The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Link

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-15-2019, 05:27 AM
Demolisher Demolisher is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 997788
Demolisher Reputation: 10
Default Fan setup with commander pro

Hi there!

Verry new here and already I need your help :)

Im building a giant case, where I need to opperate 16 fans.
16 LL fans that is.

I'll need to opperate 4 stacks, of 4 fans. (4x 480 rads)

What is the best way to let this work?

For what I understand, is when i get a CORSAIR Commander PRO, I can connect 2 Lighting Node pro's to it.
And I need 1 Node for every 4 stack if I'm right.

That would mean that I needed 2 commander pro's?
And my motherboard only has 1 USB2.0....

So.... anny suggestions?



**Edit**

So... I'm a donkey
When i look at the diagrams (http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=173880) I think I figuered it out.

1 Commander pro using its 2 LED channels to drive 2 RGB Fan LED HUBS (so, thats 2x 4 fans done)
Then, using its 1 RGB header, to drive 1 Lighting Node Pro, wich drives 2 RGB Fan Hubs, wich drive 4 fans each.

Correct?

Last edited by Demolisher; 03-15-2019 at 05:36 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-15-2019, 08:38 AM
DevBiker's Avatar
DevBiker DevBiker is offline
iCue βeta Team Green
DevBiker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 6,352
POST ID # = 997801
DevBiker Reputation: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Demolisher View Post
**Edit**

So... I'm a donkey
When i look at the diagrams (http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=173880) I think I figuered it out.

1 Commander pro using its 2 LED channels to drive 2 RGB Fan LED HUBS (so, thats 2x 4 fans done)
Then, using its 1 RGB header, to drive 1 Lighting Node Pro, wich drives 2 RGB Fan Hubs, wich drive 4 fans each.

Correct?
Almost. The Lighting Node Pro would be connected to the Commander Pro's USB header, not RGB header.

There are also splitters available for the Fan Hub connections ... so you can put 2x Fan Hubs on a single channel. The down side is that the channels are duplicates of each other so you lose some control.
__________________
Please click "Edit System Specs" and fill out your system info.

This comment is provided "as-is", without warranty of any kind, express or implied, including, but not limited to, the sanity or mental fitness of the author. The author is not a Corsair employee, does not represent Corsair, and no comment should be construed as an official statement from Corsair.

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-15-2019, 10:49 AM
Demolisher Demolisher is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 997821
Demolisher Reputation: 10
Default

Ah, right, USB header.....

But... If I understand correctly, using ONLY the Commander Pro, and two splitters, I could drive 4 RGB Fan Hubs? So no need for the Lighting Pro?
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-15-2019, 11:34 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is online now
iCue βeta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 2,566
POST ID # = 997823
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

Yes you can do that buddy.. just remember this is not how Corsair Spec'd it so you are operating at your own risk ;) not that we have found any.... mine are on splitters ;) :)..
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-15-2019, 01:42 PM
Demolisher Demolisher is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 997837
Demolisher Reputation: 10
Default

Thanks!

Good to know that for furture endavors....

For now, 4 tripple packs LL120's, 4 single's and 1 commander Pro are on their way to my front door :)

This turned out to be quite a bit cheaper then 16 single's with 4 RGB hubs and 1 commander seperate
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 03-16-2019, 02:24 AM
Zotty's Avatar
Zotty Zotty is online now
iCue βeta Team
Zotty's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South Staffordshire, England, UK
Posts: 2,566
POST ID # = 997915
Zotty Reputation: 52
Default

good luck on your quest dude
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.