The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Keyboards and Mice

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 6 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-11-2012, 08:52 AM
dalehitchy dalehitchy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 553820
dalehitchy Reputation: 10
Default K90 keyboard not working at all....

so.. i plugged it in without drivers, and software... they keyboard lit up beautifully and the media keys worked fine.

i realise im gonna have to download the software anyway, to get the G keys to work. so i go the the website and download it. First, i install the firmware, click the update button, (while this happens, backlight goes off) wait till its finished, says updated successfully. Then i install the software.

Ok, so backlight hasnt come back on, media keys dont work. restart computer, still no backlight and media keys. uninstall, reinstall drivers. No luck. I go back to the firmware, to which it now says "Cannot open USB device, please reinstall driver!)

Gone into the driver location, installed the drivers, still no luck. In Device Manager, there is an unknown device, i let it search online for the correct drivers AND manually set it where to search. I have also tried it on a different computer, and it still will not work. Am i doing something stupid or is this keyboard not working within the 10 minutes i have had it??
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #2  
Old 01-11-2012, 09:35 AM
dalehitchy dalehitchy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 553826
dalehitchy Reputation: 10
Default

unknown device was nothing to do with the keyboard... just noticed this..
still... im having a problem getting anything to work on the keyboard... i really want the backlighting and media keys to come on
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #3  
Old 01-11-2012, 01:07 PM
dalehitchy dalehitchy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 553874
dalehitchy Reputation: 10
Default

please respond its frustrating me and i feel like ive spent £110 on a paperweight
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #4  
Old 01-11-2012, 01:08 PM
Uileat Uileat is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 553875
Uileat Reputation: 10
Default

Try re-running the firmware update... maybe it glitched.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #5  
Old 01-11-2012, 01:13 PM
dalehitchy dalehitchy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 553876
dalehitchy Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uileat View Post
Try re-running the firmware update... maybe it glitched.
i have to which it says "cannot open USB device, please reinstall drivers!", which i have done.... on two computers
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #6  
Old 01-11-2012, 01:25 PM
dalehitchy dalehitchy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 553882
dalehitchy Reputation: 10
Default

Solved - After disconnecting, reconnecting, and numerous times reinstalling, it was indeed the firmware and the program that bugged... but it finally decided to recognise the device and now works....

doesnt bode well for the rest of the software...
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #7  
Old 02-07-2012, 07:48 AM
Rewrath Rewrath is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 560200
Rewrath Reputation: 10
Default More detail please

I have the same problem with my K90. Please explain in more detial how you got yours to work.

I would hate to have and RMA the keyboard after the first day, just because of some buggy software that works 10% of the time.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #8  
Old 02-07-2012, 02:28 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,290
POST ID # = 560272
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

It sounds like your firmware was corrupted, or your system had an issue during the update. I'm glad your keyboard is now working. I would of suggested an RMA for your unit.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #9  
Old 02-12-2012, 01:13 AM
sirpanda sirpanda is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 561203
sirpanda Reputation: 10
Default

This problem actually happened to me before. After a firmware reflash, my keyboard backlight also
stopped working and the media keys were not functioning.
I was really afraid I had to send in my keyboard until I was able to stumble upon this fix.

I notice that whenever I plugged in my keyboard, windows would reinstall keyboard drivers and whenever it was finished,
I would see on the bottom right corner of my screen "USB input device installed."
The corsair firmware utility would never recognize my keyboard whenever my keyboard was installed as only an
"input device" and I would get an error message "cannot open usb device, please reinstall driver."
After replugging in my keyboard like around 20 times, my keyboard was finally recognized and installed by windows as a "corsair keyboard."
Miraculously, the firmware update was also able to work its magic on my keyboard and I was able to regain my backlight and media keys.

I hope this post helps out other people with similar problems on this forum.
I don't know if this keyboard has problems that has to be fixed through its hardware or whether the firmware update was simply buggy,
but this problem can be fixed without a RMA if you guys just take the time to test out all your ports.

p.s. my computer has like 15 usb slots so I just plugged the keyboard into each port until it was finally recognized.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #10  
Old 02-13-2012, 02:44 AM
metcard metcard is offline
Registered User
metcard's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 561367
metcard Reputation: 10
Default

I think this is more of an issue with Windows 7.
The USB drivers sometimes don't load up for whatever reason.
I had a phone which stuffed up during an update because the USB driver wouldn't initiate itself or something (code 10). Plugging the usb cable into a different USB port worked eventually.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #11  
Old 02-13-2012, 12:26 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,290
POST ID # = 561440
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you guys for the feedback.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #12  
Old 03-02-2012, 09:50 AM
nathaniel.soria nathaniel.soria is offline
Registered User
nathaniel.soria's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 565079
nathaniel.soria Reputation: 10
Big Grin I was having these issues and more

Soo.. my corsair k90 mechanical keyboard was working perfectly upon plugging it in and being recognized (or so I thought until I restarted my computer, this caused a hang in the bios over and over.. figured it out pretty quick though)

initially the volume worked as well as all of the normal keys and lights. I went to go grab the software and install it and the firmware. I installed the software first (not sure why.. this seems backwards) then the firmware. It seemed strange that the firmware may not have been fully completed but I impatiently pushed exit thinking that it was.

Lights were not working. Typing was repeating characters about 13 times ever 3rd punch. No media key functionality.

After punching into Google for an answer I figured I should just try re-installing the firmware after reading this thread .. this time I waited much longer and the little firmware box said it was complete then I exited. I must note that the first attempt to re-install the firmware failed. I did NOT re-plug my keyboard like others.. I just simply ran the software again and it worked.

This fixed all of my issues.

Good luck! Great keyboard. Minor hitch.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #13  
Old 06-03-2013, 08:00 PM
corsprob corsprob is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 657231
corsprob Reputation: 10
Default

I have the same Problem (Cannot open USB device, please plug the device into a USB port or reinstall driver!)

And it is still not working.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #14  
Old 06-04-2013, 06:12 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 11,049
POST ID # = 657286
Toasted Reputation: 86
Default

Have a look at this and see if it helps http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=104856

If it doesn't, If its under 30 days old, contact your seller and ask if they can replace the K90 for you. If not, request an RMA to replace it.
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
  #15  
Old 01-23-2014, 07:13 AM
Zole Zole is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 694033
Zole Reputation: 10
Default

Hello,

Forum won't let me start a new thread but this is exactly the same issue im having.
I've recieved a Raptor K50 for a birthday present, brand new sealed in box. plugged in and followed the instructions supplied with the product to download the correct files, the only lights i have comming on are capslock numlock and what looks like a small vertical arrow pointing at a small horizontal line. I've uninstalled and reinstalled the software sevral times but every time i try and update the firmware i get the message "Cannot open USB device, please plug the device into a USB port or reinstall driver!"

This is the 3rd corsair product ive had, and the 3rd that didnt work from the box as advertised.

If anyone has a fix please do let me know.

-Max
Reply With Quote


Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.