The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-12-2012, 05:49 PM
Darac Darac is offline
Registered User
Darac's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 566785
Darac Reputation: 10
Send a message via Skype™ to Darac
Default Possible Memory fault?

Hi

I have been having radom crashes for a while now and I just cannot seem to pin it down. Problems I have is random blue screen and reboots, never when just in windows any when playing games.

I have been checking everything from drivers to bios setting and I cannot seem to find anything at fault.

I have Corsair CMZ8GX3M2A1866C9 Ram, I have ran Memtest86+ v4.20 and when underclocked at 10666 I get no faults on the memory test, but if I change in bios to 18666 with the clocks all right I get lots of faults in Memtest86+ v4.20.

Now I still crash to desktop and blue screen even at the slower speed but at the faster setting I crash faster. I have been trying my best to play Anno 2070 and Battlefield 3, but with the crashes I have kind of given up.

So I'm wondering if I might have faulty Ram and I'm seeking advice on what I should do, what I might have missed and any help to make me not give up on PC gaming.

Thanks in advance for the help

*Edit*

Found some other Corsair DDR3 I can use to test, not as good and less RAM but worth a try to test I guess, fingures crossed no crashes ingame, but any info you might have please still let me know
Attached Images
File Type: jpg cpu-z mem.jpg (54.4 KB, 159 views)
File Type: jpg cpu-z SPD.jpg (70.4 KB, 138 views)

Last edited by Darac; 03-12-2012 at 06:02 PM. Reason: More info
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-13-2012, 02:17 AM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 566849
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Please make sure that you have the latest MB BIOS version then go to BIOS and load setup defaults and then enable XMP profile one and test the system with www.memtest.org.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-13-2012, 05:34 AM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 566865
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

Might want to check your PSU too. Could be a voltage isssue.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-13-2012, 09:22 AM
Darac Darac is offline
Registered User
Darac's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 566906
Darac Reputation: 10
Send a message via Skype™ to Darac
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
Please make sure that you have the latest MB BIOS version then go to BIOS and load setup defaults and then enable XMP profile one and test the system with www.memtest.org.
Updated bios, and memory now running without issue, Anno 2070 still crashes but I think thats a problem with the game and crossfired video cards.

My PSU should be fine, just think its a problem with the new video cards and there drivers and poor cf support in some games.

Thanks for the help
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.