The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Memory

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-20-2012, 09:54 PM
ssd_noob ssd_noob is offline
Registered User
ssd_noob's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 99
POST ID # = 556247
ssd_noob Reputation: 10
Default CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9 - How much voltage can it take?

The RAM is rated at 1.5V upto speed of 1600.

My MSI motherboard's OC Genie sets it at 1.8V which I think is too high. I'm now trying to manually OC my system and I have set the memory voltage to 1.6V at 1066. If I set the memory speed to 1333 my system will be unstable. So, if I want to set the memory speed back to 1333 I might have to increase the memory voltage. What is the maximum memory voltage I can set with my Corsair RAM?

Thank you.

EDIT
The RAM model in the title should read CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9. I don't know how to edit the title. Sorry.

Last edited by RAM GUY; 01-23-2012 at 04:57 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 01-23-2012, 04:58 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 556862
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

The modules can run up to 2.0 Volts but If you have an Intel MB using a Core I3,I5. or I7 CPU don't go over 1.65 Volts or you might damage the CPU.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 01-23-2012, 11:30 PM
ssd_noob ssd_noob is offline
Registered User
ssd_noob's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 99
POST ID # = 556945
ssd_noob Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you Ram Guy.

2V is a pretty nice cushion.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 01-24-2012, 09:51 AM
G50EED's Avatar
G50EED G50EED is offline
Registered User
G50EED's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 339
POST ID # = 557103
G50EED Reputation: 20
Default

I have the same question with CMZ16GX3M4X1866C9R. With my particular overclock (125 x 35), my only speed options are 1666 and 2000. I've opted for the latter. I've set the timings to 9-10-9-27 and 2T as per the XMP profile. However, my motherboard sets the voltage at 1.65 and it typically is between 1.65 and 1.67. Though the PC will POST at 1.50v it will not boot into Windows (or run reliably) at anything less than 1.65. Is this a concern?

(Did you really get this RAM to run at 1.50v ;)? Is it because the CPU is OC'd that the voltage needs to be at 1.65v?)
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 01-25-2012, 06:44 AM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 557290
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

No, thats normal G50EED! 1.665v is what the XMP profile would use . The extra voltage is necessary when you run a high overclock like that. and as you have found out anything less than that, at those speeds wont produce a successful boot.

As long as the OC genie does not go higher than what it is , it's okay.

Personally, i have never had any luck with the OC genie. I always set things manually to be sure my settings stuck. But, thats just the OCD in me.*shrugs*

Anyway, and voltage required will be platform dependant too. AMD almost always require more voltage than an intel rig. Which is why the OP's OC genie was setting his ram at 1.8v
Quote:
Is it because the CPU is OC'd that the voltage needs to be at 1.65v?
)
Not so much the CPU. Thats DIMM voltage . Again,needed to run at higher than stock speeds. :)

Last edited by peanutz94; 01-25-2012 at 06:52 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 03-09-2012, 09:40 AM
Nilali Nilali is offline
Registered User
Nilali's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 566263
Nilali Reputation: 10
Default

Hello,

I have installed two CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9 RAMs.
I set them to 1.6V and now one of my RAMs seems to be defective.

I tested them with memtest one by one in a single slot. Only one of them worked fine. The other one has many errors at memtest.

My question: Can 1.6V damage a CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9 ? or do i have the option to send them back to vendor anymore?

greetings from germany


Edit:

Quote:
The modules can run up to 2.0 Volts
Sry, i havn't read this - so i think it wasn't my fault, that the RAM is damaged.

Last edited by Nilali; 03-09-2012 at 06:22 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 03-09-2012, 09:36 PM
peanutz94's Avatar
peanutz94 peanutz94 is offline
Support Assistant
peanutz94's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Akron,Ohio
Posts: 9,740
POST ID # = 566380
peanutz94 Reputation: 84
Default

No , 1.6 volts wont damage those modules. Some systems run them at 1.65v . And the modules them selves are good to about 2.0v before you could damage them.

Quote:
do i have the option to send them back to vendor anymore?
Sure, if you are still within your resellers policy that is certainly an option.

You can send it direct to corsair if not.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 03-09-2012, 11:05 PM
Synthohol's Avatar
Synthohol Synthohol is offline
LiquidNinja
Synthohol's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: looking through your window
Posts: 5,330
POST ID # = 566402
Synthohol Synthohol Reputation: 103
Send a message via AIM to Synthohol Send a message via Yahoo to Synthohol
Default

just wanted to pop in and remind folks that anything over the listed voltage please have good cooling like the nice Corsair fan or equivalent.
__________________
Thinking about combining 2 or more sets of ram?? even the same part# is not suggested, recommended or supported.

System Specs as of 6/17/10
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 03-10-2012, 06:25 AM
Nilali Nilali is offline
Registered User
Nilali's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 566445
Nilali Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you!

I'm regulary watching at the systemtempratures. So i'll give it a try and send them back.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.