The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > iCUE Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-08-2019, 10:25 PM
Braxton Eckert Braxton Eckert is offline
Registered User
Braxton Eckert's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 1000834
Braxton Eckert Reputation: 10
Important H115i with i3 (dont Judge) LED Headers on fan pump not working

Ok, so I currently am having trouble with my LED pump fan Header on my H115i, iCUE will recognize the pump, and I can assign it different lighting configs. But the fan header itself wont light up.
The fans are fine, but I did have trouble with another H115i that I ordered previously, but the LEDs on one of the fans didn't work (due to a missing pin in the connectors, I believe) and the Pump didn't work at all. I am hoping I dont have to order a third one.
I have tried force updating the firmware multiple times, switched SATA ports, triple-checked for any missing pins, but i couldnt find anything wrong!

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-09-2019, 12:07 AM
Johnny_B500 Johnny_B500 is offline
Registered User
Johnny_B500's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 105
POST ID # = 1000841
Johnny_B500 Reputation: 15
Default

I presume you're running the Platinum version? Anyway, have your tried a different USB cable and/or tried running a regular USB cable from your pump to a USB port on the back of your PC?
__________________
570X Mirror Black

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-09-2019, 08:23 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,153
POST ID # = 1000864
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

First, one of the fan headers will be missing a pin. That's fine and normal.

Try a different USB port but also try a different SATA line from the PSU - not just a different connector but a different line completely. Also, make sure that you aren't using any adapters or extensions.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-09-2019, 03:23 PM
Corsair Calico Jack's Avatar
Corsair Calico Jack Corsair Calico Jack is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 576
POST ID # = 1000923
Corsair Calico Jack Reputation: 10
Default

^^^^As stated above. Also try using a SATA cable that has NOTHING ELSE connected to it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-09-2019, 07:44 PM
Braxton Eckert Braxton Eckert is offline
Registered User
Braxton Eckert's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 1000968
Braxton Eckert Reputation: 10
Default

Hey thanks for the replys, and i tried all of your suggestions but, unfortunately none of them worked.
I also feel like I need to clarify what I said because looking over what I wrote, I seem to be incorrect in what i was saying...
The fans do work completely fine, but it is the fan header pump that is not working, I am receiving power from my SATA ports and im able to change the fans to different configurations completely fine, On the CUE software, it says that the pump is changing colors along with the fans, but its not. BTW it is the Platnuim addition, sorry for not adding that!
Again I really appreciate all the help you guys are offering me, Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-09-2019, 10:44 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,153
POST ID # = 1000984
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

The pump uses the 12V rail. The lighting uses the 5V rail.
So ... just because the pump is getting 12V doesn't mean that the LEDs are getting the 5V that they need.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-10-2019, 12:52 PM
Braxton Eckert Braxton Eckert is offline
Registered User
Braxton Eckert's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 1001058
Braxton Eckert Reputation: 10
Default

Ok so I tried using every different SATA cable running from my psu, but the leds are still not working for some reason.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-10-2019, 01:30 PM
Corsair Calico Jack's Avatar
Corsair Calico Jack Corsair Calico Jack is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 576
POST ID # = 1001061
Corsair Calico Jack Reputation: 10
Default

It's because of the PSU. Thermaltake's PSU's have some kind of on-demand power for their SATA cable that doesn't activate when connected through to the RGB coolers. In other words, the cooler's being powered, but the LED rail isn't. Try another SATA port, or if that specific PSU has software functionality, see if you can have the 3.3rail running all the time rather than the on-demand system Thermaltake is trying to use on it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-10-2019, 03:48 PM
RiverM RiverM is offline
Registered User
RiverM's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 45
POST ID # = 1001079
RiverM Reputation: 10
Default

I have a Thermaltake Toughpower Grand 650W RGB, non i model, power supply and have no problems with the H115i Pro or LNP and LL fans.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-10-2019, 06:14 PM
Corsair Calico Jack's Avatar
Corsair Calico Jack Corsair Calico Jack is offline
Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 576
POST ID # = 1001091
Corsair Calico Jack Reputation: 10
Default

I believe it's very specifically the "Smart" PSU line, because that one controls voltages directly.

Also, will say it's not experienced across the board. But, every time this issue shows up, the user has a Thermaltake PSU, normally Smart PSU line, and we're pretty sure we've traced the issue to their SATA cables.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-10-2019, 08:59 PM
Braxton Eckert Braxton Eckert is offline
Registered User
Braxton Eckert's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 1001107
Braxton Eckert Reputation: 10
Default

yeah i see what you mean now
Ive attempted to connect it to every diffrent sata cable in my PSU... with no luck...
Should I just invest into a new PSU?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-10-2019, 11:24 PM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 7,153
POST ID # = 1001114
DevBiker Reputation: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braxton Eckert View Post
yeah i see what you mean now
Ive attempted to connect it to every diffrent sata cable in my PSU... with no luck...
Should I just invest into a new PSU?
I would recommend a Corsair PSU, RMx or higher. ;-)

(And, seriously, I would ... I've had several TT failures while my Corsair PSUs have been rock solid.)
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-11-2019, 12:56 PM
Braxton Eckert Braxton Eckert is offline
Registered User
Braxton Eckert's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 1001160
Braxton Eckert Reputation: 10
Default

Alright cool, ill update u guys when I get the funding necessary to buy a power supply

I really appreciate the help!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-26-2019, 04:54 PM
Braxton Eckert Braxton Eckert is offline
Registered User
Braxton Eckert's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 11
POST ID # = 1005815
Braxton Eckert Reputation: 10
Default

Hey boys Its been a while, but i finally got a new psu, a CX650M, and its working great! The rgb pump head now works and im having no trouble with it. Thank guys for all ure help!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cooling, h115i rgb platinum, icue, problem

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.