The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Cases

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 9 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-14-2012, 05:13 PM
brigid21 brigid21 is offline
Registered User
brigid21's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 578318
brigid21 Reputation: 10
Default Corsair 500R new case first time builder

Can anyone please show me in detail how to plug in the 2 front fans and the side fan? The documentation that come with the case is very vague. Need detail pictures and/or diagram.
Thank you very much.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #2  
Old 05-14-2012, 06:57 PM
G50EED's Avatar
G50EED G50EED is offline
Registered User
G50EED's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 332
POST ID # = 578348
G50EED Reputation: 20
Default

The front two fans should already be connected. Follow their leads until you find where they are connected. That will show you what the connector looks like that they are attached to. You will find a third one that looks the same but which nothing is attached to. That's the one that the side fan will connect to once you are done with your build and are ready to close up the case. Before doing so, though, you should also find a molex connector dangling about which will need to be connected to your PSU. If you can't find it, simply trace the front fans' connections to their source then trace the remaining wires and you will find the one with the molex connector. I'm sorry; I know you wanted pictures but I'm not up to removing my PC from its resting place and opening it up again. Perhaps someone else can be more helpful. If you search YouTube you will find some 500R reviews that I think will help in conjunction with this reply.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #3  
Old 05-21-2012, 10:34 AM
Kemosabe Kemosabe is offline
Registered User
Kemosabe's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Corbin, Kentucky
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 579656
Kemosabe Reputation: 10
Default

Wow thanks for that info. I put in a tech support ticket just before coming here and reading this. You answered two of my three questions.

My other one was about the 1394 cable coming from the front control panel. I can't seem to figure out where to plug it in at on my ASRock Z77 Pro4 mb. I thought it might go into the Serial Port labeled Com1, but it doesn't match the missing pin spot. Only other place it can go is the USB2.0 header.

Waiting on tech support to answer that one, unless someone can look at my mb and help me figure it out.

http://www.asrock.com/mb/overview.asp?Model=Z77%20Pro4
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #4  
Old 05-21-2012, 06:25 PM
stratosrally stratosrally is offline
sketchiness abounds...
stratosrally's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 430
POST ID # = 579775
stratosrally Reputation: 10
Default

I just looked at the specs and the manual for your motherboard and I don't see any mention of an onboard 1394 header. You may need to get an add-on card if you plan on using that feature of your case.

BTW - look at page 32 of your manual (it's downloadable from the link you just posted) and it lists and diagrams all the onboard headers.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #5  
Old 05-21-2012, 08:16 PM
Kemosabe Kemosabe is offline
Registered User
Kemosabe's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Corbin, Kentucky
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 579792
Kemosabe Reputation: 10
Default

Cool, thanks for the help. I really don't understand why it even has a 1394 plug when it has USB 3.0
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #6  
Old 05-21-2012, 09:06 PM
G50EED's Avatar
G50EED G50EED is offline
Registered User
G50EED's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 332
POST ID # = 579803
G50EED Reputation: 20
Default

Absolutely, it's wasted space that could have been used for an additional USB 3 connector. I just tied the firewire cable together and tucked it out of sight.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #7  
Old 05-21-2012, 10:48 PM
stratosrally stratosrally is offline
sketchiness abounds...
stratosrally's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 430
POST ID # = 579810
stratosrally Reputation: 10
Default

I wish someone would release a computer case with modular front input panels. You can find cases with various combinations of eSATA, FireWire, USB 2.0 & 3.0, and audio ports - but it's always a compromise.

I must say I like the fact that some of AsRock mobo's come with a front USB 3.0 panel with 2 more ports that also serves as a 2.5 drive mount.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
Reply

Tags
500r, fans, front panel, male 3-pin

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.