The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Audio

Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-08-2012, 10:19 PM
TeslaMonger's Avatar
TeslaMonger TeslaMonger is offline
Registered User
TeslaMonger's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth, Milky Way Galaxy.
Posts: 95
POST ID # = 612469
TeslaMonger Reputation: 10
Default Corsair Vengeance 2000 Cracked

As an issue many others are having, the plastic on the inner side of my Vengeance 2000's cracked. This seems to be an extremely common issue after looking on several retailer's online reviews tab, and looking at the Corsair forums. Since this seems to happen so regularly, I do not wish to RMA my product unless Corsair has changed the design/added support to that part of the headset. So I'm here to ask, has that happened yet, or is there any information on Corsair working to resolve this issue?
I'm really trying to hold back on RMAing my unit, I don't want to be in an endless cycle of RMA.

Last edited by TeslaMonger; 04-30-2013 at 11:40 PM.


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #2  
Old 11-09-2012, 04:37 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 10,827
POST ID # = 612500
Toasted Reputation: 66
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
On a side note though, how are you pulling the headset to have it cracking? I've used mine for months now and never had such an issue. The V2000 actually has a very very low return rate, and even lower for physical damage.
Source: Thread


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #3  
Old 11-09-2012, 06:13 PM
TeslaMonger's Avatar
TeslaMonger TeslaMonger is offline
Registered User
TeslaMonger's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth, Milky Way Galaxy.
Posts: 95
POST ID # = 612610
TeslaMonger Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
Source: Thread
I am putting it on and taking it off just like any other headset I have ever used in my life, and I've never had problems with breaking them. I always have it set at 3 notches, also I've never dropped it. It's quite expensive so I haven't been abusing it.
But something I have realized is that everyone who seems to have broken who posted on the corsair forms had it snap in the exact same place, that applies to me as well. I'm going with the assumption that it simply does not have proper reinforcement for that area, as I cannot think of anything else.


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #4  
Old 11-12-2012, 08:01 PM
TeslaMonger's Avatar
TeslaMonger TeslaMonger is offline
Registered User
TeslaMonger's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth, Milky Way Galaxy.
Posts: 95
POST ID # = 613103
TeslaMonger Reputation: 10
Default

On second thought, it looks as if I'm going to be forced to RMA it. The other side is starting to crack as well and I'm afraid to put the headset on and cause it to break.
Will most likely send in a RMA request this week.


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #5  
Old 11-13-2012, 12:47 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,296
POST ID # = 613240
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

When you submit your RMA, let me know your case number and I'll approve it.


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #6  
Old 11-14-2012, 06:53 PM
TeslaMonger's Avatar
TeslaMonger TeslaMonger is offline
Registered User
TeslaMonger's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth, Milky Way Galaxy.
Posts: 95
POST ID # = 613551
TeslaMonger Reputation: 10
Default

Would I let you know here on this thread, or would I PM you?


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #7  
Old 11-14-2012, 06:57 PM
Technobeard's Avatar
Technobeard Technobeard is offline
Bearded Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,297
POST ID # = 613552
Technobeard Reputation: 47
Default

Post the case number in this thread.
__________________
“Humor is reason gone mad.” - Groucho Marx
"I suggest a full frontal assault with automated laser monkeys, scalpel mines and acid." - Psychotic potato dwarf
"Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, especially simian ones. They are not all that subtle." - Terry Pratchett
"Don't mind if I do!" [Goes crazy] - Homer Simpson


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #8  
Old 11-15-2012, 07:18 PM
TeslaMonger's Avatar
TeslaMonger TeslaMonger is offline
Registered User
TeslaMonger's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth, Milky Way Galaxy.
Posts: 95
POST ID # = 613750
TeslaMonger Reputation: 10
Default

Alright, case #5282422


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #9  
Old 11-16-2012, 01:07 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,296
POST ID # = 613898
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I have approved it for you.


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #10  
Old 11-16-2012, 02:31 PM
hapticyo hapticyo is offline
Registered User
hapticyo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 613934
hapticyo Reputation: 10
Default

Has that piece of the headphones been reinforced? I had this problem on both sides of my set within a month of receiving them and have felt cheated by corsair ever since. I have taped them up and now they don't fit correctly but I don't see a point in sending them back every couple of weeks to be fixed.

But you guys are repairing them so you're admitting a production flaw. Any news when/if it will be revised?


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #11  
Old 11-16-2012, 06:47 PM
TeslaMonger's Avatar
TeslaMonger TeslaMonger is offline
Registered User
TeslaMonger's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth, Milky Way Galaxy.
Posts: 95
POST ID # = 613996
TeslaMonger Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hapticyo View Post
Has that piece of the headphones been reinforced? I had this problem on both sides of my set within a month of receiving them and have felt cheated by corsair ever since. I have taped them up and now they don't fit correctly but I don't see a point in sending them back every couple of weeks to be fixed.

But you guys are repairing them so you're admitting a production flaw. Any news when/if it will be revised?
My thoughts exactly. I'm truly hoping for any words from Ram Guy on this matter :(


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #12  
Old 11-17-2012, 04:38 PM
TeslaMonger's Avatar
TeslaMonger TeslaMonger is offline
Registered User
TeslaMonger's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth, Milky Way Galaxy.
Posts: 95
POST ID # = 614111
TeslaMonger Reputation: 10
Default

So what do you guys think, should I put my headset back into its original packing and ship it in the box I got from NewEgg, or should I go out and buy a padded envelope?


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #13  
Old 11-17-2012, 08:33 PM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 10,827
POST ID # = 614159
Toasted Reputation: 66
Default

That would be fine, As long as the headset doesn't arrive damaged.

A padded envelope wouldn't be the best choice as it may not protect the headset from shipping damage.


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #14  
Old 11-19-2012, 02:29 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,296
POST ID # = 614374
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hapticyo View Post
Has that piece of the headphones been reinforced? I had this problem on both sides of my set within a month of receiving them and have felt cheated by corsair ever since. I have taped them up and now they don't fit correctly but I don't see a point in sending them back every couple of weeks to be fixed.

But you guys are repairing them so you're admitting a production flaw. Any news when/if it will be revised?
While there has been reports of it breaking, which always are going to be more visible in a forum, the number of headsets that break is very very very very small (think less than .01%) over the tens of thousands sold.

We are investigating each and every headset from RMA for the issue though to verify the issue but so far, most (not to say its true for you) have been isolated to physical damage, maybe even from shipping, and not a defective flaw.


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #15  
Old 11-20-2012, 12:10 AM
hapticyo hapticyo is offline
Registered User
hapticyo's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 614451
hapticyo Reputation: 10
Default

Well I do run my headsets fairly hard, as in they get worn 10 - 14 hours a day and while they are cordless they still get taken off a lot, but I take care of them. This is the only headset i've ever had physically break, either the wires in the boom or the "in line" volume control goes first.

I guess i'll contact the place I ordered them from and reference this thread, see what the guys say about it.


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.