The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-07-2011, 04:26 AM
cog cog is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 518267
cog Reputation: 10
Default Force 3 240GB Performance -- SATA2 -- HELP!

Ok, so I'm at my wits end here. My system is a brand new shiny Lenovo Thinkpad W520, complete with SATA3/6.0GB/s. I've tried every combination under the sun (SSD in main bay, in Ultra Bay, External eSATA) and I can't seem to crack the speed benchmarks of all the reviews that are showing ~500GB/s. I'm wallowing in this 200GB/s mess.

I've tried using both the Intel RST drivers as well as the base Windows drivers with little to no speed difference. I have ACHI turned on in the BIOS as well.

I've also tried installing from a stock Windows 7 ISO, adding the RST drivers during the install, and all benchmarks remain locked at about these speeds.

Does *anyone* have any thoughts here? I'm sick that I've just forked out nearly $500 for a sata3 SSD and am getting sata2 speeds...

Am about ready to punt the laptop and the drive and just go buy an AlienWare m18x and call it a day.

CrystalDiskInfo:


CrystalDiskMark:


ATTO:
Attached Images
File Type: png CDM.200.sata2speeds.png (52.3 KB, 805 views)
File Type: png ATTO.260.sata2speeds.png (40.3 KB, 781 views)
File Type: png CDI.nforce3.sata6.1.3fw.png (119.2 KB, 886 views)

Last edited by cog; 08-07-2011 at 04:48 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 08-07-2011, 04:32 AM
jeroompje jeroompje is offline
Banned
jeroompje's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 247
POST ID # = 518269
jeroompje Reputation: 10
Default

some basics:
- apply latest bios version
- enable ahci in bios
- enable hotplug in bios
- use intel sata-3 port

the crystaldiskmark with 0-fill data please

Last edited by jeroompje; 08-07-2011 at 04:46 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 08-07-2011, 04:52 AM
cog cog is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 518275
cog Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks for the reply so quickly. All of these benchmarks reflect AHCI being turned on in the bios. I've not seen an option for "hotplug". I've included the 0-fill stats.

Attached Images
File Type: png CDM.200.sata2speeds.0fill.png (44.8 KB, 823 views)
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 08-07-2011, 04:58 AM
jeroompje jeroompje is offline
Banned
jeroompje's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 247
POST ID # = 518278
jeroompje Reputation: 10
Default

hmmm
what about the bios version?
is it connected to a intel sata-3 port? not a marvell i hope :)
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 08-07-2011, 05:01 AM
cog cog is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 518279
cog Reputation: 10
Default

Additionally, the SSD Drive has been upgraded to the 1.3 firmware.

My current build is based on this absolutely wonderful walk-through put together by Matthew Ammann.

ThinkPads and SSDs Part 1: Preparation

ThinkPads and SSDs Part 2: Hard Drive Swapping and Windows 7 Installation

ThinkPads and SSDs Part 3: Windows 7 Configuration and SSD tweaks

Further details with this approach is that I used the USB installation method and have applied the SSD tweaks and turned off the defrag schedule.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 08-07-2011, 05:05 AM
jeroompje jeroompje is offline
Banned
jeroompje's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 247
POST ID # = 518280
jeroompje Reputation: 10
Default

on the Lenovo forum the problem is also reported with ssd's from other companies..
seems like a Lenovo problem..

http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/W-Series.../424167/page/2
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 08-07-2011, 05:07 AM
jeroompje jeroompje is offline
Banned
jeroompje's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 247
POST ID # = 518281
jeroompje Reputation: 10
Default

can you tell which sata controllers are on this machine and what and how many sata ports you have to connect drives to?
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 08-07-2011, 05:13 AM
jeroompje jeroompje is offline
Banned
jeroompje's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 247
POST ID # = 518284
jeroompje Reputation: 10
Default

a ASUS G74SX would also be very nice :)

Last edited by jeroompje; 08-07-2011 at 05:16 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 08-07-2011, 06:31 AM
cog cog is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 518293
cog Reputation: 10
Default

BIOS Version: 1.26 (just upgraded)

New benchmarks after BIOS upgrade... (slightly better, 0-fill)


While I hadn't experienced any sort of lock-ups, I went ahead and disabled Link Power Management through this guide.

New benchmarks after LPM disable... (slightly better, 0-fill)


Here's more details around the system/motherboard...


And details around the adapter...


While I understand that this REV4 of the adapter has some issues on ports 2+, ports 0 and 1 should be at full speed.
Attached Images
File Type: png CDM.200.sata2speeds.500mb.0fill.1.26BIOS.png (57.0 KB, 776 views)
File Type: png CDM.200.sata2speeds.500mb.0fill.LTMregpatch.png (56.9 KB, 778 views)
File Type: png HWINFO64.png (68.7 KB, 814 views)
File Type: png HWINFO64.IntelSATA.png (148.1 KB, 844 views)

Last edited by cog; 08-07-2011 at 06:52 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 08-07-2011, 06:59 AM
jeroompje jeroompje is offline
Banned
jeroompje's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 247
POST ID # = 518297
jeroompje Reputation: 10
Default

as far as i see, you've done everything okay.
my advice: contact Lenovo support.
Jerome.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 08-07-2011, 08:27 AM
cog cog is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 518307
cog Reputation: 10
Default

Alright, so next test was to actually connect the drive to a SATA6 connection on my desktop which is an ASUS P7P55D-E with dual SATA6 ports as just a sanity check. Without any driver, registry adjustments or SSD tweaks, the drive is pulling around 160MB/s.

