Corsair Community

Help with Maximus Extreme

Robodoc

My system has been stable for about a year running patriot 1333 MHz memory. But you know how it is, I wanted to OC my system. So I bought a 2 x 2Gb kit from OCZ rated at 1800Mhz. After 2 weeks of forum support, trying to get the ram to run at 1800MHz, a moderator said the Maximus Extreme Mobos have been having trouble running at that frequency. Not believing them, I bought the corsair twin3x2048-1800C7DF kit. I can't seem to get them running at 1800 either. In fact, they are only stable in the "auto" setting in bios. By now you've probably figured out that I'm a noob at OCing. But I do know my way around the bios. I think I've been pulled in so many directions by different experts that I don't know which way is up at this point. At this point, I'd be happy running the corsair sticks at 1600 MHz. Can anyone help? The numbers that aren't stable are:

FSB 450

Multi 7

FSB Strap 200

Dram Freq DDR3-1800

Dram Rate T2

Timings Manual 7-7-7-20

Row Refresh Cycle Time 60

Dram read control disabled

Dram dynamic write disabled

transaction boost disabled (2)

VOLTAGES

CPU auto

PLL 1.52

NB 1.49

DRAM 1.96 (I'm told this mobo overvolts by .04)

FSB Term 1.42

SB 1.1

Download Memtest86+ V2.01 from--->

Download CPU-z from

Insert a single stick in the First White Slot (Closest to the CPU). Load setup Defaults. Save Setup Defaults. Load these values:

Extreme Tweaker 

Ai Overclock Tuner : Manual 
OC From CPU Level Up : Auto
CPU Ratio Control : Manual
- Ratio CMOS Setting : 7
FSB Frequency : 450
FSB Strap to North Bridge : 333
PCI-E Frequency: 100
DRAM Frequency: DDR3-1600
DRAM Command Rate : 2N
DRAM Timing Control: Manual 
CAS# Latency : 7
RAS# to CAS# Delay : 7
RAS# Precharge : 7
RAS# ActivateTime : 20
RAS# to RAS# Delay : Auto
Row Refresh Cycle Time : Auto
Write Recovery Time : Auto
Read to Precharge Time : Auto

Read to Write Delay (S/D) : Auto
Write to Read Delay (S) : Auto
Write to Read Delay (D) : Auto