The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 41 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #151  
Old 05-05-2014, 06:42 PM
Linker Linker is offline
Registered User
Linker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 709548
Linker Reputation: 10
Default

Could you guys take a look in ticket #6461182?

I'd like to know if that advanced shipping (where you guys send me a PSU first so I won't stay without a PSU anytime during the RMA) is working for my country? I live in Brazil.

Thanks again.


  #152  
Old 05-05-2014, 07:09 PM
Technobeard's Avatar
Technobeard Technobeard is offline
Bearded Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,265
POST ID # = 709573
Technobeard Reputation: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Linker View Post
Could you guys take a look in ticket #6461182?

I'd like to know if that advanced shipping (where you guys send me a PSU first so I won't stay without a PSU anytime during the RMA) is working for my country? I live in Brazil.

Thanks again.
All RMA policies are worldwide.
__________________
“Humor is reason gone mad.” - Groucho Marx
"I suggest a full frontal assault with automated laser monkeys, scalpel mines and acid." - Psychotic potato dwarf
"Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, especially simian ones. They are not all that subtle." - Terry Pratchett


  #153  
Old 05-05-2014, 08:03 PM
Linker Linker is offline
Registered User
Linker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 709608
Linker Reputation: 10
Default

Thank you for its incredible speed in answering my RMA after I posted here, I'm here glad about it.

I'd like ask just a few more questions, though.

First of all is: Will I have any costs on sending this PSU to you guys? I heard that, to this problem specifically, you guys are sending PSUs in advance, so we won't be without a PSU anytime. Will this work for me?

2: As I asked on the first question, if that works or if it doesn't, in any case, will I have to spend money to send the PSU to you? My ticket says they requested a UPS call-tag for me, and that they will contact me to schedule a pick-up, that means I won't pay anything? I'm asking because shipment costs from my country to another one are really expensive here, it costs up to 50% the value of PSU, and if I have to pay anything, I won't be able to return it.

Thank you again.


  #154  
Old 05-05-2014, 08:44 PM
Technobeard's Avatar
Technobeard Technobeard is offline
Bearded Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,265
POST ID # = 709626
Technobeard Reputation: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Linker View Post
Thank you for its incredible speed in answering my RMA after I posted here, I'm here glad about it.

I'd like ask just a few more questions, though.

First of all is: Will I have any costs on sending this PSU to you guys? I heard that, to this problem specifically, you guys are sending PSUs in advance, so we won't be without a PSU anytime. Will this work for me?

2: As I asked on the first question, if that works or if it doesn't, in any case, will I have to spend money to send the PSU to you? My ticket says they requested a UPS call-tag for me, and that they will contact me to schedule a pick-up, that means I won't pay anything? I'm asking because shipment costs from my country to another one are really expensive here, it costs up to 50% the value of PSU, and if I have to pay anything, I won't be able to return it.

Thank you again.
Please respond back to your ticket if you have questions on what someone said in the ticket. It's the most efficient way to get help. Yes, we're paying for the shipping.
__________________
“Humor is reason gone mad.” - Groucho Marx
"I suggest a full frontal assault with automated laser monkeys, scalpel mines and acid." - Psychotic potato dwarf
"Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, especially simian ones. They are not all that subtle." - Terry Pratchett


  #155  
Old 05-10-2014, 10:01 PM
grhu8175 grhu8175 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 4
POST ID # = 710532
grhu8175 Reputation: 10
Default

Hi TechnoBeard

Can i be sure that the RMA-ed units will be from the updated batches as well?
As i understand, i maybe receiving refurbished units, so just want to know that even these units have been updated to fix the thermal issues.

Over here in Singapore, hitting above 35 deg Cel is like an everyday event.

Thanks.


  #156  
Old 05-10-2014, 10:40 PM
Technobeard's Avatar
Technobeard Technobeard is offline
Bearded Corsair Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4,265
POST ID # = 710536
Technobeard Reputation: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grhu8175 View Post
Hi TechnoBeard

Can i be sure that the RMA-ed units will be from the updated batches as well?
As i understand, i maybe receiving refurbished units, so just want to know that even these units have been updated to fix the thermal issues.

Over here in Singapore, hitting above 35 deg Cel is like an everyday event.

