Corsair Community

H50 & Thermal Paste

rlross52

I'm new to liquid cooling & until I get a new case (an Antec P183) tomorrow my old case wouldn't fit the add'l clearance needed for the H50--the old case in the demo appears identical to my Velocity Micro case with the top PSU (HX850W) mounting blocking a vertical install.

Neither the installation video or Yellowbeard's helpful install guide show paste added (I have Artic Silver 5 & Ceramic). Is it fair to assume that none is needed (or already on the coppeer CPU plate)??? I plan on mild OC at best & wouldn't want to take the risk of leeching paste into the CPU if it's unnecessary.

Thanks for any advice.

The H50 comes with default TIM in situ. A bit too much if you ask me. Others might recommend removing this TIM and going with AS5, or some such, but if you ask me, TIM application is way overrated.

Being a hydraulic engineer, and realizing that the TIM will move out to the sides under constant applied pressure over time, requires tightening of the retaining screws, until metal meets metel (H50 copper surface with the CPU housing top).

Note that the CPU housing and the actual IC inside already have a TIM layer interface (at least for LGA1156 i7's).

Run your CPU at it's maximum thermal envelope as viscosity of the TIM decreases with increased temperature (i. e. it will ooze out faster).

Do not overtighten, snug is fine, just resnug over time until applied torque, screw pitch and diameter are such that you do not exceed Intel's recommendations for total applied downward force;

http://download.intel.com/design/processor/designex/322167.pdf

Unless the TIM is "soupy" to begin with, once pressure is gone, the excess TIM will stay on the perimeter of the heatsink/CPU cover interface.

everettsj

Thanks for the quick reply & advice. NOT being a hydraulic engineer--tax lawyer--so at least "in situ" isn't over my head, please correct the following if I misunderstood: