The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Customer Service > Warranty and RMA Questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-21-2018, 07:43 AM
cyclonechuah cyclonechuah is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 0
POST ID # = 969565
cyclonechuah Reputation: 10
Default Question Regarding about Replacement SSD

Hello, Guys.

Please allow me to share what my situation at the moment.

I am located in Malaysia, and purchase a Corsair SSD from a local retail shop few years back, and i did retain the receipt original copy.
On May 2018, my SSD "Corsair Neutron XT SSD 480GB" fail and contacted back the local retail shop for proceeding with the RMA procedure.

The RMA procedure itself do have some hiccups as from what i were told, Distributor for Corsair in Malaysia has been changed, and my RMA will be delayed. and i have no issue or problems as long as new distributor were willing to assist me.

Today, i receive contacts from the local retail shop to update me regarding about my RMA status.

My Corsair Neutron XT SSD 480GB will be replace with Corsair LE200 480GB.
No offense but, i purchase the Neutron XT SSD 480GB in the first place was because of it's MLC based NAND and that promises a better write endurance. And the replacement that i receive now is a TLC nand SSD.

Currently, i haven't receive the SSD as it is currently at retailer's place.

personally, i feel the replacement is a downgrade, and i`m skeptical about the Corsair LE200 480GB SSD Endurance rating since it's a TLC nand, and it's listed 120TBW.
Neutron XT MLC 480GB is listed as 124TBW.
Corsair LE200 480GB TLC 120TBW vs Corsair Neutron XT 480GB MLC 124TBW

I`m seeking advice and opinion for this matter. thanks for reading this.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-21-2018, 01:20 PM
Corsair Calico Jack's Avatar
Corsair Calico Jack Corsair Calico Jack is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 163
POST ID # = 969612
Corsair Calico Jack Reputation: 10
Default

Can I get your ticket number?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-21-2018, 01:47 PM
cyclonechuah cyclonechuah is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 0
POST ID # = 969618
cyclonechuah Reputation: 10
Default

Malaysia Corsair Distributor didn't provide me any ticket number.
i only have the RMA receipt from the retailer.

Can i get ticket number from Malaysia Corsair Distributor?

Or should i create a ticket in your system?

because currently the situation is quite messy at the moment.
New Corsair Malaysia distributor did not ask me if i`m okay with the replacement model which is the LE200 SSD, and directly send the replacement model to the retailer, and currently retailer wants to send the replacement SSD to me. I told the retailer to put on hold on this, and i would like to contact Corsair and seek out for advice and what options do i have.

Last edited by cyclonechuah; 08-21-2018 at 01:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-21-2018, 01:56 PM
Corsair Calico Jack's Avatar
Corsair Calico Jack Corsair Calico Jack is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 163
POST ID # = 969624
Corsair Calico Jack Reputation: 10
Default

Possibly. I mean, those aren't us. The distributors are people who buy product from us.

Some international retailers will do things like resolve RMA's for customer's instead of making them do the process themselves. They might have a ticket number on their end to provide to you if you request it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-22-2018, 03:05 AM
cyclonechuah cyclonechuah is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 0
POST ID # = 969710
cyclonechuah Reputation: 10
Default

thanks alot for the suggestion and advice.

I am currently contacting them at the moment. and seeking for more alternative options.

at the same time, i am also asking them for a ticket number. will update here once i get any reply.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-23-2018, 04:08 AM
cyclonechuah cyclonechuah is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 0
POST ID # = 969840
cyclonechuah Reputation: 10
Default

Hello.

I receive email replies from them, and they explain to me that the Neutron XT model is already EOL. And the only number they could provide is RMA number RMA#1452615.

Here's the original reply i got from them.


Please advice what should i do, as i am seeking for replacement that as on par with the Neutron XT SSD that i purchase in the first place.

Is Neutron XTi SSD is EOL as well? I am wondering why i am getting a downgraded replacement.

Last edited by cyclonechuah; 08-24-2018 at 01:35 PM. Reason: updated image with imgur image as hoster
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-23-2018, 01:15 PM
Corsair Calico Jack's Avatar
Corsair Calico Jack Corsair Calico Jack is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 163
POST ID # = 969899
Corsair Calico Jack Reputation: 10
Default

That's not what we would use as an RMA id. Maybe that's there own number.

I mean, I'm sorry. You can certainly bring this up with the agents you're speaking with but without direct information on it, I'm not even sure if it's going through us.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-23-2018, 01:23 PM
cyclonechuah cyclonechuah is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 0
POST ID # = 969901
cyclonechuah Reputation: 10
Default

is there any alternative solution for this? or could i RMA with you guys directly?
The Distributor says that they only carry Corsair LE200, and could only offers Corsair LE200 as a replacement, and claim that Corsair currently only have LE200 SSD available.
So i think the RMA procedure doesn't going through you guys.

While i believe your corsair webstore still sells Neutron XTi SSD.

Below is what they replied

Last edited by cyclonechuah; 08-24-2018 at 01:35 PM. Reason: updated image with imgur image as hoster
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-25-2018, 02:04 AM
cyclonechuah cyclonechuah is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 0
POST ID # = 970104
cyclonechuah Reputation: 10
Default

I've just register a account on Corsair Support and submited a ticket #771765
To my surprise, i am unable to register with my user ID "Cyclonechuah"
Does creating a forum account, automatically creates a support account as well? Or someone already taken my ID?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-29-2018, 06:05 PM
Corsair Calico Jack's Avatar
Corsair Calico Jack Corsair Calico Jack is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 163
POST ID # = 970723
Corsair Calico Jack Reputation: 10
Default

It automatically creates a Corsair account
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-05-2018, 11:42 PM
Technobeard's Avatar
Technobeard Technobeard is offline
Bearded Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,246
POST ID # = 971684
Technobeard Reputation: 68
Default

No, creating a forum account does not create a corsair.com account. They are separate systems.
__________________
“Humor is reason gone mad.” - Groucho Marx
"I suggest a full frontal assault with automated laser monkeys, scalpel mines and acid." - Psychotic potato dwarf
"Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, especially simian ones. They are not all that subtle." - Terry Pratchett
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.