The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Corsair Utility Engine (CUE) 1.x and 2.x

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-14-2017, 04:01 PM
LLama71 LLama71 is offline
Registered User
LLama71's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Europe
Posts: 139
POST ID # = 895147
LLama71 Reputation: 10
Default A couple of suggestions for CUE

One thing that was asked by a few people was a lights-out timer or automatic switching to a profile (one with all lights off or a rainbow or whatever the user wishes) after a given amount of time without any user input. I'd like the lights to turn off after 30 mins when I leave my PC for hours and hours.

The second thing I feel would improve CUE would be the ability to disable the Num/Caps/Scroll lock lights. My K95 RGB is RGB, and those lights are very much W, without any R, G or B. I just want the Num Lock light off while having the numpad configured to numbers.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 03-15-2017, 04:40 AM
Comet ☄'s Avatar
Comet ☄ Comet ☄ is offline
Witch
Comet ☄'s PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: San Francisco Bay Area, California
Posts: 878
POST ID # = 895225
Comet ☄ Reputation: 10
Send a message via Yahoo to Comet ☄
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LLama71 View Post
One thing that was asked by a few people was a lights-out timer or automatic switching to a profile (one with all lights off or a rainbow or whatever the user wishes) after a given amount of time without any user input. I'd like the lights to turn off after 30 mins when I leave my PC for hours and hours.

The second thing I feel would improve CUE would be the ability to disable the Num/Caps/Scroll lock lights. My K95 RGB is RGB, and those lights are very much W, without any R, G or B. I just want the Num Lock light off while having the numpad configured to numbers.
  1. Set your default profile to lights off and save it to your K95 RGB. Set your screen saver to activate when idle.
  2. Turn off the Num/Caps/Scroll lock lights, and define actions for the corresponding keys that will switch to profiles that redefine keypad/alphabetic keys.
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 03-15-2017, 08:56 AM
LLama71 LLama71 is offline
Registered User
LLama71's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Europe
Posts: 139
POST ID # = 895264
LLama71 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Comet ☄ View Post
  1. Set your default profile to lights off and save it to your K95 RGB. Set your screen saver to activate when idle.
  2. Turn off the Num/Caps/Scroll lock lights, and define actions for the corresponding keys that will switch to profiles that redefine keypad/alphabetic keys.
  1. I have tried that; it works if I double-click the screensaver file. It doesn't if the screensaver starts on its own.
  2. It's what I use right now; my numpad is bound to the number keys from above the letters. However, games normally see the number line and the numpad as different keys, so I cannot bind one action to 1 and another to Num1 as Num1 acts as 1.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 03-15-2017, 09:03 PM
Comet ☄'s Avatar
Comet ☄ Comet ☄ is offline
Witch
Comet ☄'s PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: San Francisco Bay Area, California
Posts: 878
POST ID # = 895351
Comet ☄ Reputation: 10
Send a message via Yahoo to Comet ☄
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LLama71 View Post
  1. I have tried that; it works if I double-click the screensaver file. It doesn't if the screensaver starts on its own.
  2. It's what I use right now; my numpad is bound to the number keys from above the letters. However, games normally see the number line and the numpad as different keys, so I cannot bind one action to 1 and another to Num1 as Num1 acts as 1.
Yes, you do want the numeric keypad to be toggleable so that the application-mode keystroke of the key is sent to the game; you can make a copy of your profile and define the NumLock key to switch between them--that way you can enable/disable the functions of the keypad without turning on the number key indicator, and still have the right thing set to your game.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 03-16-2017, 04:11 AM
LLama71 LLama71 is offline
Registered User
LLama71's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Europe
Posts: 139
POST ID # = 895373
LLama71 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Comet ☄ View Post
Yes, you do want the numeric keypad to be toggleable so that the application-mode keystroke of the key is sent to the game; you can make a copy of your profile and define the NumLock key to switch between them--that way you can enable/disable the functions of the keypad without turning on the number key indicator, and still have the right thing set to your game.
I managed to get the lights to turn off by disabling the screensaver, getting its file, renaming it to .exe and getting a scheduled task to execute it after 15 minutes of inactivity. So first problem solved, even though it's not as straight-forward as I'd like.

I'll try what you said when I get home from work.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.