Corsair Community

Adding 2nd Force GT 120GB SSD to RAID0 Stripe

DCal2722

Hi guys,

I have been running a Force GT 120GB SSD for about 6 months or so. I am running out of space so I ordered a 2nd Force GT 120 and I am going to update the firmware as my SSD is running 1.3.3 and I intend to install as a RAID0 Stripe. one of my questions is: can a image created in Acronis True Image of the OS in the single SSD be installed or run in the what will be new RAID0 stripe primary drive? Or is the fact that it is (the OS) set up for AHCI rather than a RAID cause it to either be unstable or just not run at all?

Also, would you do a secure erase on the original Force GT prior to installing the update and then the RAID Drivers?

I appreciate any help I can get from you guy's. I am sure I will think of more questions as soon as I disconnect from the forum, so I will be back:sigh!:

Daniel

Hi Daniel

Acronis is bugy with some raid controller.

SSD update could be done in ACHI mode only.

SSD run optimal in ACHI.

Yes is beter tu secure erase before install OS.

Update mothertboard bios help with SSD stability.

On intel web site u could get RAID: Intel® Rapid Storage Technology Driver for Intel Desktop Boards 10.​8.​0.​1003

and 11.0.0.1032.

http://downloadcenter.intel.com/SearchResult.aspx?lang=eng&ProductFamily=Desktop+Boards&ProductLine=Intel%c2%ae+5+Series+Chipset+Boards&ProductProduct=Intel%c2%ae+Desktop+Board+DX58SO2&ProdId=3262&LineId=3016&FamilyId=36

Hope this help

Sincerly yours