Thanks.
Yes. It was fixed months and months ago.
__________________
“Humor is reason gone mad.” - Groucho Marx
"I suggest a full frontal assault with automated laser monkeys, scalpel mines and acid." - Psychotic potato dwarf
"Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, especially simian ones. They are not all that subtle." - Terry Pratchett


  #157  
Old 05-14-2014, 04:03 AM
Linker Linker is offline
Registered User
Linker's PC Specs
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 710916
Linker Reputation: 10
Default

Could you guys take a look in ticket #6461182?

I really would like it to be answer until Friday since I scheduled a pick-up from UPS to that day.


  #158  
Old 05-14-2014, 09:29 AM
tjieh81 tjieh81 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 710943
tjieh81 Reputation: 10
Default

Hi, i just recently bought the RM850

my SN:14077606000******

does this mean my unit is not the impacted by the recall ?

i'm asking this is becase i've never see the fan in action (which i under the zero rpm feature)
but when i check the PSU after 30min the system is on. it feels extremely hot i can barely put my hand on the top surface. i'm sure it definately over 55c degrees

is this normal is PS is above 50c degree and the fan still not on ?

thanks


  #159  
Old 05-14-2014, 01:06 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,864
POST ID # = 710964
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tjieh81 View Post
Hi, i just recently bought the RM850

my SN:14077606000******


does this mean my unit is not the impacted by the recall ?
You're good.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tjieh81 View Post
i'm asking this is becase i've never see the fan in action (which i under the zero rpm feature)
but when i check the PSU after 30min the system is on. it feels extremely hot i can barely put my hand on the top surface. i'm sure it definately over 55c degrees

is this normal is PS is above 50c degree and the fan still not on ?

thanks
Could be that the housing is hot, but there's two thermistors inside the PSU. If the PSU was too hot, the fan would either turn on or the whole PC would shut off.

Including your system specs would help a lot.


  #160  
Old 05-14-2014, 02:42 PM
tjieh81 tjieh81 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 710971
tjieh81 Reputation: 10
Default

ya the housing is really hot, it is normal ?

my system

i5 4670K
asus ROG max vi hero z87 chipset
Asus R280x video card
Kingston 8gb ram 1600mhz
samsung 128gb SSD
2 500gb sata hdd

i do have few case fan
2 for front 1 top and 1 back


  #161  
Old 05-14-2014, 03:43 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,864
POST ID # = 710984
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

"Really hot" is a relative term without a number attached.

Your PC is barely 400W under full load, so you're probably not going to see the PSU fan ever run, but if you want to give it a shot, fire up Prime95 on all but one of your CPU cores and run Furmark at full screen and see if the PSU fan starts up.

What chassis and how is the PSU oriented?


  #162  
Old 05-15-2014, 03:12 PM
tjieh81 tjieh81 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
POST ID # = 711111
tjieh81 Reputation: 10
Default

the case is corsair 230t
PSU fan is facing down


  #163  
Old 05-15-2014, 11:32 PM
jonnyguru jonnyguru is offline
PSU GUY
jonnyguru's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,864
POST ID # = 711143
jonnyguru jonnyguru Reputation: 179
Send a message via ICQ to jonnyguru Send a message via MSN to jonnyguru Send a message via Yahoo to jonnyguru Send a message via Skype™ to jonnyguru
Default

Again... try Prime95 and Furmark and see if the fan spins up.


  #164  
Old 05-19-2014, 12:54 PM
Yellowbeard's Avatar
Yellowbeard Yellowbeard is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta,GA, USA.
Posts: 11,531
POST ID # = 711433
Yellowbeard Reputation: 46
Default

Due to the fanless mode, the outer housing of the PSU will often feel much warmer when with a low load, when the fan is off. This is fine and well within the safe operating parameters for our PSUs.

Under heavier loads, the PSU internals will generate more heat but, the fans will run so the outer housing will be cooled.


  #165  
Old 05-28-2014, 04:11 AM
metalmike's Avatar
metalmike metalmike is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 712586
metalmike Reputation: 10
Default

Could you take a look in ticket #6471258?

Same fan problem with the 1333 LOT here, would like some help.


Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.