purchase the memory directly from Apple in this case
This would be the only 16gig kit that is Apple certified that Corsair would have to offer.
(CMSA16GX3M2A1600C11)

Just to be sure, did you reset the BIOS/PRAM before inserting the new modules?
__________________
NO, I do not work for Corsair! But I am an official forum helper.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 01-27-2013, 11:38 AM
BigRamSeeker BigRamSeeker is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 629609
BigRamSeeker Reputation: 10
Default

No, I did not reset the Bios Pram. Could someone offer me instruction on how to do so?

(I assumed it was plug n play. Physically replace the ram sticks and power on. I guess I'm missing one step.)
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 01-27-2013, 11:45 AM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 629610
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

I can't say for sure that will cure the issue. But that should be covered in your owners manual or found on APPLE's site or forums. I'm not all that familiar with the mac mini to begin with.

But yes, resetting the BIOS can often help because sometimes the settings from the previous memory get stuck and try to apply themselves to the new memory which may not be a match. So resetting the BIOS should flush those "leftovers" out.
You may also want to see if there is a new BIOS/FW offered for that too. I really don't know if there is or not.
__________________
NO, I do not work for Corsair! But I am an official forum helper.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.