The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 22 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #16  
Old 01-26-2011, 12:04 PM
xgman xgman is offline
Registered User
xgman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 26
POST ID # = 486418
xgman Reputation: 10
Default

The way I figure it, I'm not going to pay any premium for an SSD and then be constantly worrying about running out of space. Pay now or pay later basically. Anyway, received the drive today. Psyched to get it cloned over.
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old 01-26-2011, 03:32 PM
paesan paesan is offline
Registered User
paesan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 33
POST ID # = 486460
paesan Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xgman View Post
The way I figure it, I'm not going to pay any premium for an SSD and then be constantly worrying about running out of space. Pay now or pay later basically. Anyway, received the drive today. Psyched to get it cloned over.
Very true if money is not an issue. However, I have only a fixed amount of cash to spend so I must compromise and get the 128 gig drive. Trust me if I could afford the 256 gig drive I would buy it. NewEgg decided to increase the price of the 256 gig drive to $659

Last edited by paesan; 01-26-2011 at 03:34 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #18  
Old 01-27-2011, 12:11 PM
xgman xgman is offline
Registered User
xgman's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 26
POST ID # = 486593
xgman Reputation: 10
Default

Then again, you might want to wait. My P3-256 came DOA. Would not initialize in PC or Mac or anywhere. kept saying i/o error, can't allocate memory when trying to initialize or format etc.
Reply With Quote


  #19  
Old 01-27-2011, 05:12 PM
Squuiid Squuiid is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 486634
Squuiid Reputation: 10
Default

I cannot believe NE just upped the price from $599 to $650! Very disappointed. $599 was pushing the limit, that extra $50 will make me look elsewhere for a 256MB drive. Short sighted move.
Reply With Quote


  #20  
Old 01-28-2011, 08:02 AM
paesan paesan is offline
Registered User
paesan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 33
POST ID # = 486697
paesan Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squuiid View Post
I cannot believe NE just upped the price from $599 to $650! Very disappointed. $599 was pushing the limit, that extra $50 will make me look elsewhere for a 256MB drive. Short sighted move.
Lol, NE went up agian, it is now $699
Reply With Quote


  #21  
Old 01-28-2011, 08:09 AM
paesan paesan is offline
Registered User
paesan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 33
POST ID # = 486699
paesan Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xgman View Post
Then again, you might want to wait. My P3-256 came DOA. Would not initialize in PC or Mac or anywhere. kept saying i/o error, can't allocate memory when trying to initialize or format etc.

Too late I already ordered it and it will arrive today. It should have been delivered yesterday but the snow delayed my delivery. I will let you know how my drive works out 128 gig. Sorry to hear yours was DOA.

Last edited by paesan; 01-28-2011 at 11:56 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #22  
Old 01-28-2011, 01:49 PM
Squuiid Squuiid is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 486749
Squuiid Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paesan View Post
Lol, NE went up agian, it is now $699
LOL, just saw. They're crazy. Defo not worth that cash.
1st review of the 256GB model on NE is one star. DOA.
Reply With Quote


  #23  
Old 01-28-2011, 04:28 PM
Squuiid Squuiid is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 486787
Squuiid Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squuiid View Post
LOL, just saw. They're crazy. Defo not worth that cash.
1st review of the 256GB model on NE is one star. DOA.
OK.... now it has gone up to $709.99. What?!
Reply With Quote


  #24  
Old 01-28-2011, 04:32 PM
Synbios's Avatar
Synbios Synbios is offline
Registered User
Synbios's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 1,158
POST ID # = 486788
Synbios Reputation: 10
Send a message via AIM to Synbios
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squuiid View Post
OK.... now it has gone up to $709.99. What?!
Newegg is insane sometimes...

At least it's better than the used one posted on Amazon for 800.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listi...condition=used
__________________
Force drive not recognized in firmware update utility? Click here
Reply With Quote


  #25  
Old 01-29-2011, 09:22 AM
forgetfool forgetfool is offline
Registered User
forgetfool's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
POST ID # = 486862
forgetfool Reputation: 10
Default

Just got my P3-256 as a replacement for an impossible to configure Ibis drive (NewEgg is great). This is my first SSD and I'm terrified of screwin' something up. The system is currently running/booting on an older set of (4) Raptor platter drives in RAID 0. What would be the simplest way to install the neww SSD and copy/clone the RAID info onto the new drive, or should I just start from scratch? Acronis, et al, or is there a simpler way? Also loaded newest Marvel drivers for my SATA3 controller but have read cautions on using. Any comment?
Reply With Quote


  #26  
Old 01-30-2011, 09:46 AM
paesan paesan is offline
Registered User
paesan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 33
POST ID # = 486968
paesan Reputation: 10
Default

Installed my 128 gig drive into my system in the sata3 port and it runs great. I have a i5 2500k, P8P67 board and 2 x 4 gig GS ram. I ran the Atto Benchmark and got the rated speeds.
Lol, it took me a while on how to figure out on how to save the benchmark as a jpeg.

atto p3.jpg

Last edited by paesan; 01-30-2011 at 10:00 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #27  
Old 01-30-2011, 11:49 AM
Cripth Cripth is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 486976
Cripth Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paesan View Post
Installed my 128 gig drive into my system in the sata3 port and it runs great. I have a i5 2500k, P8P67 board and 2 x 4 gig GS ram. I ran the Atto Benchmark and got the rated speeds.
Lol, it took me a while on how to figure out on how to save the benchmark as a jpeg.

Attachment 7926
Could you post AS SSD results? I'm curious about randon 4k read
Reply With Quote


  #28  
Old 01-30-2011, 11:55 AM
phillyman36 phillyman36 is offline
Registered User
phillyman36's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 109
POST ID # = 486977
phillyman36 Reputation: 10
Default

Did the drive come with any software? I know it supports trim but does it have its own garbage collection utility?

Last edited by phillyman36; 01-30-2011 at 12:45 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #29  
Old 01-30-2011, 04:18 PM
paesan paesan is offline
Registered User
paesan's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 33
POST ID # = 486998
paesan Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cripth View Post
Could you post AS SSD results? I'm curious about randon 4k read
What is "AS". sorry.
Reply With Quote


  #30  
Old 01-30-2011, 04:21 PM
Cripth Cripth is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 486999
Cripth Reputation: 10
Default

"AS SSD" is a benchmark software specific for SSDs. You can find it here:

Removed Not supported on our drives

No installs required.

Last edited by RAM GUY; 02-01-2011 at 02:32 PM.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.