The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 08-05-2009, 03:54 PM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,184
POST ID # = 410921
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

Correct, it could be the whole house. How old is your house?
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #32  
Old 08-05-2009, 08:16 PM
abdidas abdidas is offline
Registered User
abdidas's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 26
POST ID # = 410948
abdidas Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wired View Post
Correct, it could be the whole house. How old is your house?
I have no idea. But its not new I can tell.
Reply With Quote


  #33  
Old 08-06-2009, 05:11 AM
abdidas abdidas is offline
Registered User
abdidas's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 26
POST ID # = 410978
abdidas Reputation: 10
Default Please help.

I have been on here for days and the support is slow. Is ram guy the only technician here?????

Can you please advise on what to do to fix this issue.

I may have dirty power, I am not sure on that. How can I test for it and how do I fix it.

How are you so sure that its dirty power causing this issue. So if I return this?? Would it be definant that I get one with same noise.

What do I do?
Reply With Quote


  #34  
Old 08-06-2009, 05:51 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,184
POST ID # = 410979
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

How is the support slow? There hasn't been any new information from you since the last time Ram Guy posted here 36 hours ago, and he offered to RMA the PSU over a week ago.

He's already stated that any possible electrical issues within your house should be checked out by an electrician. You could always just take the PC to a different building to test that theory of course. Other suggestions were made on the 30th, but you haven't said anything about them as of yet.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #35  
Old 08-06-2009, 08:02 AM
Burner27 Burner27 is offline
Registered User
Burner27's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 60
POST ID # = 410983
Burner27 Reputation: 10
Default

I gotta side with Wired on this. RamGuy has been very supportive as he has offered many suggestions. I already RMA'd mine and the new one buzzes as well which indicates the PSU is fine. There are other factors causing my issue. Could be video card (bad feedback on power lines from PCIe card), could be dirty power (doubt it because house is 12 years old and has top of the line electrical panel), or could be another component in my system.


You need to do some troubleshooting on your own now. Do as Wired suggests. Take your PC to another place, plug it in there and see if you get the same issue.
Reply With Quote


  #36  
Old 08-06-2009, 09:04 AM
abdidas abdidas is offline
Registered User
abdidas's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 26
POST ID # = 410987
abdidas Reputation: 10
Default

I will try that. Thanks for reporting back because I have two corsair 650W and both are the same. So it would be no point of returning it.

What motherboard do you have?

I dont understand. Is dirty power the only factor causing this? what should I do other than trying in a different house.
Reply With Quote


  #37  
Old 08-06-2009, 10:25 AM
Wired's Avatar
Wired Wired is offline
Administrator
Wired's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 32,184
POST ID # = 410992
Wired Reputation: 32
Default

It has been stated multiple times that multiple things could cause the PSU to buzz. There is no easy answer.
__________________
No, I don't work for Corsair
...you need to flow like a river...
Forum Rules
Admin of this forum / webdesignforums.net / Petri's IT Forum / The Corsair Memory Steam Group
Founder/Creator/Admin of ZE SECRET PROJECT (Coming Soon)
Reply With Quote


  #38  
Old 08-06-2009, 11:11 AM
Burner27 Burner27 is offline
Registered User
Burner27's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 60
POST ID # = 410997
Burner27 Reputation: 10
Default

First try going to another place, plug it in there and see if it buzzes. If buzzing stops, then you know it is your house wiring and although it can be annoying, RAMGUY assures it will not harm your PSU.

If buzzing noise does not stop, then it is possible both places have dirty power BUT I would investigate other issues FIRST.

Such as:

Start with a barebone system (i.e. motherboard, ram, 1 HDD and video card) If buzzing is not present, add anything else you have in your PC ONE-BY-ONE until the buzzing reappears.
Reply With Quote


  #39  
Old 08-06-2009, 07:38 PM
RAM GUY's Avatar
RAM GUY RAM GUY is offline
Corsair Product Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 118,269
POST ID # = 411068
RAM GUY Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burner27 View Post
First try going to another place, plug it in there and see if it buzzes. If buzzing stops, then you know it is your house wiring and although it can be annoying, RAMGUY assures it will not harm your PSU.

If buzzing noise does not stop, then it is possible both places have dirty power BUT I would investigate other issues FIRST.

Such as:

Start with a barebone system (i.e. motherboard, ram, 1 HDD and video card) If buzzing is not present, add anything else you have in your PC ONE-BY-ONE until the buzzing reappears.

You are on the right track! Let me know the results..
__________________
Support accounts and tickets can be created at https://support.corsair.com.
Reply With Quote


  #40  
Old 08-08-2009, 09:38 AM
abdidas abdidas is offline
Registered User
abdidas's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 26
POST ID # = 411251
abdidas Reputation: 10
Default

I tested on my other computer. Different components apart from gpu. I used my other tx650W to do it and it was making noises. When I took out the gpu and used only onboard there was no noises.
The onboard and the graphics card use different drivers. What should i do know?

The issue seems to be around the graphics card and psu and quality of power to house. Please help on what to do next.

Last edited by abdidas; 08-08-2009 at 10:04 AM.
Reply With Quote


  #41  
Old 08-10-2009, 05:49 AM
abdidas abdidas is offline
Registered User
abdidas's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 26
POST ID # = 411351
abdidas Reputation: 10
Default

I have finally tested in another house and it makes the same noise.
Reply With Quote


  #42  
Old 08-10-2009, 08:01 AM
Burner27 Burner27 is offline
Registered User
Burner27's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 60
POST ID # = 411357
Burner27 Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abdidas View Post
I tested on my other computer. Different components apart from gpu. When I took out the gpu and used only onboard there was no noises.
The onboard and the graphics card use different drivers. What should i do now?
Seems like you isolated the issue. You tested it in another computer with different components EXCEPT for the GPU. You took out the GPU and the noise stopped.


Where do you think you should go next?
Reply With Quote


  #43  
Old 08-10-2009, 09:52 AM
abdidas abdidas is offline
Registered User
abdidas's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 26
POST ID # = 411361
abdidas Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burner27 View Post
Seems like you isolated the issue. You tested it in another computer with different components EXCEPT for the GPU. You took out the GPU and the noise stopped.


Where do you think you should go next?
Dont have a clue. I dont think 3 gpu in a row will be faulty. Something with this power supply and the pci-e express connectors
The noise is only when its on load ofcourse so i dont think onboard will push it one bit.
Reply With Quote


  #44  
Old 08-10-2009, 12:27 PM
Burner27 Burner27 is offline
Registered User
Burner27's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 60
POST ID # = 411383
Burner27 Reputation: 10
Default

I am not following you here. I do not see where you have tried 3 different GPUs. Onboard GPU--ok. But did you try 3 different add on video cards?
Reply With Quote


  #45  
Old 08-10-2009, 05:45 PM
abdidas abdidas is offline
Registered User
abdidas's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 26
POST ID # = 411421
abdidas Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burner27 View Post
I am not following you here. I do not see where you have tried 3 different GPUs. Onboard GPU--ok. But did you try 3 different add on video cards?
LOL, When I started this thread I had a hd4850. Then I got a hd4890 and the noises are the same. I do not belive its the graphics cards thats causing the noises but the way the power supply work with dedicated graphics.
I hope you get me now.
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.