The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 28 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #61  
Old 12-05-2009, 06:34 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,184
POST ID # = 429643
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Well ATI's correct, that PSU CAN handle those video cards. They don't say if it can handle the rest of the system with them however :)
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #62  
Old 12-06-2009, 02:09 AM
gutcheck gutcheck is offline
Registered User
gutcheck's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 370
POST ID # = 429677
gutcheck Reputation: 10
Default

Well I have a 5970 and a 5850 on a hx1000 right now and it seems to be OK. The way I see it is it is less power then 2 x 295's, which is OK by Corsair, so I just don't get it. I can get the 5970 up to 5870 clock speeds on stock voltage, so I'm gonna run with it.
Reply With Quote


  #63  
Old 12-06-2009, 05:56 AM
FEAR6655 FEAR6655 is offline
Registered User
FEAR6655's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 249
POST ID # = 429691
FEAR6655 Reputation: 10
Default

Dual 5970's really would be fine on the HX1000, the card draws a measured max of 295w or about 25A, which is almost identical to that of the 4870 X2.
Reply With Quote


  #64  
Old 12-06-2009, 12:34 PM
gutcheck gutcheck is offline
Registered User
gutcheck's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 370
POST ID # = 429717
gutcheck Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FEAR6655 View Post
Dual 5970's really would be fine on the HX1000, the card draws a measured max of 295w or about 25A, which is almost identical to that of the 4870 X2.
But if you OC it you can pull almost 400 watts.

I'm going to OC the 5970 to stock 5870 speeds and leave it all alone on 12V rail 1. I ditched my 2 raptors as I need the space for another radiator, so my system is quite "modest" now. 1 5970 1 5870 a nice OC on the CPU, a SSD, a HD, 2 I/o's, 2 pumps, and 6GB of Memory. I do also have 7 fans and a fc, but by my calculations it should be OK. Where the 5870 lives on 12V rail 2 thre is still alot of room. That card only draws 180 at full load.
Reply With Quote


  #65  
Old 12-08-2009, 07:31 PM
FEAR6655 FEAR6655 is offline
Registered User
FEAR6655's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 249
POST ID # = 430049
FEAR6655 Reputation: 10
Default

Overclocking isn't going to push it near 400w.
Reply With Quote


  #66  
Old 12-08-2009, 10:08 PM
gutcheck gutcheck is offline
Registered User
gutcheck's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 370
POST ID # = 430091
gutcheck Reputation: 10
Default

Well if you overvolt it, yes it can my friend.
Reply With Quote


  #67  
Old 12-10-2009, 06:07 PM
gutcheck gutcheck is offline
Registered User
gutcheck's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 370
POST ID # = 430368
gutcheck Reputation: 10
Default

Can we get somone from Corsair to post an offical answer? I gotta tell you so far I've had no issues with my HX1000 and a 5970+5870 config.
Reply With Quote


  #68  
Old 12-17-2009, 09:37 AM
lee63 lee63 is offline
Registered User
lee63's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 38
POST ID # = 431325
lee63 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gutcheck View Post
Can we get somone from Corsair to post an offical answer? I gotta tell you so far I've had no issues with my HX1000 and a 5970+5870 config.
Did you get your 5970 to 5870 speeds....I'm thinking on doing the same config as you
Reply With Quote


  #69  
Old 01-08-2010, 01:13 PM
An7h0ny An7h0ny is offline
Registered User
An7h0ny's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 1
POST ID # = 434244
An7h0ny Reputation: 10
Default

Maybe I'll have to upgrade, but it seems fine for now....... lol but we'll see I guess, my Killowatt measured max 925w out of the wall with a vantage benchmark and most games it runs about 750-850.......

With just the i7 920 running LinX shows max 460w on the killowatt
With only Furmark it shows about 730-750 (4 gpus)

I'm running a core i7 920 @ 1.33v @ 4.0ghz and (2) 5970's with no overvolt (all 4 gpu's running at 810/1000)

Stable, and the PSU seems fine... Not that I'm recommending it, but I'm doing it now with no issues for ~2 weeks, extensive benchmarking, stability testing, gaming, etc and no problems yet. Although I still may upgrade...

One of my 5970's is bad though 2d artifacting at first now in 3d with dx10 and 11, RMA... I can do some more testing and try to push the system to its limit when I get the otherone back (furmark + linpack)
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.