The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-07-2012, 05:46 PM
x509 x509 is offline
Registered User
x509's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 429
POST ID # = 560319
x509 Reputation: 10
Default Memtest reports no error yet system BSODs with stop codes 1A and 109

I have a competely stock i3 system, default BIOS settings, no overclocking, etc Windows 7 Professional 64. I have this corsair memory:

XMS3 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model CMX4GX3M2A1600C9

Sometimes my system runs weeks without a BSOD. Other times I'm guaranteed to get a BSOD every day. Most of hte time, it's a stop code 1A (memory) or 109. Stop code is "corrupt data structure," which i'm guessing is a subtle form of memory corruption.)

When I wanted to install Win 7, most of the time, that process would fail just as Windows is expanding files, about 1%. It's pretty repeatable.

So here is hte problem. I just ran memtest 86, the latest v4.20 and no errors after about 22 passes. Yet most of the BSODs are tied to memory.

So how long do I need to run memtest? Again, at times my system goes weeks without a problem, other times I have a problem every day.

So would you accept all these BSODs as justification for a warranty exchange, in lieu of memttest results?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 02-07-2012, 07:52 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 560343
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

That would suggest some other issue if they pass www.memtest.org but you get that type of a problem or error randomly. Most likely Voltage or thermal. Do you have the latest MB BIOS and have you tested the modules one at a time to be sure one is not weak? And what are the settings you have set for both CPU and memory in your BIOS setup?
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 02-07-2012, 09:33 PM
Garvin Garvin is offline
Registered User
Garvin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Leominster, Massachusetts
Posts: 2,035
POST ID # = 560364
Garvin Reputation: 10
Default

Stop error code 1a and 109 can also be due to a corrupt or poorly written driver (usually chipset or video). In those cases, the driver is writing over a piece of the Windows kernal corrupting the data structure. When it does Windows will Blue Screen immediately to protect it self and the data on the hard drive. Just a possibility.
__________________
temp. sig: standard RAM module timings example list, ala
4-4-4-12 =
CL-tRCD-tRP-tRAS=
CAS latency - RAS to CAS Delay - RAS Precharge - Active to Precharge Delay(also called Active Precharge delay and RAS Active time)
http://www.memtest.org/
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 02-16-2012, 03:57 AM
x509 x509 is offline
Registered User
x509's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 429
POST ID # = 562094
x509 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Garvin View Post
Stop error code 1a and 109 can also be due to a corrupt or poorly written driver (usually chipset or video). In those cases, the driver is writing over a piece of the Windows kernal corrupting the data structure. When it does Windows will Blue Screen immediately to protect it self and the data on the hard drive. Just a possibility.
OK. Thanks. This is good info. I will need to update drivers to the very latest.

However, when I install Win 7 Pro, I almost always get a crash when Windows starts to "expand" the files. I don't know if Windows installs any drivers when it is installing itself. Does this make sense? Does this help to narrow down the potential problems?

This problem is so intermittent, but it's driving me crazy. I can't "turn over" this relatively low-end, absolutely stock settings, system to my wife (so I can upgrade to my 3930/16 GB watercooled Photoshop killer system) until this machine is rock-solid.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 02-27-2012, 12:30 AM
x509 x509 is offline
Registered User
x509's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 429
POST ID # = 564200
x509 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by x509 View Post
OK. Thanks. This is good info. I will need to update drivers to the very latest.

However, when I install Win 7 Pro, I almost always get a crash when Windows starts to "expand" the files. I don't know if Windows installs any drivers when it is installing itself. Does this make sense? Does this help to narrow down the potential problems?

This problem is so intermittent, but it's driving me crazy. I can't "turn over" this relatively low-end, absolutely stock settings, system to my wife (so I can upgrade to my 3930/16 GB watercooled Photoshop killer system) until this machine is rock-solid.
Guys, can anyone respond to this message? Thanks.

x509
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 02-27-2012, 07:19 AM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 564237
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

Did you test the modules one at a time with memtest to be sure one is not failing?
Reply With Quote


Reply

Tags
bsod 0x1a, memtest86+

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.