Corsair Community

H115i Pro Overheating CPU

deadinspace

Just a disclaimer, I'm very new to building my own PC and this is my first build that I've been using for around 2 months now, and I'm getting overheating errors while gaming. I can see that even on very low loads the CPU is at around 35C-60C sometimes even getting to 70C+. I didn't have these errors before, only got them around maybe 2-3 days ago.

I've been reading around the internet and I suspect that maybe it's my cooler that's causing the problem. As you can see in the picture, the pump speeds are very erratic, I put it on performance mode and I think I shouldn't be getting those massive fluctuations, right?

1366777980_H115iProPump.thumb.png.778e55ac8b8e5c1a1b01ac635b2ba3d6.png

The pump does look erratic, however if that were the sole factor the coolant would also need to heat up to get these high idle temps and critical load temps. What I see in the picture looks more like a contact problem. Did you recently move or reseat the pump?

I think the pump is enough to contact Corsair tech support. Is there any sign the unit is losing power when this happens? Fans and pump lighting would dim too. Also keep an eye on the H115i Temp. This should be about 4-7C above your room temp at idle and then a further +6C when under load (really long GPU loads may be more as the entire case heats up).

I didn't touch the pump itself, but I recently took off the radiator because I didn't put on the fans properly, so I had to take the rad off to fix that. I was very careful not to pull on the tubes, but could that have messed up the contact? Right now I don't have any thermal paste or rubbing alcohol to clean the residue though so I might have to wait a day or two if I have to fix that. Also, would a contact problem potentially cause the pump to behave erratically?