The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-21-2012, 06:07 PM
Craterspace Craterspace is offline
Registered User
Craterspace's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 556400
Craterspace Reputation: 10
Default Settings for VS512MB400 X 3

I have an old Althlon64 system that I am trying to keep running. It has a Foxconn K8S755A motherboard with 3 DIMM slots. Two of these contain Corsair VS512MB400 and I just bought a third of the same spec to go in slot 3. Unfortunately the system crashes (about once an hour) with the third stick in place. The BIOS is set to auto detect settings and Speccy tells me the following has been set:

Type DDR
Size 1024 MBytes
Channels # Single
DRAM Frequency 199.9 MHz
CAS# Latency (CL) 2.5 clocks
RAS# to CAS# Delay (tRCD) 3 clocks
RAS# Precharge (tRP) 3 clocks
Cycle Time (tRAS) 8 clocks
Bank Cycle Time (tRС) 11 clocks
Command Rate (CR) 2T

I have run memory tests with all three sticks in place and they show no faults. I wonder if the additional load of the third stick is just bringing the system into the unstable area. I am wondering if increasing the latencies may help (e.g. CAS# from 2.5 to 3). Can anyone advise me on this or any other ways of improving the stability without slowing it down too much.

Thanks for any help.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #2  
Old 01-21-2012, 07:32 PM
Synthohol's Avatar
Synthohol Synthohol is offline
LiquidNinja
Synthohol's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: looking through your window
Posts: 5,134
POST ID # = 556408
Synthohol Synthohol Reputation: 103
Send a message via AIM to Synthohol Send a message via Yahoo to Synthohol
Default

it may never work im afraid, mixing kits is not supported.
read the 2 links below. a 2 gig matched set would have been a better choice.
__________________
Thinking about combining 2 or more sets of ram?? even the same part# is not suggested, recommended or supported.

System Specs as of 6/17/10
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #3  
Old 01-22-2012, 07:54 AM
Craterspace Craterspace is offline
Registered User
Craterspace's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 556469
Craterspace Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for your reply and the helpful links.

The Motherboard claims to support three "single rank" memories at 200MHz max. or three "double rank" memories at 166MHz max.. Would you know how many "ranks" the VS512MB400 has?

Thanks for any help.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #4  
Old 01-23-2012, 12:31 PM
Craterspace Craterspace is offline
Registered User
Craterspace's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 556778
Craterspace Reputation: 10
Default

Since my last post I have noticed that the new VS512MB400 contains different information in its SPD Memory to the published specification and indeed the two older DIMMs (not bought as a kit).

New VS512MB400

Frequency 200.0 MHz
CAS# Latency 3
RAS# To CAS# 3
RAS# Precharge 3
tRAS 8
Voltage 2.500 V
JEDEC #1
Frequency 166.7 MHz
CAS# Latency 2.5
RAS# To CAS# 3
RAS# Precharge 3
tRAS 7
Voltage 2.500 V

Originals

JEDEC #2
Frequency 200.0 MHz
CAS# Latency 2.5
RAS# To CAS# 3
RAS# Precharge 3
tRAS 8
Voltage 2.500 V
JEDEC #1
Frequency 133.3 MHz
CAS# Latency 2
RAS# To CAS# 2
RAS# Precharge 2
tRAS 6
Voltage 2.500 V

The new part has a CAS Latency of 3 whereas the spec quotes 2.5-3-3-8.
Does this mean the more recent parts are slower or not compatible in some way? There is no information on the product wrapping or the vendors website to indicate that these parts are not suitable for upgrading.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #5  
Old 01-23-2012, 03:02 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,290
POST ID # = 556831
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

The part that shows VS512MB400 Cas 2.5 will be double rank and the part that shows VS512MB400 Cas 3 will be Single rank in most cases but they can be made either way on either part. We do not have a way to specify single rank on this part sorry!
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #6  
Old 01-23-2012, 07:40 PM
Craterspace Craterspace is offline
Registered User
Craterspace's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 556913
Craterspace Reputation: 10
Default

If I ditch all these and get a VS2GBKIT400C3 2 stick kit can I be sure that they will run at the full speed (200MHz clock)?
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #7  
Old 01-26-2012, 09:47 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,290
POST ID # = 557784
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

It will depend on the MB and CPU, but in most cases if its a socket 939 it should be no problem.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #8  
Old 03-29-2012, 06:30 PM
Motolito Motolito is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 569797
Motolito Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
The part that shows VS512MB400 Cas 2.5 will be double rank and the part that shows VS512MB400 Cas 3 will be Single rank in most cases but they can be made either way on either part. We do not have a way to specify single rank on this part sorry!
Hi RAM GUY,

recently I bought a 512 MB DDR Value Select memory module (VS512MB400).

http://www.corsair.com/memory-by-pro...s512mb400.html

In theory, the CAS latency is 2.5-3-3-8 .

But when I use test software like CPU-Z, AIDA64 and SiSoftware Sandra CAS latency is 3-3-3-8 .

Also in these programs the part number(model) of memory is VS512MB400C3.

The IC chips are 64M8BDCG.

What is wrong with my memory module? Why not supports CAS latency 2.5 ?

On the sticker it appears this information:

120300991

VS512MB400/EU G

QTY: 1

MADE IN TAIWAN

8 70584 00130 0


Moreover, years ago I bought another 512 MB DDR Value Select memory module (VS512MB400).

This older memory module supports CAS latency 2.5

The IC chips are 64M8BDAG .

On the sticker of this older memory module it appears the following information:

090750500

VS512MB400/EU G

ASSY IN TAIWAN

8 70584 00130 0


Both memory modules, are 1 rank.


Best regards.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #9  
Old 03-30-2012, 07:57 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,290
POST ID # = 569973
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

All of the DDR400 parts VSXXXMB400 will be Cas 3 there are no Case 2.5 IC's available any more.

Last edited by RAM GUY; 04-03-2012 at 12:15 AM.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #10  
Old 03-31-2012, 03:22 PM
Motolito Motolito is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 570085
Motolito Reputation: 10
Angry

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
All of the DDR1400 parts VSXXXMB400 will be Cas 3 there are no Case 2.5 IC's available any more.
Hi RAM GUY,

thank you very much for the information.

Corsair is providing wrong specifications with VS512MB400
http://www.corsair.com/memory-by-pro...s512mb400.html
because in tech specs section appears

Tested Latency 2.5-3-3-8
SPD Latency 2.5-3-3-8

but the real latency is 3-3-3-8

Corsair should modify the specifications to not confuse customers.

Last edited by Motolito; 03-31-2012 at 03:25 PM.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #11  
Old 04-03-2012, 12:16 AM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,290
POST ID # = 570407
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

That is an old spec and no longer in production. But yes you are correct I will ask for our web master to update the spec sorry about that.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.