Corsair Community

"Professional Series” HX750W almost burned my house down!

onryo

I am a system administrator for a large company. Although I am American I am working in Sweden. While setting up a few servers (GNU/Linux Debian Stable) a few years back I saw a few videos and read a few reviews about the “Professional Series” HX750W. The videos bragged about “no surprises”, ultimate stability and the 7 year warranty.

These are headless servers (no GPU, keyboards, mouse) on professional Intel server platforms. The servers have zero downtime. The PSU was mainly loaded by the RAID 1,0 systems and networking cards with a total load on the PSU of about 320 Watts with the LAMP stack tuned at heavy load. Never had a glitch with any of the servers.

Around two weeks ago one of the servers went down. Normally I SSH into the system to inspect an issue. That did not work. I then physical checked out the server and quickly realized that it was dead as a door nail. No networking lights etc. Pushing the power button gave a little life and then nothing. I removed the “Professional Series” Corsair and dropped in a top of the line S**Sonic Platinum PSU. The server was back to life. A bit annoyed I tested the PSU by crossing the green and black wire after watching the official Corsair video. The fan did not move even with a slight load. The PSU was dead.

RMA time.

I had quickly found box the PSU came in. We save everything. There was a red note saying to contact Corsair and not the distributer of the item. After a description of the incident I was given and RMA number. I was expecting a phone call and a resolve in the next 24 hours. I have worked in the US and know how this works.

A few days later I get this RMA number ...