The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Utility Engine (CUE) 2.X > CUE 2.X SDK

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-20-2015, 12:31 PM
Yannicked's Avatar
Yannicked Yannicked is offline
Registered User
Yannicked's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Holland
Posts: 20
POST ID # = 826556
Yannicked Reputation: 10
Default Ambient light

As I've been messing around with the sdk lately, I've made a program/script which makes your keyboard a "extension" to your monitor. It's a tiny bit like the philips ambilight tv's.

Demo video:

Another demo video:

The source: https://github.com/Yannicked/node-cue-ambient

The code is kind of a mess, to "compile" it you'll have to have node.js and i think visual studio installed.

Experimental Download: https://github.com/Yannicked/nw-cue-effects/releases/

Last edited by Yannicked; 03-28-2016 at 05:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-22-2015, 12:25 AM
Gr33dy Gr33dy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 826798
Gr33dy Reputation: 10
Default

Hey man, first of all great job tooks alot of talent to do something like this.

Now, could you please clarify 3 "small" things, first, is this an extension of the monitor? i mean it recognizes only the colours of the bottom?, second this works for games? or videos/movies only?, 3rd how in the world can i install it? is there an easier way to do it? im a complete beginer in this npm github etc stuff, i really tried, i've got the git, the npm, but i still getting some errors and warns in the cmd when i try to install it.

thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-22-2015, 05:13 PM
Victoss Victoss is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 29
POST ID # = 826907
Victoss Reputation: 10
Default

This is really cool, been waiting for someone to do this on the forums. Unfortunately I have no idea how to install this :(
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-23-2015, 06:20 PM
Yannicked's Avatar
Yannicked Yannicked is offline
Registered User
Yannicked's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Holland
Posts: 20
POST ID # = 827094
Yannicked Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gr33dy View Post
Hey man, first of all great job tooks alot of talent to do something like this.

Now, could you please clarify 3 "small" things, first, is this an extension of the monitor? i mean it recognizes only the colours of the bottom?, second this works for games? or videos/movies only?, 3rd how in the world can i install it? is there an easier way to do it? im a complete beginer in this npm github etc stuff, i really tried, i've got the git, the npm, but i still getting some errors and warns in the cmd when i try to install it.

thank you!
It only works in non-games, because of the screen capturing.
It uses a program (ffmpeg) to record a bar of pixels on the lower part of your display (shouldn't impact performance that much)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Victoss View Post
This is really cool, been waiting for someone to do this on the forums. Unfortunately I have no idea how to install this :(
I've got a experimental (easy) version https://github.com/Yannicked/nw-cue-effects/releases/

Last edited by Yannicked; 12-23-2015 at 08:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-23-2016, 10:53 PM
CoilWinder CoilWinder is offline
Registered User
CoilWinder's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Norway
Posts: 23
POST ID # = 832882
CoilWinder Reputation: 11
Default

Awesome! Thanks for sharing!

Cool effect with the Matrix screensaver btw :)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-24-2016, 11:02 PM
anel2103 anel2103 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 833055
anel2103 Reputation: 10
Default

doesn't work on strafe rgb :(
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-25-2016, 09:34 AM
CoilWinder CoilWinder is offline
Registered User
CoilWinder's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Norway
Posts: 23
POST ID # = 833125
CoilWinder Reputation: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anel2103 View Post
doesn't work on strafe rgb :(
Yes it does, I have the Strafe RGB. Maybe you don't have "Enable SDK" enabled in CUE? It's under Settings - Program.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-11-2016, 08:32 AM
martinjoman martinjoman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 836462
martinjoman Reputation: 10
Default

could someone made this effect to CUE profile for k95 ?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-29-2016, 07:42 PM
Greninja Greninja is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 839975
Greninja Reputation: 10
Sad

This is amazing holy crap, great job!!
Doesn't seem to work on my K70 though..
(Or I dont really know what I have to do)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-11-2016, 12:38 PM
Yannicked's Avatar
Yannicked Yannicked is offline
Registered User
Yannicked's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Holland
Posts: 20
POST ID # = 841879
Yannicked Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greninja View Post
This is amazing holy crap, great job!!
Doesn't seem to work on my K70 though..
(Or I dont really know what I have to do)
Quote:
Originally Posted by martinjoman View Post
could someone made this effect to CUE profile for k95 ?
I'll try to look into the K70 and K95, but I haven't got one to test

Last edited by Yannicked; 03-15-2016 at 05:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-28-2016, 01:48 PM
Yannicked's Avatar
Yannicked Yannicked is offline
Registered User
Yannicked's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Holland
Posts: 20
POST ID # = 844435
Yannicked Reputation: 10
Default

It should work on the k70 now
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-01-2016, 05:23 PM
Corsair James's Avatar
Corsair James Corsair James is offline
iCUE Product Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 4,296
POST ID # = 845133
Corsair James Reputation: 69
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yannicked View Post
It should work on the k70 now
Thanks! Looking forward to it!
__________________

iCUE - A CORSAIR Interface
https://www.corsair.com/us/en/icue
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-12-2016, 03:48 PM
gpvecchi's Avatar
gpvecchi gpvecchi is offline
Registered User
gpvecchi's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: 44°43'25.02"N 10°23'55.59"E
Posts: 273
POST ID # = 846882
gpvecchi Reputation: 10
Default

Many thanks! Illumination is very weak on K70 RGB...
It would be great if it would work in games,too...
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-12-2016, 06:45 PM
krazykid's Avatar
krazykid krazykid is offline
Alex Krastev
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: SanJose, California and Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 2,846
POST ID # = 846926
krazykid Reputation: 30
Send a message via Skype™ to krazykid
Default

This is pretty neat man good job!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-27-2016, 03:45 AM
delslow delslow is offline
Registered User
delslow's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Buena Park, CA
Posts: 101
POST ID # = 849299
delslow Reputation: 10
Default

I'm assuming some code has to be reworked slightly for the RAPIDFIRE? If you don't mind? =P
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.