The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Utility Engine (CUE)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-16-2017, 04:41 AM
Marmite_II Marmite_II is offline
Registered User
Marmite_II's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 70
POST ID # = 891444
Marmite_II Reputation: 10
Default New Version of CUE SDK still a problem

Hi corsair fans

I did report this to Corsair. (No-Replay from Corsair yet.) If i enable SDK and restart PC.
Lightning effect stays on for 2.5 cycles then stops on all red key's.

If I untick SDK the lightning effects work again. I don't need to play around with polling any more.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 02-16-2017, 07:12 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 18,635
POST ID # = 891469
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 104
Default

Create a new user for your computer login to it and run CUE. Does the issue still exist?
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 02-16-2017, 02:23 PM
Marmite_II Marmite_II is offline
Registered User
Marmite_II's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 70
POST ID # = 891525
Marmite_II Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
Create a new user for your computer login to it and run CUE. Does the issue still exist?
Hi

I don't see the logic creating another login user.
I said this was a new Win10 installation.

Same software for one user will be same software for other user?
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 02-17-2017, 01:43 AM
Marmite_II Marmite_II is offline
Registered User
Marmite_II's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 70
POST ID # = 891580
Marmite_II Reputation: 10
Default

Corsair Fans

This is the reply from Corsair:

Can you try doing a clean reinstall of Corsair Utility Engine?
1 - Uninstall the Corsair Link software and Link USB dongle, and Corsair Hydro Series 7289 USB Device through Windows Control Panel (Restart later for all programs)
2 - Hold the windows key and press "R" to open the windows run command
3 - Type in %APPDATA%
4 - Delete the Corsair Folder (backup any settings or profiles if you wish by saving it somewhere else)
5 - (Optional step) Run a registry cleaning software such as CCleaner (Run Registry Scan and fix issues - Link below):
https://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/download
6 - Restart your system
7 - Install the Corsair Link software. Please be sure to extract the zip file before running the installer.

( See Point 1. This one only shows in Device Manager Corsair Hydro Series 7289 USB Device other two can be removed under add and remove programs.)

Did as requested.
a) Even without link installed. SDK enabled, 2.5cycles and stops on all red key's.
b) After installing link software with SDK enabled it does the same as per point 1.


Now I need to concentrate to get Corsair-Link working. I have deleted my rant towards Corsair, sorry.

Last edited by Marmite_II; 02-17-2017 at 03:47 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 02-17-2017, 07:17 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 18,635
POST ID # = 891626
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 104
Default

I don't work for Corsair so i won't be able to see any of your ticket conversation.

If it was a fresh Windows 10 install and the SDK issue is still there, This would be the first report of something like this occurring.

I would assume everything is all up to date? e.g. USB chipset drivers, UEFI, Windows, keyboard firmware, tested the keyboard on Intel controlled ports etc.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 02-17-2017, 12:49 PM
Marmite_II Marmite_II is offline
Registered User
Marmite_II's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 70
POST ID # = 891660
Marmite_II Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
I don't work for Corsair so i won't be able to see any of your ticket conversation.

If it was a fresh Windows 10 install and the SDK issue is still there, This would be the first report of something like this occurring.

I would assume everything is all up to date? e.g. USB chipset drivers, UEFI, Windows, keyboard firmware, tested the keyboard on Intel controlled ports etc.
Hi tnx for replies. My keyboard and mouse is installed on USB 3 ports. This is default for keyboard and mouse.
I did use legacy USB 2 ports still the same.
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 02-17-2017, 01:56 PM
Comet ☄'s Avatar
Comet ☄ Comet ☄ is offline
Witch
Comet ☄'s PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: San Francisco Bay Area, California, U.S.A., Earth, Solar System, Orion Spiral Arm, Milky Way Galaxy, Local Group, Local Sheet, Local Volume, Virgo cluster, Virgo Supercluster, Laniakea Supercluster, Universe
Posts: 850
POST ID # = 891669
Comet ☄ Reputation: 10
Send a message via Yahoo to Comet ☄
Default

Hello Marmite,
As the problem appears when you enable the SDK, it may be that some program which is actually calling the SDK may be at fault. Toasted's suggestion on creation of a new user to see the behavior may help to determine this, as each user in a new Windows 10 installation (or other Windows versions, for that matter) has a set of unique registry keys, and these user-specific registry keys are used by many programs; you would see the behavior of CUE should the two users have different startup programs, perhaps, or if the two users (one should definitely not be created in the Administrator group, BTW) have different permissions.

Are you aware of any programs you are running that are using the CUE SDK? If these are auto-start programs, perhaps you can disable them to see your lighting behavior. The autoruns program from SysInternals hosted by Microsoft may be useful for reviewing all the programs currently set to ruin automatically.
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 02-17-2017, 02:58 PM
Marmite_II Marmite_II is offline
Registered User
Marmite_II's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 70
POST ID # = 891677
Marmite_II Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Comet ☄ View Post
Hello Marmite,
As the problem appears when you enable the SDK, it may be that some program which is actually calling the SDK may be at fault. Toasted's suggestion on creation of a new user to see the behavior may help to determine this, as each user in a new Windows 10 installation (or other Windows versions, for that matter) has a set of unique registry keys, and these user-specific registry keys are used by many programs; you would see the behavior of CUE should the two users have different startup programs, perhaps, or if the two users (one should definitely not be created in the Administrator group, BTW) have different permissions.

Are you aware of any programs you are running that are using the CUE SDK? If these are auto-start programs, perhaps you can disable them to see your lighting behavior. The autoruns program from SysInternals hosted by Microsoft may be useful for reviewing all the programs currently set to ruin automatically.
Are you aware of any programs you are running that are using the CUE SDK? I would not know who would use someone else's SDK.

Did run the Microsoft utility what to look for big Question?
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 02-17-2017, 03:43 PM
Marmite_II Marmite_II is offline
Registered User
Marmite_II's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 70
POST ID # = 891680
Marmite_II Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you for all that helped.

Problem SDK sorted.


I don't know who is a fault. My MSI Graphics card? It also has one BLING-BLING LED which was RED or I made it RED.
CUE-SDK who does have ownership of it?
I will inform Corsair support that this is fixed.

I also need to inform MSI about there software that makes use of CUE-SDK.
It seems MSI is at fault see attached picture.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg MSI.jpg (55.7 KB, 30 views)

Last edited by Marmite_II; 02-18-2017 at 12:13 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 02-18-2017, 07:46 AM
Toasted Toasted is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 18,635
POST ID # = 891758
Toasted Toasted Reputation: 104
Default

Any chance you can provide the software's name? Is it MSI Gaming App?
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 02-18-2017, 10:14 AM
Marmite_II Marmite_II is offline
Registered User
Marmite_II's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 70
POST ID # = 891777
Marmite_II Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasted View Post
Any chance you can provide the software's name? Is it MSI Gaming App?
Yes previous release and current. (6.1.0.18)

I'm still using the app, but switched of control.
Using fan control only.

Last edited by Marmite_II; 02-18-2017 at 10:19 AM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.