The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Audio

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-26-2012, 02:05 PM
thric3blinded thric3blinded is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 564121
thric3blinded Reputation: 10
Default Vengeance 1500 constant static/off-and-on whine

Hey there,

I'm on Windows 7 x64 with a Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5 motherboard. I downloaded and installed the Vengeance 1500 1.1 drivers and plugged the headset in. I have no issues with the sound or the mic, however while the sound in windows is NOT muted - I hear a constant low-volume static and whine (the kind you hear from cheap USB headphones, almost like you hear your computer processing things :P). The whine is off and on, it'll drone in then drone out - very high pitched but just as low volume as the constant static (sounds like pink noise).

Anyone experience this? Is there something I'm missing? When I mute all sounds it instantly disapears and goes silent, turning off mute makes it very noticeable when it comes back.

Hoping someone can point me in the right direction. Thanks

Update: I've tried all my USB ports as well, the USB 2 and 3 ports show the same problem.

Last edited by thric3blinded; 02-26-2012 at 02:14 PM.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #2  
Old 02-26-2012, 05:09 PM
OmniNegro OmniNegro is offline
Registered User
OmniNegro's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Fiery Pits of Texas
Posts: 138
POST ID # = 564145
OmniNegro Reputation: 10
Default

This is a common complaint that in my never humble opinion, Corsair is in denial of. They may suggest an RMA, but I have yet to hear of anyone getting a pair back that does not have this issue.

I still love my HS1s, but I simply fail to understand how anyone could fail to hear this.

Honestly I think it is simply noise from the 1ms polling used for all USB audio devices. There is no real way to eliminate it, but the DAC does filter most of it. Perhaps in the distant future USB 4 will have a special "Clean" port for audio that is free from noise that all existing USB ports suffer from.

Anyone try a PCI USB port? I wonder if that would help reduce the noise the motherboards inflict on the USB ports. (Since PCI has a dedicated interrupt and can be shielded for special purposes like RAID cards used to.)
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #3  
Old 02-26-2012, 05:16 PM
thric3blinded thric3blinded is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 564146
thric3blinded Reputation: 10
Default

Well at least it's good to know I'm not crazy!

I find it's easy enough to just mute my sound from my keyboard if I am keeping them on without any sounds for a bit.

Thanks for the confirmation/information!
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #4  
Old 02-27-2012, 03:57 AM
SnipeR534 SnipeR534 is offline
Registered User
SnipeR534's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 9
POST ID # = 564215
SnipeR534 Reputation: 10
Default

I have the 1500's and I can honestly say I do not have this problem.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #5  
Old 02-27-2012, 07:39 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,290
POST ID # = 564400
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Are you using a USB 3.0 port on the MB? Or have you tried them on a different system?
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #6  
Old 02-27-2012, 09:03 PM
thric3blinded thric3blinded is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 564437
thric3blinded Reputation: 10
Default

I've tried 3.0 and 2.0 - I've also tried them on 2 laptops and another desktop all with the same issue.

To further define the sound - picture white noise with a slight hiss at a low volume.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #7  
Old 03-21-2012, 05:49 PM
Exostenza Exostenza is offline
Registered User
Exostenza's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 568429
Exostenza Reputation: 10
Default

I just picked up a set of the 1500s and it has this exact issue. I can hear a noise like white noise with a little bit of a squeal when there is no sound and it gets much worse in games as I can hear a very apparent squeal when there is no sound or low sound which really is a killer for horror based games or game with not a lot of loud noises all the time.

Super, super annoying. Anyone figure out how to fix this or is it something Corsair has to deal with in the drivers. If it is in the drivers that makes me very nervous because I see there are problems with the 1.1 drivers that haven't been updated for about 4-5 months.

I just came over from a set of Logitech G930s because of serious issues and don't want to keep this set if this is going to plague my gaming for ever unless I buy a ANOTHER set
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #8  
Old 03-26-2012, 06:20 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,290
POST ID # = 569209
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I would try them on another system to be sure it is not some other problem, but we can try and replace the head sets that is not a problem. But there is no known issue with the head sets that would cause this anomaly a few have had this issue but we have unable to link to a specific cause. As it seems to be only some systems configurations may display this symptom. If you want to try and replace them by all means please use the link on the left and request an RMA and we will be happy to try that. But I would try them on another system to be sure it is not system specific first.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #9  
Old 12-05-2012, 10:53 PM
Ninjahedge Ninjahedge is offline
Registered User
Ninjahedge's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 617892
Ninjahedge Reputation: 10
Angry

I am getting a similar thing with my 1500 on TF2.

Steam seems to be fine, and on some servers there is no problem, but on others, I get a scratchy static-y interference whenever I transmit.

After connecting to a server that displays that, ALL servers do the same.

I do not know if it is the server, or even the players/soundpacks they may be using that messes with my setup, but it is getting frustrating. I have no problems on any other game (yet).

TIA!
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #10  
Old 12-06-2012, 12:48 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,290
POST ID # = 618019
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ninjahedge View Post
I am getting a similar thing with my 1500 on TF2.

Steam seems to be fine, and on some servers there is no problem, but on others, I get a scratchy static-y interference whenever I transmit.

After connecting to a server that displays that, ALL servers do the same.

I do not know if it is the server, or even the players/soundpacks they may be using that messes with my setup, but it is getting frustrating. I have no problems on any other game (yet).

TIA!
Is your latency pretty high when you transmit? Have you also tried recording yourself in Windows Recorder? That'll help with seeing if the mic is actually clear when you speak into it (no external codecs being used).
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #11  
Old 06-07-2013, 07:49 AM
Ninjahedge Ninjahedge is offline
Registered User
Ninjahedge's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 657940
Ninjahedge Reputation: 10
Default

My latency is VERY low. The ping to the game is in the single digits (milliseconds). the voice transmits with very little lag.

Some people have more of a problem with it than others. Some only hear a low hum, but on others games, it muffles all other sounds when I am transmitting.

When I test the mic before I start up the game engine, it comes through crystal clear. When I start the game and test again, the voice is lower and there is a buzz/hum on the line.

The problem is on TF2 with its old set of sound drivers (the ones that allowed custom soundbytes to be played). If you need information on it so you can see the possible conflict, let me know.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #12  
Old 06-07-2013, 12:12 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,290
POST ID # = 657991
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Check the frequency of your mic. What is the current setting? Also, what software/driver version are you using at the moment?
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #13  
Old 07-22-2013, 09:05 PM
Ninjahedge Ninjahedge is offline
Registered User
Ninjahedge's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 666254
Ninjahedge Reputation: 10
Default

Found It:

W7:
Settings
Sound
Recording (Corsair V 1500)
Enhancements (Tab)
Low Frequency Protection (Check box)
Cutoff: 100Hz.

Now I have had nobody complaining of buzz/hum on TF2.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.