The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-17-2018, 04:07 AM
AMDUSER3220G AMDUSER3220G is offline
Registered User
AMDUSER3220G's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 973092
AMDUSER3220G Reputation: 10
Default please help me out with ram compatibility

My motherboard is Asus EX 320 gaming motherboard - Link
processor is Amd Ryzen 3 2200G , zotac geforce gtx 1050Ti
and finally my RAM is G.SKILL Ripjaws F4-3000C15D-8GVRB 8GB(1 x 8)


Although my current RAM speed is 3000Mhz it can't go beyond 2400Mhz because that's the speed supported by my Asus Ex 320 gaming motherboard, also in the beginning i found in windows task manager that my ram current speed was 2133 MHz, then later found that is the default speed of a DDR4 memory and changed it manually to 2400Mhz in bios settings, and also found that the advertised latency of my ram is 15-16-16-35 but in CPU-z it shows
http://forum.corsair.com/forums/atta...1&d=1537170760


So now i am thinking of adding extra 8GB RAM to pair with my G.SKILL Ripjaws F4-3000C15D-8GVRB 8GB, but unfortunately it has gone out of stock, neither available online, so in my location easily available 8GB DDR4 ram is this
Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR4 LPX 2400MHz C16 RAM Kit for X99 Chipset (CMK8GX4M1A2400C16R)

, i went through the specification of this product and found that its speed is 2400MHz, it's latency is 16-16-16-39 and 1.2V.

But my current ram config is this (CPU-z) ,my current ram advertised speed is 3000MHz (but it can't go beyond 2400MHz since that's the speed my ASUS Ex 320 Gaming motherboard supports),advertised latency is 15-16-16-35 and 1.35V





So Please let me know whether this (Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR4 LPX 2400MHz C16 RAM Kit for X99 Chipset (CMK8GX4M1A2400C16R) ) RAM would work fine with my already existing RAM(G.SKILL Ripjaws F4-3000C15D-8GVRB 8GB(1 x 8)) on my Asus Ex 320 Gaming motherboard without causing any issues.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Untitled.jpg (68.4 KB, 24 views)

Last edited by Technobeard; 09-17-2018 at 05:00 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 09-17-2018, 05:02 AM
Technobeard's Avatar
Technobeard Technobeard is offline
Bearded Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,246
POST ID # = 973096
Technobeard Reputation: 68
Default

It's never recommended to mix modules that haven't been tested together, even when they're the same part / version. No one can tell for sure if they'd work together or not without trying it.

To ensure a stable system, it's recommended to replace what you have instead of adding to i t.
__________________
“Humor is reason gone mad.” - Groucho Marx
"I suggest a full frontal assault with automated laser monkeys, scalpel mines and acid." - Psychotic potato dwarf
"Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, especially simian ones. They are not all that subtle." - Terry Pratchett
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 09-21-2018, 02:53 AM
Corsair Kevin Corsair Kevin is offline
Corsair Employee
Corsair Kevin's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 973626
Corsair Kevin Reputation: 10
Default

I second what Technobeard said. It's always best to replace everything at once. The issue is that while timing, speed, and latency may be the same, the smallest variations in the hardware can cause headaches. By purchasing all at once, with one manufacturer, it reduces the possibility of issues from production variance and other variables.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.