The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Keyboards and Mice

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-22-2012, 01:45 PM
brackstone brackstone is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 621293
brackstone Reputation: 10
Default M60 Firmware Update Problems

THIS HAS BEEN RESOLVED. I had to plug my mouse into a different computer to update the firmware because the system I built apparently only has 3.0 ports.

Whenever I try to update my Firmware I get the error message. "Set firmware update mode failed!"

I tried following the steps in the Firmware Problems thread but I think most of it does not apply to my prolbme.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LordLobo View Post
STEPS:
1) Make sure you have the K90_setup_beta2.12_010602 driver kit unzipped somewhere.
2) MOST IMPORTANT STEP Go to Start->Control Panel->Power Options->Change Plan Settings->Change Advanced Power Settings->USB Settings->USB selective suspend setting->Disabled
3) Plug your K90 into a DIRECT USB 2.0 PORT on your machine.
After this I don't think the steps seem to apply to me. My Mouse is called "Corsair M60 Gaming Mouse". It's not a generic or unrecognized device.

These Steps don't apply to me because I don't have the drivers? I just downloaded the software and m60 firmware update package.
Quote:
4) Go to Start->Devices and Printers.
5) Right-click on KBD BOOT LOADER and select 'Properties'
6) Click on the Hardware tab. You should see 'HID Keyboard Device' and another item (I forgot what it says, but it shouldn't say 'Corsair Gaming Keyboard'). Select the other item, then click 'Properties'
7) Click on the 'Change Settings' button on the first page of the Properties dialog
8) Click on 'Update Driver'
9) Select 'Browse my computer for driver software'
10) Select 'Let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer'
11) Click 'Have Disk' It might look for your a: drive first (good old windows)
12) In the box 'copy manufacturer's files from put 'C:\Program Files (x86)\corsair\K90 firmware update\Driver\X64'
13) You should be able to select the Corsair driver somehow. When your done Your 'KBD BOOT LOADER' properties should have 'Corsair Gaming Keyboard' and 'HID Keyboard Device'
14) Select the HID Keyboard Device
15) Click 'Change Settings'
16) Click the Driver Tab
17) Click 'Uninstall'. Windows will cry about this. Let it do it's thing
18) Once you 'OK' everything they K90 won't work at all. DON'T PANIC! You should also not see KBD BOOT LOADER in Devices and Printers
19) UNINSTALL K90 EVERYTHING
20) Run 'K90FirmwareUpdate_v107.exe' from the driver package
21) When setup is done, run the Firmware Updater and fire it off.
22) OH YEAH - It should complete at this point. Your keyboard won't light up just now. DON'T PANIC!
23) Unplug the K90 from it's current port. Plug it into another one.
24) Run 'K90 setup beta.2.12 010612.exe'.
25) Keyboard should light up. All keys should work. Enjoy the fact that you don't need to ship your $120 keyboard anywhere, and you have some sweet clicky justice!

Last edited by Technobeard; 12-24-2012 at 02:49 AM. Reason: clarified quoted areas
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #2  
Old 12-22-2012, 07:44 PM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 10,781
POST ID # = 621349
Toasted Reputation: 66
Default

Have you tried plugging it into a USB 2.0 port?
Have you tried running the updater as admin?
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #3  
Old 12-23-2012, 01:11 AM
brackstone brackstone is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 621394
brackstone Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
Have you tried plugging it into a USB 2.0 port?
Have you tried running the updater as admin?
I've tried both the front and rear ports on my computer and that did not help.

I've also ran it as admin that didn't help either :\
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #4  
Old 12-23-2012, 06:06 PM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 10,781
POST ID # = 621489
Toasted Reputation: 66
Default

Try the update on another computer.
Latest BIOS and drivers?
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #5  
Old 12-23-2012, 08:24 PM
brackstone brackstone is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 621504
brackstone Reputation: 10
Default

I checked and ALL of the ports on my computer appear to be USB 3.0

I was able to update my firmware once I hooked it up to an old laptop. Corsair you really have to address this as more mobos are shipping with 3.0
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #6  
Old 01-02-2013, 01:50 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,297
POST ID # = 623006
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

We don't see issues with native Intel USB 3.0 ports, only with third party USB 3.0 which are on any boards that is not using a Z77 chipset.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.