The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 6 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-08-2012, 10:29 AM
VB7GUY VB7GUY is offline
Registered User
VB7GUY's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 566091
VB7GUY Reputation: 10
Default Best Memory For Asus Sabertooth 990FX with AMD FX-8120

I just bought AMD FX-8120 Zambezi 3.1GHz. And I'm thinking about buying Asus sabertooth 990fx board and bundeling that with following memory from newegg.com
CMP16GX3M4X1600C7
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820233253

According to the spec. This memory is listed as "Quad Channel". Will this memory work with my Board+CPU combo. This board does have four dim slots. I want to set the latency to 7-8-8-24. will it work, if not, what is the fastest and most compaitable memory that will work with my Board+combo. should I even bother with higher Mhz memory. I do plan on overclocking this in the feature.

Dominator® with DHX Pro Connector — 1.5V 16GB Quad Channel DDR3 Memory Kit (CMP16GX3M4X1600C7)
Memory Type: DDR3
Speed Rating: PC3-16000 (2000MHz)
Tested Latency: 7-8-8-24
SPD Latency: 9-9-9-24
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-08-2012, 12:51 PM
Synthohol's Avatar
Synthohol Synthohol is offline
LiquidNinja
Synthohol's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: looking through your window
Posts: 5,330
POST ID # = 566102
Synthohol Synthohol Reputation: 103
Send a message via AIM to Synthohol Send a message via Yahoo to Synthohol
Default

thats memory primarily for an Intel chipset, you would be better off with Vengeance ram>
look here for a 16Gb set.
http://www.corsair.com/memory/amd-memory-upgrades.html
__________________
Thinking about combining 2 or more sets of ram?? even the same part# is not suggested, recommended or supported.

System Specs as of 6/17/10
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-08-2012, 01:01 PM
VB7GUY VB7GUY is offline
Registered User
VB7GUY's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 566106
VB7GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for quick reply. Should I stay with 1600MHZ Clock memory or should I go with higher clock speed. vs going with more memory capacity. ie. 16GB
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-08-2012, 01:18 PM
VB7GUY VB7GUY is offline
Registered User
VB7GUY's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 566108
VB7GUY Reputation: 10
Default

It is also ineresting to note that Asus has the following memory listed in their compatiabliy chart for Asus sabertooth 990fx (AMD) board. However, the memory is listed as Dominator. Now I'm totally confused. which memory should I go with Dual Channel, Triple or Quad Channel. I want ver fast but stable system.

Corsair CMT6GX3M3A2000C8 Dominator GT Triple Channel 6144MB PC16000 DDR3 Memory - 2000MHz, 3x2048MB, 8-9-8-24
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-08-2012, 02:49 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 566127
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

The ASUS QVL list is nothing more than a list of memory that they have tested and you will want to purchase a set of modules tested on a Dual channel MB.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.