I've called BestBuy and they are going to ship me another one. I'll post my results on the new drive when I receive it. Hopefully I'll be screaming at ~500MB/s soon. If not, I'll punt and try an Intel. If that fails, I'll punt and send this W520 back.
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 08-07-2011, 03:58 PM
jeroompje jeroompje is offline
Banned
jeroompje's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 247
POST ID # = 518414
jeroompje Reputation: 10
Default

the test with a p7p55d-e is not a good baseline, because it does not have native intel sata-3 ports, but uses marvell sata-3 ports (big trouble icw sandforce sata-3 ssd's).
at http://www.kitguru.net under Reviews/Components/ssd drives there's a review of the corsair force 3 120gb drive.
if you check page 4, you can compare the results (0-fill for comparision of maximum performance)
at http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...gb-review.html there's a review of the 240gb.

Last edited by jeroompje; 08-07-2011 at 04:10 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 08-19-2011, 05:33 AM
wharfer wharfer is offline
Registered User
wharfer's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 8
POST ID # = 521395
wharfer Reputation: 10
Default

I am using Asus P6X58D-E and Corsair Force 3 240GB. When installing Win 7 it couldn't be formatted and i had to go to CMD to partition and format manually. Then it hang for several times. I had to install OS on a normal SATA HD. And I tested the Corsair 240gb speed. The read was 400+mb/s which is not bad, but write only 200.
I upgraded my motherboard BIOS to the latest, it does have marvell sata3 controller. Some other issues occurred.
Anyone can recommend a PCI Intel SATA3 controller that i can buy and plug onto my motherboard to solve this issue?
The latest firmware upgrade on Corsair Force3 240GB specifically said it wont work on Marvell controller. This is bit of a joke and I wasted so much precious time.
Any help will be much appreciated!!!
Reply With Quote


  #14  
Old 08-25-2011, 08:21 AM
Mlau Mlau is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 10
POST ID # = 522832
Mlau Reputation: 10
Default

So, AsusG74sx, with Corsair Force Series 3, Firmware 1.3

_______________________________________________

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
CrystalDiskMark 3.0.1 (C) 2007-2010 hiyohiyo
Crystal Dew World : http://crystalmark.info/
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
* MB/s = 1,000,000 byte/s [SATA/300 = 300,000,000 byte/s]

Sequential Read : 459.700 MB/s
Sequential Write : 385.790 MB/s
Random Read 512KB : 391.910 MB/s
Random Write 512KB : 407.518 MB/s
Random Read 4KB (QD=1) : 26.998 MB/s [ 6591.4 IOPS]
Random Write 4KB (QD=1) : 44.352 MB/s [ 10828.1 IOPS]
Random Read 4KB (QD=32) : 111.649 MB/s [ 27258.2 IOPS]
Random Write 4KB (QD=32) : 102.973 MB/s [ 25140.0 IOPS]

Test : 1000 MB [C: 47.3% (26.4/55.8 GB)] (x5) <All 0x00, 0Fill>
Date : 2011/08/25 14:18:43
OS : Windows 7 Home Premium Edition SP1 [6.1 Build 7601] (x64)

__________________________________________________

The results fluctuate a bit but it's in this vicinity with 0fill. I'm a HD noob so I've no idea if this is good or bad.
I don't believe the G74SX has Sata3 support sadly.

Edit:
Using the 64 bit version gave me this... The difference seems significant...

___________________________________________________
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
CrystalDiskMark 3.0.1 x64 (C) 2007-2010 hiyohiyo
Crystal Dew World : http://crystalmark.info/
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
* MB/s = 1,000,000 byte/s [SATA/300 = 300,000,000 byte/s]

Sequential Read : 455.771 MB/s
Sequential Write : 422.870 MB/s
Random Read 512KB : 380.602 MB/s
Random Write 512KB : 387.846 MB/s
Random Read 4KB (QD=1) : 27.402 MB/s [ 6690.0 IOPS]
Random Write 4KB (QD=1) : 46.065 MB/s [ 11246.3 IOPS]
Random Read 4KB (QD=32) : 112.104 MB/s [ 27369.1 IOPS]
Random Write 4KB (QD=32) : 281.634 MB/s [ 68758.4 IOPS]

Test : 1000 MB [C: 47.5% (26.5/55.8 GB)] (x5) <All 0x00, 0Fill>
Date : 2011/08/25 15:54:11
OS : Windows 7 Home Premium Edition SP1 [6.1 Build 7601] (x64)
____________________________________________________

Last edited by Mlau; 08-25-2011 at 09:55 AM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.