The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Solid State Drives (SSD)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 117 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #16  
Old 07-26-2010, 06:56 AM
biatche biatche is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 176
POST ID # = 458725
biatche Reputation: 10
Default

dikai_yang: since you seem very enthusiastic with testing. Go to task scheduler, you'll find many tasks that happens during idle / fixed schedule early mornings. You may suspect it's disk defrag, but it isn't. See if you can run something in there manually to trigger this.
Reply With Quote


  #17  
Old 07-26-2010, 07:26 AM
xsherlock xsherlock is offline
Registered User
xsherlock's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 13
POST ID # = 458727
xsherlock Reputation: 10
Default

dikai_yang what is your BIOS release of ASUS MB?

I have EXACTLY the same PROBLEM with quite simillar PC setup.
Reply With Quote


  #18  
Old 07-26-2010, 12:25 PM
dikai_yang dikai_yang is offline
Registered User
dikai_yang's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 48
POST ID # = 458750
dikai_yang Reputation: 10
Default

Xsherlock: my P6X58D-E and your premium version of the board have different BIOS revision numbers. If you're interested I am using 303, latest for my board.

Biatche and for everybody having the same problem, there's an updated Intel RST 9.6.4.1002 floating on Google (not yet on the Intel website). I installed it last night, my computer has been running for 12 hours and it has not rebooted itself yet. I will update. (of course this brings back the sleep/wake problem which I can live with by disabling sleep). If my computer can run for 48 hours without a restart, I'll say we've got an acceptable solution.

Note: the change log for this driver is supposed to fix the sleep/hybernate BSOD, which it has not; instead, it might actually fix our random restart problem. Let's keep our fingers crossed.

I do have doubts because my F120 does restart itself with the Marvell controller/driver as well.

Last edited by dikai_yang; 07-26-2010 at 12:30 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #19  
Old 07-26-2010, 03:28 PM
biatche biatche is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 176
POST ID # = 458777
biatche Reputation: 10
Default

dikai_yang mind disabline automatic restart... so that u won't get the random restart problem

and grab the bsod error message?

changelog of new rst does look promising indeed.

Last edited by biatche; 07-26-2010 at 03:32 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #20  
Old 07-26-2010, 04:39 PM
dikai_yang dikai_yang is offline
Registered User
dikai_yang's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 48
POST ID # = 458799
dikai_yang Reputation: 10
Default

The BSOD simply says the restart is due to system stops responding with an error code of 0x000000F4. There's no other description such as page error in non-paged area, etc).

17 hours, the computer is still running. But don't get your hopes up on the sleep / wake bsod because I tried and it's not fixed contrary to the new rst changelog. But it's much more acceptable now that the system doesn't (hasn't?) restart on its own.
Reply With Quote


  #21  
Old 07-26-2010, 04:46 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 458803
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

I would set it to Suspend to Disk rather that suspend to RAM and see if that will solve this issue.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #22  
Old 07-26-2010, 05:32 PM
dikai_yang dikai_yang is offline
Registered User
dikai_yang's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 48
POST ID # = 458819
dikai_yang Reputation: 10
Default

Never mind about the new driver. It gave me a stop error c000021a. I'll just rma. I gave up
Reply With Quote


  #23  
Old 07-26-2010, 05:58 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 458824
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

That looks to be a Windows issue.
Please see KB156669
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #24  
Old 07-26-2010, 06:01 PM
biatche biatche is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 176
POST ID # = 458825
biatche Reputation: 10
Default

You get such errors because you lose connectivity to the ssd. Something like unplugging a running hdd. I think since no one properly understands.. next time it happens in front of me, i should make a video of the process.
Reply With Quote


  #25  
Old 07-26-2010, 06:04 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 458827
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

That's has not been stated; please keep to your own thread biatche you are not helping spreading rumors that are unfounded.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.

Last edited by RAM GUY; 08-06-2010 at 08:14 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #26  
Old 07-26-2010, 06:21 PM
biatche biatche is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 176
POST ID # = 458831
biatche Reputation: 10
Default

Critical 2010-07-08 9:02:00 AM Kernel-Power 41 (63)
Critical 2010-07-08 8:22:35 PM Kernel-Power 41 (63)
Critical 2010-07-09 8:26:56 AM Kernel-Power 41 (63)
Critical 2010-07-20 10:52:00 AM Kernel-Power 41 (63)
Critical 2010-07-24 11:06:18 PM Kernel-Power 41 (63)
Critical 2010-07-26 1:56:40 PM Kernel-Power 41 (63)

OK Fine. I'm experiencing the same issue as the topic starter. (Do you need this in my first post? I mean we're facing the same thing) It usually happens during idle.. but I've seen it happen in front of me with my own eyes.

HDD missing after "auto restart" remains a mystery. Windows disconnected the drive?
http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=88212

Is there something that we're doing wrong because we've tried a lot of stuff and I'm beginning to get the sensation that it's being made that the issue is not Corsair and rather something else. With sleep, hibernation and hybrid sleep all disabled, I don't see how suspend to ram or disk actually helps.

Sorry if you think this is all about spreading rumors. I'm looking for a solution - FAST.

There are about 10-15 threads regarding this, and you feel that this issue should be handled individually??

I'll play your game and stick to topic from now.
Reply With Quote


  #27  
Old 07-26-2010, 06:45 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,184
POST ID # = 458833
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dikai_yang View Post
there's an updated Intel RST 9.6.4.1002 floating on Google (not yet on the Intel website).
http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Deta...18667&lang=eng
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #28  
Old 07-26-2010, 07:11 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 458840
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

biatche
This is no game to us or any one else so please don't treat it that way.
We are looking into this and if there is any more information we will provide it ASAP.
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #29  
Old 07-26-2010, 08:13 PM
dikai_yang dikai_yang is offline
Registered User
dikai_yang's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 48
POST ID # = 458850
dikai_yang Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RAM GUY View Post
That looks to be a Windows issue.
Please see KB156669
When this only happens on the Corsair SSD and not my mechanical HDD from the same disk image, I think this is a Corsair issue indeed. I am still convinced that the Corsair SSD controller stops communicating to the mobo controller randomly and thus causing the BSOD. I just don't see why if it's only a Windows problem, it doesn't happen on a real hard drive.
Reply With Quote


  #30  
Old 07-26-2010, 08:22 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 458859
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

It may be but when exactly does that happen and do you have suspend to RAM enabled?
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.