The Corsair User Forums  

Go Back   The Corsair User Forums > Corsair Product Discussion > Power Supplies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-12-2014, 05:41 AM
psychov psychov is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 718824
psychov Reputation: 10
Important AX860i Problem

I appear to have an issue with my power supply.

For no apparent reason the system power will turn off, then try to power up and turn off within a few seconds and on and off again in an indefinite loop.

The only way to get the power supply to turn back on (and I can consistently confirm it is the power supply) is to wiggle one of the plugs at the PSU (main motherboard connector) the on off loop then stops instantly - the plug is very snug, and I am not moving the wires, just the plug!

This issue is NOT generated by the motherboard not sensing a CPU fan as this is disabled in the bios. I am operating well within the limits of the PSU - 439W max output.

This issue can happen at any time, even when the system is at idle @ 160w.

Suggestions welcomed :)

Last edited by psychov; 07-12-2014 at 05:42 AM. Reason: Speeeeeling
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 07-12-2014, 12:38 PM
xclock xclock is offline
Registered User
xclock's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 128
POST ID # = 718854
xclock Reputation: 10
Default

if you mean 24pins connector ? then you just damage the motherboard connector traces while you force the plug to be in. you PSU is fine. take the mobo to your nearest pc shop to test.
__________________
Sorry for my bad english
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 07-12-2014, 03:13 PM
psychov psychov is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 718879
psychov Reputation: 10
Default

No its the PSU end, motherboard and everything else are fine, on the old PSU, no issues with the old PSU.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 07-12-2014, 11:36 PM
xclock xclock is offline
Registered User
xclock's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 128
POST ID # = 718946
xclock Reputation: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by psychov View Post
No its the PSU end, motherboard and everything else are fine, on the old PSU, no issues with the old PSU.
did you check if 24 pins by the PSU is properly in? is makes a click sound when is fully attached.
and remember its 2 separate plugs. so to make sure....
__________________
Sorry for my bad english

Last edited by xclock; 07-12-2014 at 11:38 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 07-13-2014, 08:36 AM
psychov psychov is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 719007
psychov Reputation: 10
Default

Yes thanks.

I have been building PC's for 22 years
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 07-13-2014, 08:49 AM
xclock xclock is offline
Registered User
xclock's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 128
POST ID # = 719009
xclock Reputation: 10
Default

you have to check all the basic even you are expert in building the pcs etc.
__________________
Sorry for my bad english
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 07-13-2014, 11:59 AM
psychov psychov is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 719028
psychov Reputation: 10
Default

No worries

Thanks for the suggestions :)
Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 07-13-2014, 01:44 PM
zorlan zorlan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2
POST ID # = 719048
zorlan Reputation: 10
Default

I bought the ax860 and I had a huge problem with getting the 12v pin to stay in. I had to use extreme force to finally get it to click. Everytime I would connect it and put the psu back in, it would slowly slip out...or wasn't properly connected. It drove me nuts. It was giving me the same problem that you have.
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 07-13-2014, 03:42 PM
psychov psychov is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 719057
psychov Reputation: 10
Default

Right, touched it, PC died.

Unplugged everything from the PSU, and replugged everything with a "click"

Lets see how I go.......

:)
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 07-14-2014, 02:17 AM
psychov psychov is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 719087
psychov Reputation: 10
Default

With everything clicked into place, its still happening and still appears to be the 24 volt MB power!
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 07-14-2014, 04:32 AM
xclock xclock is offline
Registered User
xclock's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 128
POST ID # = 719094
xclock Reputation: 10
Default

ya looks like its PSU. before you rma just take it to local pc shop to test or test it to your friend pc. did you try all the parts out of the case yet?
__________________
Sorry for my bad english
Reply With Quote


  #12  
Old 07-15-2014, 05:38 AM
xclock xclock is offline
Registered User
xclock's PC Specs
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 128
POST ID # = 719189
xclock Reputation: 10
Default

keep us update :D
__________________
Sorry for my bad english
Reply With Quote


  #13  
Old 07-20-2014, 09:17 AM
psychov psychov is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 15
POST ID # = 719921
psychov Reputation: 10
Default

Happening at least once a session now, every time I have to push the plug in despite it already neing clicked into place, looks like a definite RMA,
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.