Corsair Community

8GB setup required for a Gigabyte motherboard

stabby

Hi! This is my first post on the forum, so if I am screwing up (even though I read the rules), let me know!

Basically, I am a noob when it comes to memory stuff - something I've suffered for in the past in terms of compatibility. As such, please have patience with me if I seem a bit slow on grasping stuff!

I am in the process of making a new desktop computer out of some old components but a core of new ones. This entails, mainly, a new motherboard, processor and memory.

The new processor: Intel Core™ i7 Quad Processor i7-930

The new motherboard: Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R, X58

Memory: Corsair

I really want a 8GB setup for this and I am completely set on Corsair memory as I do not want to skimp on quality this time around. However, being inexperienced, I'm pretty stuck at the moment, not being able to tell what works with what.

I contacted Gigabyte's support for more specific information on what kind of memory that works well with the model and got this reply:

Regarding memory, the X58 chipsets is designed to follow a JEDEC DDR3 memory standard, which specifies 1,5V module voltage, 1066 or 1333 Mhz memory frequency and CL8 latency @ 1333Mhz.

The GA-EX58-UD3R (ver. 1.0) has additional BIOS option to support 12x memory multiplier that gives 1600Mhz memory speed.

You can adjust the memory voltage from 1,5V in microsteps up to 1.65V, but not exceed this because higher voltage can damage the Core i7 CPU.

To use 8Gb with four modules each 2Gb, the modules needs to be installed in slot DDR3_2 DDR3_1 DDR3_4 DDR3_3.

The Intel i7-930 is supported from the F4 BIOS.

All of this info is probably well known to you, but for the sake of providing as much information as possible, I decided to show this reply anyway.

Using this information, some more questions have popped into my head: