The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-09-2012, 02:26 PM
ganjiry's Avatar
ganjiry ganjiry is offline
Registered User
ganjiry's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 31
POST ID # = 566300
ganjiry Reputation: 10
Default what tighter timmings to use CMX8GX3M2A1600C9

hi all
i would like to try some tigher timmings for my memory as it is rated 1600 but due to my cpu memory controller only supporting 1333 i would think some tighter timmings @1333MHz may improve things. the ram will run @1600 without a problem but i dont want to risk damaging my cpu mem controller.
here r my system specs
ram 2x4Gb 8GB kit CMX8GX3M2A1600C9) @1333MHz. 8,9,9,26,35,2T 1.51v
Gigabyte GA880-GAUD3H rev 3.1 AM3+ bios FE
AMD Phenom II x4 965be 3.4@ 3.8Ghz stock voltage. stable

as i said ive had no problems with it. if someone could suggest some tighter timmings or point me in the direction of another thread that would be a great help.
any help is much apreciated. thanks in advance
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-09-2012, 02:36 PM
HOODedAssault HOODedAssault is offline
Registered User
HOODedAssault's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,269
POST ID # = 566302
HOODedAssault HOODedAssault Reputation: 139
Default

If it runs 1600 stable its not going to damage ur memory controller... Its just most phenoms cant do it stable... Dont think it would be any harder on the controller then 1333 with tight timings... Ive found with the phenom boards i've delt with I get more performance leaving everything on auto... When I manually set timing at a (even stock) it makes my tflops in linx go to ****.

Last edited by HOODedAssault; 03-09-2012 at 02:39 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-09-2012, 05:41 PM
ganjiry's Avatar
ganjiry ganjiry is offline
Registered User
ganjiry's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 31
POST ID # = 566329
ganjiry Reputation: 10
Default

ello n thanks for replying
yeah its always been ok @1600 but my gigabyte board defaults it to 1066 for some reason so i had to manually set the specified timmings to get the 1600.ive been reading write write ups all week about this issue which i just came arcross while reading forums. there is just so many conflicting views. some say that its ok and some say its not. some say that it does'nt happen with the c3 steppin which mine is. its given me a right headache lol with all the readin bk n forth.

attached screenie of cpu-z
Attached Images
File Type: jpg cpu-z.jpg (131.6 KB, 194 views)

Last edited by ganjiry; 03-09-2012 at 06:13 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-09-2012, 06:10 PM
Synthohol's Avatar
Synthohol Synthohol is offline
LiquidNinja
Synthohol's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: looking through your window
Posts: 5,330
POST ID # = 566332
Synthohol Synthohol Reputation: 103
Send a message via AIM to Synthohol Send a message via Yahoo to Synthohol
Default

if your system is stable at 1600 then you are good to go, i dont see how the cpu can get damaged, if anything it wouldnt boot or bsod. but cas8@1333 if it works for you then great!
__________________
Thinking about combining 2 or more sets of ram?? even the same part# is not suggested, recommended or supported.

System Specs as of 6/17/10
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-09-2012, 06:14 PM
ganjiry's Avatar
ganjiry ganjiry is offline
Registered User
ganjiry's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 31
POST ID # = 566334
ganjiry Reputation: 10
Default

okey doke. cheers chap :D
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.