Corsair Community

PC keeps shutting off randomly with RM750i

dashrendar

Hi all,

This is my first post here.

Over the weekend, I built a new system and it is my first time to use a Corsair RM750i PSU.

The build and the boot up went well. I was able to install Windows 10 and many programs and start using the PC.

I noticed that every day the PC would shut down randomly while doing light work. My light work consists of checking e-mail, financial software, browsing, listening to music, etc. I don't game.

The symptoms are: The display goes black (goes into standby mode). The CPU fan keeps running. The RGB lights on the motherboard are still on. The light around the power button is still on. However, I cannot turn on/off the PC from the power button (even if I hold it down for 10-20 seconds to shut it off completely). NIC light is still on. In this state, I can press the fan test button and it would run fine.

I am unable to get out of this state unless I turn off/on the PSU.

I did run Prime95 overnight stressing the CPU (for about 10 hours) and another night stressing the RAM (for about 9 hours) and there were no shutdowns. Last night, I left the system running idle with only with music playing. I came in the morning and it was fine. After starting to use it for 30-60 minutes, I got the random shutdown.

My system is not a killer rig at all. Here are the specs

CPU: Ryzen 5 2400G

Mobo: ASUS PRIME x470-PRO

RAM: 16 GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB DDR4 3200

PSU: Corsair RM750i

Fans: 1 Noctua CPU fan and 3 Noctua case fans.

Sound card: Audioengine D1 external USB DAC.

Storage Samsung EVO 970 1TB (m2 drive)

In normal operation, the 3 case fans are usually not running because the temperatures are not high enough. Load showing in Corsair link is about 40-50 watts. When running Prime95, the highest I've seen is 120-150 watts. I don't think the PSU fan is close to getting kicked off.